Welcome to The Projects

Since our computer has all the pictures, I decided I’d better go ahead and journal the Cabin project for us all.  Most of you know by now that Nathanael and Emily have decided to remodel (actually, rebuild) the cabin on our property.  This cabin has ALOT of history, many people have been blessed by its availability, and if you want to hear the stories, Bill or his Dad will be happy to have another audience!

Well, anyway, part of the cabin’s history is that it served as Nathanael’s bedroom for several years before it became unlivable.  He has always loved that little house, and has dreamed for years of fixing it up to live in.  So, now he and Emily have that opportunity.

It is a massive undertaking.  The cabin is over 40 years old, and was built in about 5 stages, out of scraps!  It started out as a small storage building for when Bill’s family came up here to the woods to camp.  As time went on, and more scraps were available, it turned into the small (560 sq. ft.) cabin it is today (minus leaks!).  The roof will have to be removed.  Not only does it leak BADLY, but Nathanael can’t even stand up in the back of the house!  So, I’m just going to include pictures of all that has been done so far.  I will (or Bill will) update as progress is made.

cabin demo jan 27 07 010  I wish I had a picture readily available of what it looked like before demolition, but we’ve had at least 2 computer crashes since we had decent pictures of the cabin.

This gives you a little picture of what it looked like before demolition.  They had actually done ALOT inside, but I wanted to show you the outside first.

cabin pics 001 Nathanael is looking from the back room into the bathroom.  He and Josh had already emptied the back room and stripped the walls.  I could hardly believe how quickly they worked!  My brother has always said of Nathanael, “What that boy cain’t tear up ain’t wrote in no book!”  So I guess this is right up Bub’s alley!

 

cabin pics 002 This is taken in the back room from the back of the house.  This wall used to be an outside wall, hence the window-looking part of the wall.  Pawpaw just covered them up when he added on!

 

 

 

Dad's random 082  Now we’re in the kitchen.  Nathanael and Adam have torn out all the cabinets and fixtures.

  The kids (I’m sorry, they are my kids!) are so blessed with good friends.  Josh and Amber and Adam and Nera have all come over to lend a helping hand.  The guys have worked like horses, and the girls have done their share as well!

Dad's random 091 Notice the bottom of the wall under the window.  Many of the cabin walls were old plywood signs Pawpaw picked up somewhere.  The window used to look outside, but in the early 90’s Bill’s brother added a room for his daughter, Mandy.  Therefore, although she hasn’t lived here for 15 years, this room is still called “Mandy’s Room”.

Dad's random 083

Emily has seen more Texas sized insects and other disgusting stuff during this demolition than she ever wanted to see!  There have been several nests of carpenter ants in the walls, but the guys have taken care of that!

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 003

 

Walls are down; everything is being removed, even the tub.  All this work has been done in little more than 2 days!

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 002

 

Our little neighbors, Cassidy and Sheridan, came over Saturday to see if they could help.  They are remarkable children.  They have helped us in several of our projects!  This is Sheridan cleaning up the kitchen floor.

 

Dad's random 095

 

Nathanael saving a few steps by tossing rubble out the back window.  It wasn’t long before the entire wall was gone, saving even more steps!

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 096

 

This is the only thing that remains inside the cabin… My Mom’s old pump organ (under the blanket & stuff).  It will be going to her house this weekend.  It still works!

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 011

 

Now for the outside…The front porch had to come off.  Josh was over again to help, so he and Nathanael removed wiring, etc., to get it ready for Bill.

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 078

 

Why do things the hard way when you have heavy equipment to do the work for you!?!  Bill has had a terrible virus/cold since Friday, but couldn’t stay inside when he could be doing this!

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 035

 

I have to say, this has been a little hard to watch.  Our family lived in the cabin when the kids were 5, 4 and 2, and it is very special to us all.

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 036

 

 

The porch roof – going, going, gone!

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 049

 

 

The tractor got it down, but the guys had to haul it out of the way.  The porch will be replaced later.

 

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 063

Now for the porch floor.  Amazing, isn’t it, what you find under the porch?  Bill lifted the east side of the floor first.

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 072

Still the east side of the porch.  This is in front of “Mandy’s Room”.  There was a sliding glass door going into this room, but several years ago we came home from church to find it shattered by the heat.  Weird!

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 081

 

 Now for the west side of the porch.  I am praying that my azalea bush lives through this!

 

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 084   

 

Love that machinery!  (Pretty crazy about the operator, too!)

 

 

 

cabin demo jan 27 07 098

 

 

 

 

Hauling it off…………………

 

Parker's Birthday and Fire 124 ……..to the never ending bonfire!  I think it’s still burning out there!

