What A Day!

I know it’s been awhile since I updated everyone on Pam’s recovery status, and all else in the Petty world we live in, be it’s been rather hectic!  Pamela has to go to therapy 3 days a week, plus doctor appointments, plus Family Day, plus…….


First, Pamela is doing very well, shoulder-wise.  She is doing her home therapy like a good girl, and her range of motion increases daily.  She is still has a good bit of pain and is not allowed to use her left arm to gain that motion, but has to use her right arm to push or pull her left.  She is no longer having to sleep in the recliner, but sleeps in Nathanael’s old bed (her’s is upper bunk and she can’t climb up).  So, as I said, shoulder-wise she is doing better, but she now has a pretty bad cold, as do Nathanael and Emily.  Poor Emily is very sick.


My day today began  at the hospital sitting with a pastor-friend’s wife while he was having a heart-cath.  Their family is all out of state, so Jeanne and I went to sit with Sharon.  Pastor Baird is always there for our family’s hospital stays, and we wanted to be sure to be there for him.  He really didn’t want any company, but Sharon indulged our need to help, and let us be with her.  BTW, Pastor Baird got a good report – no blockages!


I picked up Katie, Pamela’s best friend, to bring her home with me and Gen, then had to take Gen home and go pick up some things for my folks at Wal-Mart.  Well, as I was shopping, I heard the loud speaker say “If there is a Nina Petty shopping in the store, please pick up line 2.”  I’m never embarrassed by that, but always wonder who’s tracking me down like a duck!  Bill was calling to tell me that Nathanael had had a wreck and Emily wanted me to come.  Bub was alright physically, but experienced post trauma meltdown.  His truck was totaled, and I’m sure all manner of discouraging questions were assailing his mind!  By the time I got there, he had re-grouped and was trying to make a plan.  I must put in a good word for my precious daughter in law – she is a MOST ENCOURAGING WIFE!  I am so thankful he has a wife who “does her husband good and not evil all the days of her life!”  Well, anyway, Bub and his Dad put their heads together and dealt with the matter, so I think everyone’s outlook on life is much better this evening.  God is faithful, even when things seem somewhat hopeless!


Although the  truck doesn’t look “totaled”, the damage extends up into the cab and doorpost.


As you can see, he was feeling somewhat better – he’s in model mode!


Please pray for Emmie.  She is really pretty sick.  Not in the “call the family in” way, but in the “feel so very lousy and nothing seems to help” way.  Thankfully, Nathanael doesn’t have to work tomorrow and they can at least get a little rest.  He is also sick, but seems to be gaining strength.


I am continually amazed at all I have to be thankful for.  I am thankful tonight that my son was not hurt in this accident; I am thankful that my husband is always there to help his children, and has expertise in these areas of automobiles so they never need fear getting rooked by others; I am thankful that my daughter in law lifts her husband up and never puts him down; I am thankful for friends and family who lift us up in prayer continually!  God is good all the time.  All the time, God is good!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What A Day!

  1. Isn’t He good? I’m just so blessed tonight—a funny thing to say after an evening such as we’ve had. 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement and support. It was so much easier with you here!!
    much love!

  2. Kunkel_Daze says:

    What that boy can’t tear up ain’t wrote down in no book! Praise God he wasn’t hurt! I wish there was something I could do to help.
     Dave

  3. Anonymous says:

    I must admit I had that same thought, Dave.  ha  Nina, your positive, generous attitude on life is one of the greatest blessings our family can receive.  I love you so much.

  4. DubyaDC says:

    “As you can see, he was feeling somewhat better – he’s in model mode!”  — That’s just hysterical!
    Thanks for the reminder about Abraham!

  5. AuntGen says:

    Your family is such an example of selfless, sacrificial love and of longsuffering.  In all the accounts of the wreck and the aftermath, there was nothing mentioned about Bill asking Nathanael, “How in the world did you do that?!  Or ,”I can’t believe…”  I haven’t heard of Bill being tired of working on vehicles and I haven’t heard you complain about being out til all hours comforting your daughter-in-law or whatever your role was last night.  I know that the love flows both ways and that your children would do anything for you as well,  and you all amaze me.   

  6. Abbiegirl says:

    Hi, Mr. amd Mrs.Petty, and Pamela.
    How are Ya’ll? I miss you a lot! I am praying for Pam’s recovery, i hope she feels beter soon.
    I hope you are all well and helthy, Love Ya’ll.
    ~AbbieGirl~

Leave a Reply

