Tidbits

dads icicles 031 I’ve been homebound, as much by illness as by the weather.  I went in Monday, as per my last post, but it was apparently more than my body could take.  I am feeling better tonight (this morning!), actually better than I have in days!  Pamela made me take a nap, and it really did help.

 

 

 

It has hovered around freezing for several days now; never did have much of those “20’s” days they were fretting about!

dads icicles 079

Emily came over tonight, probably mostly to show us that she could drive on our icy roads!!! 

She has really laughed at us, although the national weather service has made almost as big a deal out of this ice as they did Hurricane Rita.  Since we don’t get ice around here but once every 10-12 years, most of us are pretty careful about it.  Besides, we get an off day!

 

 

dads icicles 079 Bill, Dan and I went to Wal-Mart today, and it was as much an opportunity for photos as it was to get me out of the house.  Our piney woods really looked dressed up in their winter whites.

 

 

 

 

  dads icicles 073

 

We are further north and west than Houston, so got more ice.  I wished for snow, but most of what we got was just wet and cold.  This little cold snap will do me for a few years.  I’m typically a girl of summer, even our southeast Texas summers.  I like warmth and humidity, not cold and drizzly!

 

 

dads icicles 076

This stop sign was thawing right before our eyes, as was everything else.  This is one of the big reasons I don’t like winter wetness – SUCH A MESS!!!  We’ll be cleaning up mud for weeks!

dads icicles 094

 

But, it is beautiful while it lasts, isn’t it?dan, pam, and icicles 013

 

 

dan, pam, and icicles 055

 

 

Looks like Christmas.  I do love these shots, although they are really romanticizing everything.  Our woods are beautiful no matter the season, but it really is messy out there today, as everything is thawing out.dan, pam, and icicles 082

 

Noel wasn’t too perturbed by the ice, and got through it rather quickly.  She rather enjoyed it, I think.

dads icicles 014 This is a fountain near where Pamela is working.  She is the only one of us that has worked all week!

 

I am also including shots of my “Dumb Daughter’s Camping Trip”.  You may wonder if I mean “…Daughters’…” rather than “…Daughter’s…”, but no, it was daughter,singular, that wanted this trip.  Of course, the intelligence of her followers comes into question, but we do strange things for those we love and who are leaving in just days for another 4 months away. 

Pamela wanted to camp out during her Christmas Break, so the plan was to girls camping 010go to Mike and Gen’s pasture to have the fun of camping without going far or having to pay for anything!  Well, of course we were expecting the worst weather of the season during this week.  So…

Uncle Mike helped them put their tent up in his barn since it began to rain as soon as they got there.

girls camping 013

 

 

He helped them build a fire, got them all set up for the weekend.  The tent didn’t quite fit, but they made it work.

girls camping 022  

 

 

Pamela, Katie, Mel, and Dan (photographer) were wet, cold, and miserable, but somehow managed to turn it into a great time!  Pam is a multi-tasker, spending much of her activity time also on the phone.

girls camping 017

Steak, baked potato, green beans for supper, and S’mores for dessert. 

girls camping 036

 

 

 

Lots of pictures, too.

Best Friends and Sisters, too.  What could be better?

                                                  Dannye and Melody, Pamela and Katiegirls camping 054girls camping 206

 

 

 

 

 

                             

girls camping 058 Michael came to see if it were really true – “the girls are camping in the calf lot”…….  You can tell what he thinks of their intelligence!

girls camping 059

 

 

 

Well, they did survive the night, and had a nourishing breakfast of pancakes, eggs, bacon, and…..

girls camping 097

MARSHMALLOWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

girls camping 102

 

 

 

Getting warmer……………girls camping 111……………………………………

 

         ……………………………warmer……………………………girls camping 103

 

 

 

 

………………………….PERFECT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!girls camping 105

 

girls camping 165

 

 

 

 

girls camping 143

Too bad, Pam.  The marshmallows are gone, now!  Did Dan get the last one?

girls camping 170  

 

 

 

Cold, wet, and muddy.  Pamela’s fashion statement!

girls camping 081

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, what’s camping without singing around the campfire?

girls camping 238

Pamela and Katie, signing to their songs.  It’s so beautiful to SEE the words as well as hear them.

girls camping 225 girls camping 228girls camping 250

  girls camping 256The rain kept coming, and the girls just ignored it when they could. 

 Mel is “surfing” on the boards across the mud of the barn floor.

 

 

 

girls camping 252 Are we having fun, yet? 

“Water, water everywhere, and not a drop to drink……….”

girls camping 247  

 

 

Perhaps silliness will help…………………………………girls camping 262

 

 

It usually does!girls camping 266

 

 

 

Pamela leaves Saturday.  It doesn’t seem like it is time yet.  She has been more “here” this time than usual.  I am so thankful she has this opportunity to get her formal education, so I will not even include a “but”.  She will be missed more than ever, but summer is coming……………………..and I can’t wait!

dan, pam, and icicles 010

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tidbits

  1. Crazy4Photos says:

    Oh, I like all the ICE shots! I wish that we had a little more Ice over here to take pictures of we bearly got any! *sniff*

  2. KatieWatt says:

    Yah, Michael labeled us, I think the phrase was “certifiably insane”. And did we care? Nooooo! It was so much fun. I mean who will make the memories that we have by going on a typical camping trip?
    However, I am glad we weren’t camping in the icy weather that followed. Brrrrrrrrrrrrr….

  3. SUPER glad that I was snuggled up with my husband that night. πŸ™‚
    And while perhaps I have a penchant for needing to “prove myself”, there really weren’t any icy roads to brave by the time I was driving. 😦 I think it’s more cabin fever than anything else. I’m used to a very full, hyper busy life, and ours just isn’t right now. Any excuse to get out of the house…. πŸ™‚

  4. YAY for the cats being OUTSIDE!!! (I always knew they were animals at heart…) πŸ™‚
    I think that we need to institute the whole “Beam me up, Scotty” concept. It would really make life a lot of fun.
    *ZZZAP* “Mount Everest! I always wanted to see that!” *ZZING* “Dude! It’s Brazil!” *ZZZOPP* “Whoa, like, is this Beverly Hills??!”
    Oh yeah man. Loads of fun. πŸ™‚

  5. Am I game? Am I GAME? Am I BREATHING?
    So I have a DVD player that works, and a quiet apartment until 11:00 tonight……umm, no food to speak of, except a pan of fresh fudge…so how about we start TONIGHT?    
    I also have a third of a can of sweetened condensed milk, and what more does one really need? (And Dan can stop trying to think of excuses not to—she had ALL DAY to do laundry!!)

  6. Rocketh socketh. πŸ™‚ I’ll slice the fudge momentarily. Hopefully half of it will still be here later tonight. πŸ™‚
    EEEK. Preggo lady on the loose. Everybody hide….

  7. wolverine93 says:

    I agree if it’s not going to snow I’m ready for the cold spell to be over!

  8. Anonymous says:

    I didn’t like to play in the mud even when I was a kid so am not one whit envious of the camping trip. ha  But I can see that they all had fun and that is what it’s all about anyway!  I want Spring!  ha

Leave a Reply