 

 

Well, that’s all for tonight.  I will give you more as it happens.  Please pray for Nathanael, Emily, and Bill as they plan and work on all this.  There is only a short amount of time to accomplish this task, and I know they all feel the pressure.  God has poured His abundant blessings on this project with free materials coming from MANY people, so we know we can do it in His strength!

Have a blessed day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Welcome to The Projects

  1. AuntGen says:

    This seems so sad.  So many memories!  You and the whole Pettybunch, The Andersons, the Watts, and who knows how many other people have enjoyed the hospitality of that humble little cabin.  It’s the end of an era.  But I guess it’s the beginning of one, too.  I know you are looking forward with anticipation to the time that your “kids” and their little one are right there in your front yard in their own little honeymoon cottage.  They seem to be making great progress and I’m sure they will have it finished in record time.   

  2. auntkarl says:

    I know that this will be a blessing in all of our lives. to have Em and Nate right here. And of course that Baby.  I can’t wait to see everything finished and all prettied up.

  3. Anonymous says:

    OMG……..what an undertaking!!  I guess I don’t understand exactly where this place is??  Have I ever been to your house, Nina??  Weird question, huh??  I also don’t understand exactly what’s going on w/the place.  Are they tearing it completely down??  You all talked about the loss of memories, etc……..like it was all going away.  Looks like a lot of work but a lot of fun, too.  PLUS, the reward will be so wonderful for all the Pettys……..good luck……….love you, Motts

  4. I love the pictures!!! (and just so nobody thinks that Dan’s photo-taking ability has somehow gone down the tubes, those outside heavy-machinery-demolition series were mine. Yeah, I’m notsogood.) I love that this little place has so many memories for y’all, and I’m so sorry that it’s so hard to see it being torn up like this. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I guess after twelve-plus years of living in a home while every bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchen and any other living space we ever had any kind of memories in or emotional attachment to was gutted and rebuilt, I sort-of lost my attachment to home interiors. ๐Ÿ™‚ (My first bedroom in that house, if you can believe it, was where Anna and Katie’s room is now, only it was longer, and there was a loft over the stairway that housed our precious dollhouse and a million toys. I cried my little heart out when the time came to gut out that part of the house.)
    It sure is a fun project, though, and we are so excited that y’all have given us the opportunity to do this. And, I must admit, I’m prettydarn excited to live close to you guys. “No more mister lonely….” It’ll be such a treat to have y’all so near, and you know what? I’m really not worried about the whole invasion-of-privacy thing. You and Dad and the girls are so precious about giving us married-people space, and I just know that the transition will be quite smooth. And plus, you always knock, so all of life will be wonderful! I love knocking. I should start a please-knock-on-my-front-door-and-if-i-don’t-answer-then-it’s-probably-because-i’m-not-dressed-or-something-so-try-again-later facebook group. Oh yeah, man. That’s the ticket. ๐Ÿ™‚
    (Can you tell that Nathanael has been gone all morning? I should go call somebody…)

  5. KatieWatt says:

    Our old porchin’ porch! *sniffle sniffle*
    Okay, I’m good now! I know it’s going to be beautiful! And I can’t wait to see it finished. But ya, it’s also gonna be kinda sad! 

  6. MegletTX says:

    well thank you very much Mrs. Petty! Yes they did an AWESOME job Sunday and as soon as they get their cd done we will be able to enjoy them in the comforts of our own home! HURRAY FOR TECHNOLEGY!

  7. cnsavanna says:

    woops, that was my comment not Megan’s, I am SO bad at that!

  8. ligsar says:

    Awesome.  As a matter of fact, I did hear of the history of the cabin from Bill when I was there… I just didn’t get a good look at it.  And I’m super glad that it is available for Nate and Em (and baby Roo!).  What a blessing- I can’t wait to visit!
    I know it seems like a lot of work coming up.  And well, it is.  But I know that you have some very capable workers.    Em knows house construction and demolition like no beautiful woman should!

  9. Anonymous says:

    What fun and excitement!  I can’t help being a little envious.  Wish I had something fun like that when I was young.  It is a huge undertaking but I can see you are blessed with wonderful workers and I think working toward a deadline helps tremendously.  I know that is the only thing that works for Scooter. ha  Take care and be careful where you step!!!
    Much love,
    B

  10. a4_Hqueen says:

    I have to say I have only been into the cabin once a long time ago; when the boys-Nathanael, Josh, Adam, Michael, etc.-so I don’t remember much more than a couple thousand IBC’s and whatnot on the floor. But I will be praying for the completion and ya’lls safety of this task.                                
                                                                                     God Bless,    Emily D.P. 

  11. And now….we knocked it down.
    What earth-shaking people we are. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

