The Lord our God, He is Good!

First, let me say thank you for all your prayers.  While going through the afternoon of the wreck alone, I knew I was never actually alone!  It was scary for me, because I always want Bill when I’m hurting, but the Lord sent some really kind, wonderful people to help me when the accident happened.  I don’t know any of their names (I think they told me, but everything about the accident is a little fuzzy!) but the Lord knows them, and I know He will bless them in a mighty way for their kindness.  Two men who were not involved in the accident or the emergency teams stopped and helped – true Good Samaritans.  Tears want to come again when I remember how gentle and sweet they were to me.

The accident – it happened so fast!  I had just passed through Orange, TX, and there is much construction on I-10 in that area.  I was surprised to see that the speed limit was 70 mph, but traffic was moving along pretty well.  I really didn’t see what happened except that the 4WD Red Dodge pickup in front of me veered (apparently a dump truck entered the freeway from the middle construction area and traffic had to slow QUICKLY.  I slammed on the brakes as I saw Red Dodge lose control of his vehicle, but next thing I knew he was airborne and landing on my car!  I still see the underside of his pickup coming at me, seemed like slow motion!

Texas Flag Sept 06 2006 067_640x480

Texas Flag Sept 06 2006 070_640x480

I want you all to know that whether I had lived or died, whether I were seriously injured or not, God is still good.  I know that is a hard concept to accept, but it is the truth, because God cannot be anything but GOOD.  In this case, our good God directed that flying truck to land catty-corner so that it missed the driver’s side (me!).  The wrecker driver told Bill that the weight of the truck was balanced on the passenger side windshield post.  When the driver of the truck got out, he stepped on the windshield right over my face, and had to walk across the roof of my car to get out.  Red Dodge was able to drive away from the accident after they got him off my car.  There were 4 cars involved in all, but thankfully I was the only injury.  My car (which is actually my Dad in law’s car) is smashed in the front, worse behind the plastic bumper than the pic shows, the passenger side windshield is broken, both airbags deployed, my knees hit the dash, and the seat belt did its job and grabbed me.  My neck and shoulders hurt so bad, the seat belt really did a number on my chest, and my right knee was bruised pretty good.  I was so grateful that the airbags didn’t hit my face.  I’ve heard that they can really do a lot of damage.  My glasses flew off, but my good Samaritans found them for me.

I didn’t know if I should go in the ambulance or not, I knew I didn’t have any life threatening injuries, but I was also hurting so badly, and crying from the shock of everything, I didn’t know what else to do.  I got to ride in the ambulance with a very nice middle aged EMT and a trainee (I think he was 12!)  They had me strapped to a body board with a C-collar around my neck.  The older fella was the kind of guy that felt the need to use all the ambulance equipment whether it was called for or not, so he cut my blouse and underclothes (don’t ask me why!), and tried to put in an IV, but couldn’t find my vein.  So he gave that up and just kept checking my vitals.  They were both really nice, but I wasn’t real confident in their care!

They took me to St. Elizabeth hospital in Beaumont.  It was apparently a large facility , but from the conversations on the speakers, it seemed more like a small town hospital.  I got there around 3pm, didn’t see a Dr. until 5pm, didn’t go to Xray until 8pm, then saw the next shift Dr. around 9:30pm who told me that there was basically nothing bad wrong, pulled the C-collar from my neck, and told me I could go home.  We left sometime between 9:30 and 10pm.  Thankfully, Bill had gotten there around 5 (I think) and Bub, Emmie, and Dannye came around 8.  My emotions were crazy, so every time I saw or heard the voice of another loved one, I began to cry again.  I just kept thinking how blessed I am that so many people would be concerned and worried about me.  It is amazing to know that you are so loved!

Well, this is day two after the accident, and I can turn my head both ways without too much pain.  My biceps are killing me, I guess from gripping the steering wheel so tightly during the crash, and my chest really hurts when I do anything – even breathe deeply!  But the area of concern for me is my right shoulder.  The Dr. told me that the muscles from my neck to shoulder to back were badly strained, and I’m sure that is the problem, but it hurts a lot, so I’m going to make an appointment to see my doctor to make sure there is nothing more to be done for it.  Again, I thank you all for your prayers.  Your love and concern for me and my family is better medicine than any doctor or hospital could ever offer.  (Although Darvocet has become my friend!!!)

God bless you all, and I praise Him for his love and care for “such a worm as I”.

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Lord our God, He is Good!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Listen, Worm, you are my worm and I love you!  I praise God for protecting you and shielding you from that big red truck!  God knew you had many responsibilities here on earth that are important for Him.  It won’t be too far in the future, I’ll bet, before you have grandchildren who will count on you to help bring them up in the way they should go.  Your jobs here are just too important for God to take you home yet, as much as I know he would delight in having your sweet face with him in Heaven.  Nina, I meant every word I wrote about you yesterday.  You are indeed a wonderful person and I am so proud to have you as a sister, and so grateful to have you as such an important part of Allen’s and Adam’s lives.  Go see your doctor and get a total look-over; make sure they didn’t miss anything in Beaumont.  Take care.  I love you!

  2. we’re so grateful that the Lord protected you!

  3. ligsar says:

    You’re a blessing. 
    Trusting God for His healing in your body.

  4. Abbiegirl says:

    Yay I’m so glad your good.
    My family and I have been praying for you.
    I love you and miss you…
    ~Get Well Soon~
    Abigail

  5. AuntGen says:

    I, too am so thankful for all those who rendered aid to my precious sister.  Even the over-zealous, scissor weilding, needle jabbing, vital taking older fella in the am-bu-lance.  God is good all the time.  All the time, God is good. 

  6. Anonymous says:

    What’s w/the cutting of the blouse & undergarments??  Geeeeez, I watch E R & they do that AFTER they get you to the hospital – and we all KNOW that show’s “accurate”, ha.  I think this guy was a frustrated doctor or seamstress??!!  All kidding aside, I love you, little sister……and I’m so thankful you’re okay…….take care & take your meds…….nothing wrong w/that!!

  7. Anonymous says:

    I am so glad my sis is back commenting.  I missed your comments, Motts.  You make me chuckle!  I have to admit thinking the same thing about the EMT being a frustrated doctor.  ha  Verlyn’s son, Chuck, almost thinks he is a doctor.  I’m pretty sure V thinks he is, too. ha  I have not had Darvoset in years but I can certainly proclaim the wonders of Vicodin. 

  8. pettybunch says:

    I’m allergic to vicodin, so Darvoset was 2nd choice.  I’m glad to hear from Motts again, too.  She sent me a sweet card, and I was so blessed.  I find myself feeling so unworthy of all this love!!!  But so, so blessed!

  9. momstranz says:

    You should ask Emily about her affinity for Vicodin.  Make her promise to do the “V” sign when she tells you the stories.    We are grateful for your good recovery.  I’m sure you’ll be sore for a while.  Hopefully you’ll have the strength to stretch out the sore muscles a little each day.  We don’t want you getting MORE sore vs. LESS!  You’ve got a few parties coming up!  Peaceful and speedy recovery to you!

Leave a Reply

