T’was the Night Before Christmas…

Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec  Okay, so this is a little weird.

We had a beautiful time together tonight for Christmas Eve. Actually, the whole day was wonderful. We started the day with our family plus Emily going to church together. It was a particularly special service filled with music, a message from God’s word, and 2 were baptized.

After church, we ate lunch in the car on the way to Wal-Mart for last minute grocery needs for the evening with Mamaw and Granddad, Gen, Uncle Dave and kids. Nathanael was also to join us as soon as work allowed. Our kitchen was filled with cooking, cleaning, and lots of laughter as we all pitched in and got things together for our Christmas Eve party.

Before everyone else showed up, the Bill Petty’s and Nathanael Petty’s had a time of Scripture reading and prayer, then we opened our gifts to each other. Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

 It was so much fun to watch Emily open her gifts! She’s so animated, and her joy was such a blessing to our evening. Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

 

It seemed that we all took more joy in watching others open their gifts than in seeing what we ourselves got!

 

 

 

 

 Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

Around 7, Granddad, Mamaw, Gen, and Dave’s family arrived.   Don’t know what we’d do without Gen!  She chauffered tonight.

Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

 

 

Mom (Mamaw) loves Christmas!  She has really been in the holiday spirit this year. 

 

Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec Dad (Granddad) is not feeling his best, but was in fine spirits. He even told a story or two.

 

Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

 

 

Dave was in RARE form, and entertained us all with his quick wit.

Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

 

 

 

 

 

We ate, and ate, talked and sang Christmas Carols, and when Gen took the “old folks” home, those who dared played “Disney Scene it”. Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

 

 

By the way, Kenny won!

 

 

Now comes the weird part. Christmas Eve (Dan's) DecI don’t know why, but I was filled with sadness when Nathanael left. I know he wasn’t here last Christmas, but I could tell myself that he was out of town and would be here next year. And yes, he was here this year, but suddenly the realization of 2 children (who are adults now!) instead of 3 suddenly hit me. Only 2 stockings to fix, 2 to wake up early Christmas morning to see the other gifts.

Lest anyone thinks I’m not grateful for the nearness of my son and his bride, I know full well how blessed I am. This has nothing to do with location. This has everything to do with this new season of life. The fact of the matter is that Nathanael is not my little boy anymore. He is a man, the head of his own household, the husband of Emily. It is so wonderful to me to walk through this new phase of life, yet somehow a little painful.

Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

I’m off to bed, now. This melancholy feeling will go away as soon as I see Emily in the morning, knowing that I wouldn’t go back 2 years, nor would I trade her for anything. Nostalgia is kind of fun to wallow in momentarily, but I am more than eager to go forward in life. Christmas Eve (Dan's) Dec

 

 

 

  Besides that, next Christmas I’ll have a new grandbaby who will make me forget every hint of sadness I feel right now!!!

Merry Christmas, everyone!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to T’was the Night Before Christmas…

  1. Crazy4Photos says:

    Merry Christmas! Oh, and I wanted to tell you that we really liked your family Christmas picture… thank you!Have a Wonderful day!~Sara

  2. I just love you a whole lot.
    ((hug))

  3. Anonymous says:

    I wanted to also tell you how much I loved your Christmas card picture.  It was wonderful!  I need to know, was another person involved or was it taken by tripod and timer?  It was a beautiful picture of a beautiful family! 

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ditto on the Christmas card picture………..great shot!!  And the pictures above are just wonderful!  Dannye looks so pretty & it’s such a great picture of Daddy & your mom………..and the one of you makes you look like you’re glowing.  Very pretty………..  Yes, our babies grow up & it can never be the same, even tho we try to keep a lot of the things the same…We had such a fun silly time w/our kiddos & the little kiddos…….I guess Ryan at 15 & 6’2″ is still considered a “little kiddo”, ha!!!……..love you all………….HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

  5. ligsar says:

    I’m jumping on the train of those who like your Christmas picture.  You guys are a bunch of nuts. 

  6. billseye says:

    This year I got it all set up and handed the camera to Michael. We took some pics at this spot once before using a tripod and the timer. It was a riot because there is a pool of water between the camera and where we are sitting. There was another family and their photographer watching and laughing (proly hoping that I would fall in while jumping across the water). On my equipment wish list is a remote shutter control.
    Bill

  7. AuntGen says:

    Per game rules, you commented on my post and thus get the letter – K. 

  8. My husband is so handsome, he makes me swoon.
    *grin*
    *faint*

Leave a Reply

