Hitting the Wall

This happens to me occasionally.  I get so busy, going and blowing, here and there….you get the picture!  Then, my body just shuts down and I feel as though I have hit a brick wall.  So, here I am, at home alone while my family celebrates the 18th birthday of our wonderful friend, Jesse.  I was going to go.  I really tried to get it together, but I just couldn’t do it.  My voice is just about gone and I’m developing a nasty cough.  BLAH!!!!!!!!!


Part of my week of going and blowing was yesterday’s adventure.  Emily and I, along with my little godsons Allen and Adam, went to Nathanael’s baseball game last night.  We had to take my van, which we knew had a tire problem.  Sure enough, said tire blew out on I-45, just north of West Rd. during peak traffic!  [Let me insert here that if you ever break down, be sure you have Emily with you.  She is so much fun, and never once even got nervous about our circumstances!]  Thankfully both Bill and Nathanael were relatively close.  So first, Nathanael to the rescue.  Up behind us came our knight in shining armor, when we noticed the steam billowing from the hood of his “valiant white steed “!  So, here we are, my van with a blow out and Bub’s truck with a cracked radiator.  And Emily, my lovely daughter in law innocently stopping traffic (she is beautiful, isn’t she!) as she takes pictures of the event from the side of the freeway!  Now it’s up to Dad.  Ever resourceful Dad.  He came, he & Nathanael fixed my tire, but the radiator on the pickup is toast.  So they put enough water in it to get it to a parking lot (Bill always carries a gallon or two in his work truck).  Bill sent Nathanael, Emmie, me and the boys on to the game while he went home to get a radiator he happened to have “in stock” for Bub’s truck.


Those of you who don’t know my husband just haven’t met the most resourceful man on earth.  It took me a couple of years to realize that Bill’s idiosyncrosies are actually gifts from our Lord.  Bill is not just a normal packrat.  His favorite saying is “I might need this someday.”  The thing is, he is one of the few people who really will be able to use this “junk”!  Bill had kept a radiator from another truck because it was just like the one in Nathanael’s truck (and he might need it someday), so he went home, got it, came back to the Best Buy parking lot where the truck was, and FIXED IT!  Right there…. I think in less than an hour!  Some people look at my husband and see a blue collar working man, no college education, no great money making job, in his own words, “just an ol’ guy”.  But I tell you for sure – Nathanael didn’t want to see ANYONE more than he wanted to see his Dad last night!



Bill and his Dad working in the barn


As exciting as all this was (by the way, Nathanael’s team won 3 – 1), my night was not over yet.  I was driving my van with the boys in the backseats, almost home when a Texas Highway Patrol car flashed his lights on behind me and pulled me over.  A very nice but pretty stern KID (honestly, how old do you have to be to become a Highway Patrol Officer?) came to my window to let me know that my license plate lightbulb was out.  Of course, then he noticed that BOTH my stickers were expired (is it August already?) and I had no insurance card with me!  I don’t know if I looked pitiful or what, but he only gave me a warning, for which I am eternally grateful.  Bill caught up with me at this point and we “convoyed” the rest of the way home without further mishap. 


It was about 1:30 or so before I crawled into bed, knowing that I had to get up at 7 this morning to take my folks to the Farmer’s Market in Hempstead.  I made it, and it was a GREAT day, but I am paying the price tonight.  So, off to bed I go.  Y’all have a blessed evening!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hitting the Wall

  1. Wow, was that ever fun. 🙂 Props to Dad for his awesome fixin’ skills!!
    Sleep well. 🙂 I’m gonna go do the same thing.

  2. Uh.. Emily is bossing me around adn telling me to comment here. So that is what I’m doing.Seriously though, it sounds like you had a fun night. Take care of yourselves and my man NateDogg

  3. Anonymous says:

    I realized this morning that I posted this to my own page.  That is my biggest problem with this space.  When I read a comment someone made to my site, I tend to reply to that comment right there, instead of going to that person’s site.  Understand?  I told you that I babble. ha  Below is the relocated comment. ha
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bless your heart!  You had one heck of a day yesterday.  Days like that are necessary, I suppose, but I’m just not sure why. ha  Woman!  How can you go out without insurance proof?  I keep one in my purse, one in the console and one in the glove box. ha  And Scooter has one in his wallet! 
    All I could think at first is that my babies were in that van when you had a blow out on I-45!  Praise God for watching over all of you! 
    I am mega tired tonight so I am going to bed, and God willing, sleep without muscle spasms.  Oh, I do so hope so!

Leave a Reply

