Ginger………….and other stuff

I have wanted to write a bit about my babydog, Ginger, and now seems as good a time as any.Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 298

Ginger came to me in March of 1996, sort of for my birthday.  She was 6 months old, and Bill told me I could have her if she wasn’t “one of those stupid cockers!”  Ginger IS a cocker, but she is definitely not stupid, although Bill’s definition of stupid had nothing to do with brains.  Bill had experienced cockers that piddle on the floor every time you look at them, yap at anything that moves, and are generally a nuisance to own.  Ginger was none of these.  She didn’t even bark for the first year we had her.

She did have one bad character trait.  Ginger, being a cocker, sniffs out everything.  The problem was that when she got on a trail, you simply could not get her attention.  And the louder you called her name, the faster she ran away from you!  She received the nickname “Mama’s Bad Dog” from this behavior.  She did finally learn obedience (mostly at her discretion!), but the nickname stuck.  She responds to “Mama” as quickly as she does to Ginger.

Ginger is actually an English Cocker Spaniel.  This is a little different than the American Cocker – Lady from “Lady and the Tramp” fame.  The English Cocker is a little taller, not near as much wooly hair, with a little longer nose.  When Ginger was young, she had the most beautiful coat, a light red with beautiful silky “feathers”.  She was lean, and didn’t even make standard weight unless she was wet!

Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 301

Ginger was my baby from the moment I got her.  She loved her collar.  We had to take it off each night because it jingled (she slept with Bill and I in true “Lady” fashion).  Every morning, she would go get her collar from the shelf and bring it to me.  When I asked her previous owner about this behavior, she told me that she used to make a production out of getting Ginger “dressed” every morning, and the collar was her “dress”.

 

We also had to be careful about using the word “GO”.  Every time we said it, Ginger would jump into the car!  She loves to go places, and she’s a good travel companion. 

Ginger loves to go to my parents’ house.  I’ve had to stop taking her there because she goes under their mobile home and barks incessantly.  We always know the reason, and most times she brings that reason out – my prim little cocker is a POSSOM DOG!  The only problem with this activity is that she tears up the insulation under the house.  We’ve tried everything to keep her out from under there, but finally just had to leaver her home. 

Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 242 Another of Ginger’s favorite outings is our annual trip to Glen Rose.  She LOVES to swim.  We even had to buy her a little doggie life jacket (with leash) for when the river is up because she so easily gets swept away.  Bill or  Nathanael have had to rescue her more than once!

Glen Rose Dannye Card 1  10-06 233

 

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 482

 

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 480

 

 

Look out when she gets out…..unless you want a shower!

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 227

From Oct. 1998 – 99, I had a recurring bout with Mono.  (There was also thyroid and gall bladder issues thrown in there.)  I was in bed most days of that whole year.  Nathanael had to take over being chauffeur, and the girls took over all my other chores, but Ginger acted as comforter.  She stayed with me on my bed day in, day out.  She truly was “man’s best friend” during those days.

 

 

Dannye's Crazy Insane 057 I need to mention also that Ginger thinks she is a cat.  She has always loved our cats, and is especially fond of brand new litters of kittens.  Even before she had her first litter of pups, she would steal our cat’s kittens from her.  I have joked that she really expected to have kittens when she delivered that first litter of puppies, and was so disappointed that she didn’t want to have anything to do with them!  She barely nursed them!   Each subsequent litter got a little better, but she still loves kittens best.  Dannye's Crazy Insane 038 adjusted

 

All our cats love Ginger, and the feeling is definitely mutual.

 

Dannye’s newest babies.  They are always wet from Ginger’s not so tender loving care!

 

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 308_640x480

July 4th, about 4 years ago, we went to our church’s “Dependence on God” celebration.  Ginger is deathly afraid of fireworks, so when I wasn’t there all day, she decided to run away from home!  It was FOUR days before my sis-in-law, Karla, found her.  I was amazed at how broken hearted I was!  I cried and cried until that silly dog came home.  Ginger doesn’t eat unless I’m at home, so I could only imagine what was happening to her, if she was even still alive. 

 

Justa Few Oct26 2006 046

Ginger is now 11 years old.  As she’s gotten older, her muzzle is turning a little gray, and she is getting a little fat since she was spayed.  Fat for her is normal for most dogs, though.    I have to keep her hair shaved pretty close because her hormones went out of whack after the spaying and her hair bushes out like a sheep if I let it get too long. 

