The Refiner’s Fire

Life goes on…..

Sept

Our days are always spent in the refiner’s fire, if we truly belong to the refiner.  At times, the fire is hot, purging out impurities, skimming the dross.  Then are the times of cooling, when we think we are receiving God’s blessings.  Let me tell you what I am learning…  It is ALL God’s blessings, the heat and the cooling.  It is a blessing to be conformed into the image of His beloved Son, Jesus Christ – MY BELOVED SAVIOUR!  I have to admit, I don’t like what I’m going through right now.  It is hard in my human-ness.  But He is always with me, will never leave me nor forsake me, and is the lifter of my head.

I do receive those times of cooling, and last night was one of them.  Emily was over yesterday, and because of issues at my house that I won’t go into, I asked if we could intrude on her evening and come home with her.  Bill wasn’t up to it, so Dan and I went over to Emmie’s.  Bub was at work, so it was girls’ night in.  We had salsa and chips, baked chicken, rice, salad, and CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES (thanks, Pam!).  Then we watched the season one opener of “Alias”, which was FAR too intense for me.  I’m the “You’ve Got Mail”, “Sound of Music”, “State Fair” type.  The most intense thing I enjoy is “Sahara”.  So, needless to say, it was WAY too much for me.  But I did enjoy Emmie.  She was so hyper, and it was hilarious!  I don’t see her that way much, and it was REALLY fun.  She was hopping about, cooking, giggling, making random comments about this really intense show.  This is my multi-faceted daughter in law, and I’m so thankful God brought her to us.  And, BTW, I was there for the exploding ball episode.  We laughed until we hurt!

Back at home, where things are not perfect in human terms, the Lord God is ever present and at work.  Our family draws closer, and hopefully we are letting ourselves be drawn to the Lord.  He is faithful, even when the mess we are in is self inflicted.  He knows we are but dust, and loves us anyway.  But not just a pitiful love, but a love that works miracles in our lives.  Thank you, Father!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Refiner’s Fire

  1. Our God is amazing, isn’t He?     🙂
    Yay for exploding balls and intense TV series. I’m afraid that I’m hooked.    ‘Course, so is your daughter….     LOL
    love you!

  2. ligsar says:

    Oh man, you make me miss doing stuff like that with “Emmie”. 

  3. Anonymous says:

    Bless you and your fun family.  You all really know how to enjoy the little things, like chocolate chip cookies and spending time together. 
    Adam ate six big bites of spaghetti tonight and most of a slice of butter bread and a glass of milk.  Marty had made him a huge bowl of spaghetti.  I gave most of it to Allen and suggested to Marty that he only put a very small amount of food on Adam’s plate.  He is much encouraged when he doesn’t see so much food in front of him.  He even admitted finally that the spaghetti tasted good (Marty made it and it was yummy!).  I think eating is just too much trouble for him and its easier to say he doesn’t like something.  Then he probably begs a couple of cookies later or something.  But I told Marty this is my goal.  Marty doesn’t know it yet but we are also going to start eating at the table when the kids are here. ha 
    I am so happy I get to go to church Sunday.  I should have a bunch with me, Marty, Al, Adam and Haleigh.  I told Mark he can bring Derek to meet us at the bus shuttle.  I should not have to go pick him up every time he goes.  I will if necessary but he said he would bring him to the shuttle so that’s good.  I’m looking forward to it.

  4. pettybunch says:

    I’m so glad you get to go back to church, too.  The kids will enjoy it, and I know God will continue to work in Marty’s life, too.  That sounds like he needs more than the rest of us, but I only mean that sometimes we are so concerned with OUR circumstances that we can’t see outside ourselves.  I know it happens to me!

  5. AuntGen says:

    You are such a blessing to me.  I am sorry that you are feeling the fire so intensely right now but am so encouraged by your godly, faithful (as in “full of faith”) perspective.  I, too thank our Father for His goodness and His steadfast love.  “Amazing love, how can it be, that Thou my God shouldst die for me?”  He never fails and His mercies truly are tender toward us (not hypothetical, generic mercies but these particular cooling mercies that you are recounting.)  Praying for grace as you endure this furnace of (light) affliction.  It lasts but for a moment but works for you a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory. (Is. 48:10, 2 Cor 4:17)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Leave a Reply

