Grandmother…..Grandma…..Granny – Um, no! I have thought about this season of my life for awhile, but certainly more since May 19, 2006. I have, though, had a label pre-picked for several years. I didn’t choose the name; it was thrust upon me by one of the dear children of my past who said “Nina“ backwards. My “grandma” name is Nonnie. All the babies in my life call me Nonnie. My niece and nephew, Dan’s babysitting babies, even Allen and Adam called me that when they were little. I think, though, there will never be a more precious moment than hearing it out of the mouth of my first grandchild.

I knew it was coming, and I have teased Emily about Bill and I being the 25th people to hear the news (I think we came after the Crew, random friends they saw when Em got back from MN, possibly the mailman, but before the Xanga announcement!) But I remember how it was when we were expecting our babies – we just couldn’t help ourselves. It is news worthy of spilling out upon anyone who will listen – and some who won’t! What a beautiful evidence of their love for each other; what promise of the future; what a reminder of our Heavenly Father’s greatest gift to us, His only begotten Son! Yes, news to shout from the rooftops!

Now, below are pictures of the mother of my grandchild…….

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 404

 

 

 

 

 

She’s certainly mature enough to raise children!

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 126Shock, perhaps?

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 627

 

 

 

 

 

Toughing it out camping with the In-Laws!

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 722 The joys of morning sickness…….Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 622

                           or afternoon…..

 

 

 

 

 

Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 493 Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 676She has a knife, and she knows how to use it!

 

 

 

 

 

Cap’n Crunch and Cucumbers…..definitely pregnant!

Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 357

The “Kelly Smile” always at the ready

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 744

Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 541

 

 

 

 

 

                        

                                                                She is an amazing woman!

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 436

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Visiting the tree trunk on which true love was carved one year ago….

 

Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 369

 

Our Emily, the precious wife of our son, the amazing mother of our grandchild……………..is there a more beautiful thought?

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. chix0rgirl says:

    Aww… she is gorgeous. And will make a great mommy.You know what made me think “Mommy”? There are two pictures – one is from the Crossings where she’s holding her little sister who was sick. She had braided pigtails, I believe. Another one was from that family reunion or something where she was either cuddling a kid or talking to a lil boy. So cute.

  2. My word, Mama, you just ’bout made me bawl my eyes out. Thank you for such a sweet post! (And ah yes, the ohsoflattering pictures of me—but I make those faces all the time, and we believe in honesty, do we not? *laughing*) Love y’all bunches.

  3. ligsar says:

    Um, actually, she’ll eat dry cereal and cucumbers anyday.    Always a craving for her…
    And I love the “Kelly smile” ones.

  4. Yep, she’s definitely precious!

  5. Abbiegirl says:

    I Love My Big Sister Emily!
    And I’m lucky to have her for an awesome amazing sister!
    Im Blessed!
    Abigail

  6. AuntGen says:

    Nina, I am so excited for and just a tad envious of you!  I can’t wait to hold “our” grandbaby in my arms and then to give him back to you when I am ready to do something else.  It’s a little like watching a movie.ha 
    Em, I love the pictures!  Candid shots are the best because they let us see the real you!  Just be thankful that the real you has such a talented photographer!  Love, pickles and ice cream.  Gen

  7. Anonymous says:

    Vanilla ice cream and potato chips!  Good even when you are not pregnant!  With my first two I did not leave the house without a lemon in one pocket and a paring knife and salt shaker in the other.  Of course, it took ALL the enamel off my teeth.  And I must have drunk more pickle juice than I like to remember. ha  Sooooooo good, just a sip now and then would get rid of the worst craving!  Yummmmmmm.  But, then I went nuts over fried ham on toast, with lettuce and tomato and dripping with salad dressing!  There was a drive in restaurant right outside the base that made the best fried ham sandwiches.  Scooter would be a love and drive off base and get us both one about 9 p.m. on a work night just ’cause I “needed” one. ha  Young, new husbands are so neat about cravings.  They’ll do just about anything for you. ha

  8. mine is SO amazing. He drops whatever he’s doing the moment I mention that I am craving something! I try so hard not to abuse his love for me, and try to keep my cravings quiet or get it myself.
    Ugh, Mama, I thought I knew what morning sickness felt like, but tonight……wheeeew…..about 9:15 this horrible, please-can-i-just-get-sick nausea just HIT me. I mean, bad. Like the girls were asking if I was okay. I’m home now (your precious daughter brought me home immediately) and it’s getting better, but all I want is sleep and chicken soup! So weird.
    It’s going to be fantastic when the unsettled-morning–REALLY-icky-evening part is over. At least I know that the baby is healthy, Praise the Lord! 🙂 Yay for hormones? Except right now it’s kinda hard to wave the pom-poms…they’re making me dizzy.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Don’t brush your teeth too early in the morning or reach back too far back into your mouth with the tooth brush!  My sickness with Mark (first was worst) was so bad in the beginning and it was primarily early in the morning.  My OB gave me great advice.  He said to keep saltines under my bed and BEFORE I lifted my head off the pillow to reach down, get two or three and slowly eat them, reast a few minutes and then try getting up.  When I got married I was the milk drinker of the world!!!  Suddenly I could not bear to look at milk!  Couldn’t stand to smell it, nothing.  That was rough since I had to have milk.  But for at least the first three months I drank NONE and then only what I made myself drink.  After Mark was born, I went coo-coo for milk again.  With Mikey I only craved strawberry malts with cheese and peanut butter crackers.  And my pickle juice!  Always, the pickle juice. ha

Leave a Reply

