At Work with My Husband

November 3, 2006 dads work 024_640x480

Today I went to work with my husband.  It’s something I do as oft as possible, but it has been quite awhile since I’ve had this opportunity.

Bill has never really decided what he wants to be when he grows up.  When I met him, he worked in the Parts Department of a Ford dealership.  A little while before we married, he was driving a dump truck. 2 weeks after we began our life together, he went back to Parts Sales, this time in a NAPA store.  Less than 2 years later, we opened our own parts store in our small town.

This was when I began enjoying working with my husband.  I got to be bookkeeper/helper at the store.  As the kids came along (I was 5 months pregnant with Nathanael when we opened the store) we had a crib in the office.  The kids all grew up at the parts store.  I wish I could show you pictures of Nathanael taking products off the shelves, sweeping the floors, looking in the parts books at 2 years old!

Five years later, Bill sold the store and went to work as mechanic for one of his best customers in town.  Then back to driving a dump truck for a short time (this time was not as lucrative, so did not last long).  And once again back in the parts business, this time for the local Ford Tractor place.  In the meantime, Bill traded a neighbor a dune buggy for an old Ford tractor.  So he began doing tractor work on the side.  The kids and I went to the tractor place where Bill worked when we could, and the owners were so patient and sweet to our kids.  After about 3 years, Bill decided he wanted to do tractor work full time, so he quit the store and struck out on his own.  This was the BEST, as far as our time with our daddy!  Bill would go to work, say, to mow a pasture being cut up for a subdivision, and we would go along with him.  While he went ‘round and ‘round with the tractor, we’d have school on his trailer.  Bill would come to the trailer to eat lunch and play with the kids awhile, then back to work and school!  Dannye Reigh prayed for rainy days, because this meant Daddy would get to stay home and play Legos or Playdoh with the kids! Sometimes he set up his HO track and they’d race cars all day. What a wonderful Daddy he is!

Okay, back to Bill’s resume’.  After 5 years of mowing lots and pastures in the heat of summer with ground hornets attacking at every turn, then NO WORK in the winter months, Bill decided to get a “real job”.  He went to work for his cousin in the rental equipment business.  Since the kids were getting old enough to do school on their own a little bit, I’d go to work with Bill occasionally.  He drove all over Houston delivering and maintaining equipment at construction jobsites.  I’d pack up all my curriculum planning tools and we’d plan the next week or month of school together.  I decided I just LOVED this form of togetherness!  He was a captive audience!  It was great.

Bill now works for a different company, but doing very much the same thing.  He drives all over, delivering and maintaining equipment, buying new equipment as needed, putting out “fires” when superintendents get in an uproar…..

November 3, 2006 dads work 005_640x480

November 3, 2006 dads work 004_640x480

Today, I went to work with him because he had to drive to Pflugerville, a small town near Austin.  His company has a job there, and Bill had to service 2 tractors.  I love the drive, I love the company, and I love watching my husband work!

November 3, 2006 dads work 023_640x480

If you can’t tell, Bill is under a tractor (changing the oil)

November 3, 2006 dads work 010_640x480

Bill still says he doesn’t know what he wants to do when he grows up, but says he does know what company he will be doing it for! The company he works for is so good to us, he has freedom that he is rare in an “8 – 5” job, and his boss, the owner of the company, is the greatest.

November 3, 2006 dads work 028_640x480

random cranes near the jobsite

On the way home we stopped at an old friend of Bill’s, and watched the sunset.  It was indeed beautiful! 

 

November 3, 2006 dads work 075_1536x2048

Bill also stopped to get this shot of a lovely church’s beautiful stained glass window.

November 3, 2006 dads work 082_640x480

So many people are shocked that I love riding around in a pickup (and sometimes a “big truck”) all day just to be with my husband.  I can’t tell you, though, what joy it is to be “just the two of us.”  Even though he has to work, I open the truck door or window and talk to him while he works, or read to him something I think would interest him, or just sit and watch him. He is such a remarkable man, and I’m the most blessed woman on earth!

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 335

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to

  1. awwww…. y’all are so sweet.

  2. Anonymous says:

    That was the greatest!  You two are the perfect example of marraige as it should be.  You have never lost your romance and your love of just being in one another’s company.  I was imagining how Scooter would react if I were to go around with him at work all day, especially reading to him.  You must remember, I am married to a hermit-wanna-be.  If I want to tell him anything now I have to catch him either on his way from garage to back porch for a cigarette, or from porch back to garage after cigarette.  Often I think of something on his way out and by the time he comes back through, I have forgotten what it was.  If it is important, I get out of my recliner and go tell him. 
    Fun for me is when I ride in the Kawasaki Mule with him as he drives from one end of the camp to the other and gathers trash bags from the different campsites.  Bt I always have to ask if I can go.  Just because he doesn’t think to ask me.  We have a great time once we start out. ha  One day we stopped at a campsite and the lady there brought out a trash sack and we were chatting and she asked Scooter, “What is this, date night?”  We cracked up laughing, and told her as a matter of fact it was. ha  By the end of the summer he even gets better about remembering to ask me to go sometimes.  But, by the next spring, I have to start over again. ha
    God bless both of you.  Keep that fire a’burning!
    Love,
    B

  3. AuntGen says:

    (Wiping tears)More fodder for my brother series. Sniff.  I love how your husband loves you – how you love each other. If for some reason a person can’t see Bill’s worth, all they have to do is look through your eyes. 

  4. Anonymous says:

    I have to share my husband’s best ever wonderful thing.  I am sure I told you, Nina and Jeanne, but for those who do not know my husband of 47 years, he is a man of less than few words.  A few years ago I began the tradition at Thanksgiving for us all to gather before dinner around the table and share things we are thankful for.  I change it a little each year, and have forbidden the boys to be thankful for the Dallas Cowboys again, or Tom Landry.  After all, those things are givens!  I also told them to be mores specific than just saying “my family”.  One year they had to list their five things most thankful for.  Some spoke spontaneously, others had made their list in advance (I gave them a week’s notice).  The kids are all intersperced among the adults as we go around so we cry some and laugh some as we go.  We got half way round, to Scooter and he read his list of five.  1.  His sonshe is so proud of and their beautiful wives, 2.. His incredible grandchildren. 3.  His country. 4. The Marine Corps And finally, his wife; who was also his  reminder service, accountant, cook., friend and lover.  Well, the entire table of sons, daughters-in-laws, and even the big granddaughters were all crying when he finished.  It was so very UN-SCOOTER!  And of course, I was bawling from half way through his list.  I mean, he had brought his reading glasses to the table and everything. ha  Its the little surprises like that that keep us going. 

  5. Abbiegirl says:

    the sunset in amazing!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hey, when is anybody going to write about Granddad and Mamaw’s reaction to the baby news.  I thought sure you would have written about it, Nina.  What did they think?  Were they surprised?  I know Dad tries to never look surprised. ha  I get that from him. ha  Let me know what they said. 

  7. auntkarl says:

    Bill needs a shave HAHA I love my Brother in law

  8. AuntGen says:

    Btw, I love that rugged, out-doorsy almost Marlboro man look he has in that last pic! 

  9. billseye says:

    “Some’s got it, and some ain’t.
    (Andy Griffith)

  10. Anonymous says:

    I agree with Jeanne.  That last picture is awesome!

Leave a Reply

