ASTROS WIN!


I know what most of you are thinking….So what?  The Astros only have a 4.5% chance of winning the Wild Card (heard that statistic today), so who cares that they won.  Well, I am a die-hard fan, and whether they get to the playoffs or not, they are still my team.


But tonight was special.  My family was there.  Well, all but me.  I got sick last night and just couldn’t make it to the game tonight.  But my family, including Bub and Emily, got to see Oswalt pitch, Jason Lane hit a grand slam, and, on a very sad note , the end of Willie T’s hitting streak.  I listened to the radio, while I was watching National Treasure, (shades of Bill Allen!) and thought how much Nathanael must have enjoyed that game.


I was telling Emily that when Nathanael was younger, and the Astros played in the Astrodome, on days we got to go to the games, we would spend most of the day there.  Nathanael and whatever friend was with us would insist that we get to the Dome by 1:00 (game time was 7:05).  We would go to the players entrance and I’d park close so I could sit in the van and watch while they accosted players for their autographs.  The players were so patient, sign balls, programs, some of Nathanael’s drawings of them.  I have a wonderful pencil drawing of Jeff Bagwell that he autographed for Nathanael.  Bagwell was impressed.   We also have a very cute picture of Randy Johnson signing a baseball card for Pamela.  She barely came up to his waist!  Of course, none of these pictures are on this computer, so you’ll just have to use your imagination!


The family is on their way home, and I really need to lay down.  Hope your team is doing well (until they play the ‘Stros), and have a blessed evening! 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ASTROS WIN!

  1. ligsar says:

    Your Astros can’t catch my Twinkies!!!!   Yes, we’re excited about that!
    Nate, Em, EJ and I went to a Twins game together last year and I remember Nate telling me about what you just wrote- going to the games early for all that.  My memory of going to games when I was younger was getting a chocolate malt cup every time and hearing the announcer say, “Kirbyyy PUCKett!” when he came up to bat. 
    Oh, and my word, Randy Johnson is a giant!  Ha!

  2. šŸ™‚ I’m really learning to love baseball! It’s a lot of fun. We missed you tonight though—and maybe Dad would have stayed on our deck if you’d been there. *wink* Hope you’re starting to feel better! I, for one, am going to go join your son in bed and go to sleep. šŸ™‚
    Love you!

  3. auntkarl says:

    Nina I’m glad your feeling better. And as long as its a bass I’ll take him off the hook if i can find my fishing gloves i’ll take anything else off but my gloves have disappeared.. I don’t want to get finned. That hurts! ouch!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Go, ‘stros!!!!  Scooter and I watched on TV until 8 pm.  Then I have to watch “Rock Star, Supernova”!  He watched part with me, then went outside to his TV.  Came in to tell me about the grand slam.  He doesn’t miss many of their games and I watch a bunch, but the ones I don’t see, he keeps me informed about.  He stuck his head inside to tell me he went outside just in time to see Bigg hit a home run.  Biggio is my boy!   Since you feel like you do, then you can understand how we feel about the Cowboys.  They are not America’s team, they are MY team.  ha  And all the Straders’ team.  One of the first things we teach the babies is what a star means.  I remember Adam saying, “Cowboys!” whenever he would see a picture of a star on TV or anywhere else. ha

  5. DubyaDC says:

    HEY!  Wasn’t our chances of getting to the Wildcard spot worse last year?  I don’t know.  Maybe it was better last year…but hey!  This is the Astros!  We still have a chance.

Leave a Reply

