Dannye Reigh

 Sometimes I wonder if people think I only have 2 children, Nathanael and Pamela. These two are both outgoing “people” people; they aren’t afraid to go and do, to be seen – as a matter of fact, they enjoy it!

 But I do have a third child, who is actually our second born – Dannye Reigh. Dan doesn’t like for me to brag on her because she’s afraid people will think I’m trying to make a sale. Let me set the record straight…Not only am I not trying to make a sale, but if I were, you couldn’t afford her! Her worth is truly “far above rubies!”

cropped Dannye 2Dan is my quiet one. Those of you who know her on the volleyball court may wonder at that description of her, but it is true, by and large. Dannye prefers to be in the background. She says that is her place. I see Dannye as the greatest supporting actress on the stage of life. She is truly “the wind beneath my wings”.

When Dannye was a little girl, she was exceedingly shy around people she didn’t know especially well. She didn’t want them to even notice she was there. No compliments, don’t try to bring her into the conversation, just pretend she was invisible. I was so concerned about this. Here was Nathanael, a friend to all, good at everything he tried, not afraid of ANYTHING! And Pamela was baby of the family, pampered, petted, and has had a longstanding argument with her Gen as to which one of them is the cutest! Where did that leave Dan? I just knew that I would ruin her life if I left her alone in her shyness. So, I signed her up with 4-H, and the struggles began!

tx reception 030

Dannye is incredibly good at many things: she cooks, sculpts, rides horses, plays violin, sings, and is an unbelievably good photographer. It took years of pushing her into the public eye for her to believe she could really do any of these things well. I didn’t want her to be proud, or haughty. I just wanted her to have confidence in the gifts God gave her. So she had to participate in yearly competitions in 4-H, music recitals, singing at church or anywhere else I could get her in front of an audience, and exhibiting her work. Again, I wasn’t trying to give her pride. I just knew she would never feel worthy of using her gifts if she were left to herself. Being self-conscious is another type of pride – it is still a form of SELF. Dannye won many blue ribbons and monetary awards for her efforts, and she learned to talk to people without falling apart afterward!  She will still never brag on herself, nor particularly enjoy other’s complements, but she isn’t so afraid to try new things or be with new people.  She will even acknowledge that she does some things well.

Dannye's hair 003 cropped resized God has really done a mighty work in our Dannye Reigh. While she is still best in the supporting role, she has become a beautiful, confident, godly young woman. More than anyone I know, she exhibits true contentment in where God has her. She is not satisfied with the status quo, but is content to let the Lord direct her life. I am amazed daily at the remarkable woman that Dannye has become. Her incredible qualities are somewhat hidden behind the quiet demeanor she carries, but those who really try find she is well worth the effort.  If you don’t really know my daughter, you are missing out on one of God’s greatest creations!

Carries Volley-Ball 158 Dan and best friend, Melody, after volleyball at Carrie’s.

April 7 2006 036 Dannye and Audrey, a kindred spirit!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dannye Reigh

  1. I LOVE DANNYE! She is probably my best friend down here, aside from her brother. 🙂
    Props to super-woman! (And I’m bummed that we won’t get to play volleyball with her tomorrow.)

  2. auntkarl says:

    I love Dan tooo!!! I stand corrected She is the best thing since sliced bread…….. Nina give yourself a pat  on the back with raising this one. she might have turned out to be a little tart if you know what I mean. But with all the love and godly upbring you have given her and showed her you really did good with but you did good with all your kids. I just hope I do as well kenny has good morals and I hope Missy will be as caring as Dan when she grows up I just they both could do lot heck of a lot worse…
    Love to Dannye

  3. chix0rgirl says:

    She is such a cutie!! I’m glad you pushed her out of her shell. 🙂 I only ever got to meet Nate the time I was able to re-visit NBBC in 2001, but she looks soo cute in pictures… She has a great smile. …I also like how the blue tongue matches the eyeshadow!!Her middle name is awesome.

  4. pettybunch says:

    Dannye is named after my brother just older than me.  He drowned when he was 15, I was 13; I knew Bill Petty was the one for me when I told him that my first daughter would be named Dannye Reigh, and he thought it was such a cool name for a girl!  Dan has always loved her name, too.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Dan is an angel!  And she knows how I feel about her photography!  She is the most wonderful studyer (is that a word?) of people!  She is so good at being invisible (guess that part clung to her personality) that people relax around her and forget she has a camera in her hand.  I have always praised you, Nina, about your three wonderful children.  You, in turn, gave all the praise to God, as is your nature!  You and Bill have been blessed!

  6. MrStranz says:

    Sorry to be impertinent, but as much as I love Pam and Nate, I’ve always thought Dannye was your crown jewel… The water there is deep and clear…            Nate will probably overtake her now that he is character school 24/7.  With a wife like Em, his training will be so very challenging   I’m confident God has raised up this Petty bunch to bring the light of His glory to a grey and lifeless world.  Here’s a toast to the parents who just do the best they can…
    and to the God who makes that good enough…
    Missing our southern family,
    The Minnesota connection

  7. Anonymous says:

    I don’t know Dan as well as the rest of the family does so I always assumed her quietness was because WE were doing all the talking & “doing”.  She’s a beautiful young woman — inside & out!!  I only hope Kim can give Joseph the same results because he too would like to be invisible.  He can be the sweetest young man so maybe he’ll come out of his shell as he gets older.  I love your girls and you & Bill have done such a remarkable job w/all 3 of your babies………..

  8. pettybunch says:

    Barry, I knew you would comment.  You are one of the rare ones who saw through the surface a deeper jewel, and took the time to mine it.  You saw who Dannye was the first time you met her, and I always admired you for that.

  9. cnsavanna says:

    It was so good to see you at church Mrs. Petty, even if only for a little while. I saw the pictures of your car and am just amazed. It’s almost that you can see where God put His hand in that car to protect you. I hope you get better REAL fast and you won’t be sore. I’m praying for y’alls family, and that includes Mr. Nate and Mrs. Emily! May God CONTINUE to bless.

  10. I still love Dan.
    and I miss her muchos bunchos.

  11. Kunkel_Daze says:

    Dannye’s my friend! We relate to each other sooooo much! I pray daily that Melissa continues to pattern herself after her cousin/big sister.
     Daze

  12. Anonymous says:

    Your daughter is beautiful.

  13. is muchos bunchos a word?

  14. MrStranz says:

    Hey P Bunch,
    Consider yourselves all hugged by us northerners… The kids said that Bill sounded pretty discouraged with the turmoil of late… Seems as though the Monster is roaring… I have no good advice.  Just want you to know that we are here, and you are not alone…
    Barry
    Maybe we could just sit down together and have a good cry…

    Then, get up and eat PIZZA!

Leave a Reply

