Just a Note

Just a quick post to update on life.  I went to the Dr. today.  He says the X-rays look fine, so my therapy will focus on muscles, tendons, ligaments injured in the accident.  I can’t drive for a little while, which cancels a trip to Dallas to see my Sis in law, and my Dad won’t get to celebrate his latest great granddaughter’s first birthday.  He’s not a happy camper, & threatened to drive himself.  (Gen and I now know that this is truly just a threat because he wants to still be in control of his life, but knows he can’t be)  Anyway, I do feel horrible, but just driving over to Dad’s house cause much stiffening of my neck and shoulders, and it’s just a 15 minute drive!

50th Wedding Anniversary 307_640x480 My sweet Daddy is legally blind, and just doesn’t know how to be anything but in control of his own life!  When I get aggravated with him, I just put myself in his place, and somehow I am humbled and ashamed of my attitude!

Pamela has really had the rug pulled out from under her.  I won’t go into all the details, but because of her surgery, she was URGED to drop out of the nursing program.  She had to change majors, so she is now a Bible major with a Youth Ministries/Education emphasis.  Marble Falls 008_640x480

She is really being brave, and is trusting that the Lord has a reason for all this.  My heart is broken, and I wish I could make it all better.  Then I think, “Do I really believe I am a better parent than her Heavenly Father?!”  So I weep with the pain of seeing my child hurting, then cling tightly to our Father’s hand.

Bill has really been under alot of pressure lately.  After burying a beloved dog and horse Labor Day Weekend, his wife being injured in a car accident, and having all the junk that goes along with insurance adjustors, he is exhausted.  Please pray for him.  He has many decisions to make, and really desires wisdom from the Lord during this time.

I have been home more lately than I have been in a long time.  I feel Emily’s pain somewhat in that I am a “go-er” and am forced to stay.  So, when I can work with my hands again, I am going to do my spring cleaning in the fall!  The White Elephant Sale (a community garage sale) is Saturday, and I am going to clean out EVERYTHING!  (This is a big dream—–let me believe it for at least a little while!)

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just a Note

  1. MegletTX says:

    y’all need a vacation It also sounds like as soon as you can drive, you and Mr Petty need to go out on a date My dad has been under stress of making dicisions and wanting what God has for us aswell! It’s very hard to see him under such pressure to do the right thing! So you pray for us and I’ll pray for you–sounds like a plan. Btw, thanks for the update, I was curious as to how your therapy was going.

  2. cnsavanna says:

    oops, that above comment was MINE–woops

  3. that is a PERFECT picture of Pam. Poor thing. We should all just hop in the car and drive over there, kidnap her and take her to a NICE nursing program. I’m all about it. 🙂
    Of course, we’d have to somehow transport ALL of her MILLION supercloseforeverfriends in the same vehicle, so perhaps my plan is not completely perfect….
    “How is this a bad plan?”

  4. Anonymous says:

    Oh, Nina, I am so very sad for Pammie!  God bless her heart!  Not fair, not fair!  I know after I have time to assimilate all this I will get a better attitude and understand its beyond my control.  But my first thought was, “well, fight it!!!”  My hardest problem with acceptance is when it affects the babies and Pam is one of my babies! 
    I will pray that God has something even better in store for her!!!!!!!!!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Oh, Nina, I am so deeply sad for Pammie!  Nursing has been her goal for so long.  I am sure after I have time to assimilate this information I will accept it better but right now I want to holler, Fight It!!!  Make them let her be a nurse!!!  My biggest problem with accepance is when it affects the babies, and Pam is one of my babies!  No fair!!!!  I will pray that God has something very wonderful in store for her!!!!!!!
    Also, the idea about the date sounds great.  You and Bill need to GET AWAY FROM FAMILY!!!  Have a romantic night at McDonalds!  Hey, you can buy take-out and drive to a wonderful place by a lake!  You just need some time to dwell on each other!  I know how much you love all your family, as I do as well.   But you guys are together toooo much!  Take a break!  We’ve got so much family stuff coming up soon.  You will be so tired.  Please do your therapy and rest, rest!
    I love you, Sweet Sis, so much and want you to look to yourself.  I am very sorry about Dad but just don’t understand why someone else can’t take him.  Can’t Jeanne?  Or Michael, or someone? 

  6. Anonymous says:

    Well, Betty said it all (TWICE – ha).  Poor Pammie!  Is urging the same as demanding???  I know there’s more to the story, but seems like laying out a semester is better than changing horses – she IS a nurse w/o a degree!!  So caring & understanding.  And I will miss getting to see you & my Daddy this w/e!!  I’m spending the night w/G Sataurday night & was soooo excited about spending time w/you all.  I’m like Bettye, isn’t there anyone else to drive Daddy???  Tell Jeanne I can “talk her thru Dallas” if she can get there…..

  7. Anonymous says:

    Sweet picture of Pam, btw!!

  8. pettybunch says:

    Talked to Pamela tonight, and she has really gotten a peace about this today.  She knows she will have ups and downs, but knows the Lord holds her life in His hands.
    The decision was one of those “between a rock and a hard place” decisions.  She would have had to sign a statement that said basically that she would sacrifice her arm for her duties if necessary, and we just couldn’t do it.  It wasn’t out of meanness she was asked to do it, but out of concern for prospective patients.  The problem lies in previous communications that said she would have helpers this semester, so now is the time to do the surgery.  Anyway, that is the story, and I hate it, but I am determined to let God be God, and I’m going to trust him.
    Motts and B, Jeanne can’t go this weekend, and Michael works Saturdays.  I really tried to find an answer, just couldn’t come up with anything.  Life can sure be hard sometimes!

  9. Anonymous says:

    So sad for all, but that’s life, right……..love you!  And take Daddy’s car keys & hide them til after Sunday.

Leave a Reply

