Today has been a mixture of good and hard.  Emmie came and has been a source of fun, and of great help in the nurse-maid department.  Dannye, of course, is irreplaceable.  She was up with Pamela during the night when she needed pain meds or a refill in the cryo-cuff.  Pamela is so grateful for her big sister. 



Pamela is somewhat better today.  She is much more alert, although she has tried to sleep as much as possible.  We had to remove the bandage, which caused her to become nauseated and faint because the pain was immense.  The nerve block will probably run out by tomorrow morning, which causes concern since we don’t see the Dr. until Monday.  She is trying to use as little pain medication as she can stand, though, so hopefully she will manage okay.


The cryo-cuff is an amazing thing.  I’ve never seen one before, but it uses vacuum to fill and drain an ice pack.  Pamela doesn’t like it when it is cold, but I think it helps the pain some.


I just hate these days of recuperation.  When you are the one recuperating, it is hard.  When it is your child, whether she is 2 or 20, it is much harder!  I can’t stand to see Pamela in this kind of pain.


Tomorrow is Sunday, and I will stay home with Pam.  Dan is going to church with Bub and Emmie, which will be so much fun for them.  I will miss it, but will enjoy being at home with Pamela.  She and I used to stay home together alot when I had mononucleosis and she was having sinus surgeries once or twice a year!  We sat in the recliner, her on my lap, and watched Hallmark movies.  She was and is my baby, even if she is 20 years old!


Please continue praying – and have a blessed evening.

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    Mrs. Petty, I’m praying for Pam and the rest of your family as she recovers. Those cryo-cuffs are the neatest things – that and the nerve block were my best friends!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh, God bless your baby!  I hate to hear she is hurting so much!  I know you want to take all that pain on yourself for her.  The cryro machines are wonderful inventions.  They sent one home with me after I had the five different procedures all done on my foot at once.  Dr. Neville said I would not be able to stand the pain otherwise.  It controlled the swelling so much and really made the difference.  I only had it for two days but what a difference it made.  They put one on Matt’s chest years ago after his motorcycle wreck.  His chest and lungs were so severely bruised he could barely breathe.  It was a wonderful help.  His was like a large square pallet.  At first the cold nearly killed him but it soon numbed everything enough that it was a good thing!  Kiss Pammy for me and give her my love.  She is such a precious girl!
    Aunt B is hurting for her!

Leave a Reply