 

 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 684

She’s got arthritis in her hips from being hit by 2 cars and a motorcycle, she’s now deaf, and I think she’s getting cataracts. 

 

 

But she’s still my “babydog”, and I don’t know what I’d do without her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dannye's Crazy Insane 089 My husband is working like a madman to fix our roof.  You know you need to do something when you are using 30 – 40 gallon ice chests to catch the water coming into your house!!!!!  Crazy, huh?!

Here he is cutting some angle iron for the trusses on the roof.  It would have looked better in the dark, but the time was now!

 

 

 

Dannye's Crazy Insane 041 Random pics of Dannye and Melissa.  Missy took the one of Dan vacuuming (they were photographing each other), and Dan got Missy playing with my sunflower garland when she took it down to decorate for Christmas.Dannye's Crazy Insane 035

 

 

 

 

Dad's church November 12 013 fixed

 

 

 

This last one is my little family during the school year with Pamela gone.  Dannye says she doesn’t like being an “only child”, but I think she enjoys the way her Daddy spoils her!

I pray your Lord’s Day is full of the Awesomeness of God!

God bless your day…………………

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ginger………….and other stuff

  1. AuntGen says:

    Oh, Mama’s Bad!  Precious, precious girl!  When I lost my Lady Ma’am, I thought my heart would break.  I can’t imagine how bad it will be when the time comes for you to let Ginger go.  I pray it’s a long, long time before we have to find out.  Love and Kitty-kittens, Ginger!

  2. Abbiegirl says:

    Those are really cute pics of Dannye!I miss Ya’ll!AbbieGirl

  3. Anonymous says:

    Nina, Nina, how is it that I’ve never met Ginger??  Being the DOG LOVER that I am, I can’t imagine how I’ve missed her.  Apparantly you’ve had her at the reunions, but guess you keep her under lock & key since I can’t recall seeing her.  And don’t ever feel silly for crying your eyes out over a “baby”.   I can truly understand how you feel.  Everyone in my family knows they’ll have to bury Bob & me when our Coco “goes”.  Especially BOB!!  Although she was my Christmas present 10 years ago……….she is definitely a “Daddy’s Girl”.  My kids are worried that everything we own goes to Coco when we die………maybe that’s why they tolerate her, ha!!  No one can love you unconditionally like a dog can.  I’m so happy you have her in your life, kittens & all.  Enjoy her as long as you can………..love you, Motts

  4. Anonymous says:

    Oh, I forgot to tell you how beautiful I think she is, also!!  And I loved all the pictures you posted……….Missy is gorgeous in the sunflower garland!!

  5. KatieWatt says:

    I love Ginger!!!!!!!!!  

  6. Anonymous says:

    Sweet, sweet post!  I’ve never cried harder in my life than when my precious Bridget had to be put down, due to some evil person poisoning her.  She was suffering so much.  She was a joy to all who knew her.  I think that is why I kept a distance between myself and all the dogs we had after Bridget.  I loved them but Scooter was their buddy, the one they sat squeezed into the recliner with.  Now that Oscar is living with us, I am hooked.  The boys laugh at me when they find me sitting in my recliner with that gorgeous weirner dog in my lap.  He has been a great comfort to me during this time of physical pain I am going through.  Nothing compares with the love of a dog.  Your Ginger is beautiful.  I do dread when its Coco’s time.  Like Martha wrote, when Coke goes, I’m afraid Bob will throw himself into the grave and Martha will be wailing as she lies across it.  Don’t even like to think about it.  ha
    I love you so much, sweet sister and am so glad you have your Ginger.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I just read your comments on my page.  I needed to get out yesterday so it was a good thing but I wish I could have enjoyed it. ha  Maybe after tomorrow morning!  Say prayers for me and my doctor. please.  Kind of scary knowing he is going to be sticking the needle in my spinal area so many times.  I just pray it is successful.
    I hope you get the job.  It sounds just perfect for you!  I meant to comment on it before but forgot!
    Love you,
    B

  8. While it completely weirds me out that this animal has been given human status in y’all’s family, that seems to be pretty universal among dog lovers. I will never understand it. πŸ™‚ I’m glad that she’s in a home where she’s so very loved, though. Just please don’t ask me to hold her. I….uh…..I don’t do dogs. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

