And they all came tumbling down….

It started off like every other workday – friends arriving to help Nathanael & Emily in the efforts of rebuilding the cabin.  This day’s efforts were to be expended on raising the structure so the floor could be leveled and made sturdy.  As usual, I am including photos of the day’s events.  Things didn’t turn out as planned, but by all indications, it will work out for the best.

The Eventful Saturday Feb Amy and Emily are acting supervisors of this project.  I’m sure they are discussing plans for the day………….

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our beautiful Emily watches out for everyone.

The Eventful Saturday Feb Bill is ever ready with the tractor.  They were going to be using steel beams to raise the cabin, so he used the tractor to move the beams.

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

Nathanael directing his Dad’s movements.

 

 

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb The early shift crew, Josh and Michael.  I truly don’t know what we’d do without these guys!

 

 

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

Nathanael and Michael positioning one of the beams. 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

Bill used the tractor to push the beam under the cabin when the guys got it in place.

 

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

Checking to determine what’s in the way of the beam…

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb Emily trying her hand at driving the tractor?????????  Well, she didn’t actually drive it, but she did have a good view of the work!

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Much of the work had to be done through the floor inside the cabin.  So many of the old blocks had shifted and got in the way of the beams. (Dodie, notice my house out the window of the cabin.  That gives you an idea where the cabin is in reference to my house.)

The Eventful Saturday Feb  I just love this shot!  Emily and Amy at their best in their supervisory capacity! 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

What is in the way now?

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

My baby, waiting patiently on his tractor.  Dannye got most of these shots; she was the official event photojournalist!

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb The Eventful Saturday Feb  

 

 

 

 

 

Nathanael and Michael look like they are playing tug of war with the crow bar!  I don’t know what’s going on here, but it is all in preparation for the raising.

The Eventful Saturday Feb The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Josh and Darrin doing their fair share.

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

Whatever is under there, it will take two to deal with it!

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb All the gang getting ready to begin the raising……………………………………..The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

 

 

                          Jacks at every corner, and some in between.

The Eventful Saturday Feb  

 

Nathanael and Darrin are  ready! 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 

 

 

One more check inside.

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb

 Okay, it’s raised up this far, now what?

Here is where the plot thickens… After further inspection, and much heart wrenching discussion, it was decided to………………………..

The Eventful Saturday Feb

…tear the whole thing down and start from scratch!

The Eventful Saturday Feb

Yep, Nathanael and Michael are now standing on what is left of the cabin, throwing piece by piece into the fire.

 

 

 

 

The Eventful Saturday Feb The fire got bigger and bigger, and the pile of cabin got smaller and smaller.

I really can’t describe to you all my emotions about this turn of events.  I sat in the house, watching my husband weep while tears streamed down my own face.  It is the end of an era, I guess.  I know that sounds so melodramatic, but there are so many wonderful memories in that little cabin.  Bill and I lived there for nearly a year, with all three of our children.  It was even smaller then.  Many other people have lived in the cabin for various reasons:  new houses being finished, divorce taking away a home, fire destroying a home, out of work with no place to go… There was even a precious baby born right there in that cabin!  What a haven that little place provided!  Built out of scraps, never anything to write home about as far as looks or conveniences, yet it brought comfort to many lives.  Again, so many wonderful memories!

But, I must be quick to say that we are now beginning a NEW era!  Nathanael and Emily will have the opportunity to build their own “honeymoon cottage” with no preconceived ideas or structure to work around!  I am so excited that they will be actually living out something many of us only dream about… designing and building their own home.  Of course, it won’t be the Taj Mahal, but it will be their own! 

The Eventful Saturday Feb So, dry those tears and look to the future – the new era of Petty’s and the new “Cabin”!

 

“Except the Lord build the house, they labor in vain that build it”  Psalm 127:1

 

 

Have a blessed day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to And they all came tumbling down….

  1. Anonymous says:

    Bless your heart!  You and Bill are such sentimental softies!  I know how sad this all made you but you have your spirit in the right place.  Just look at it this way.  It was NO GOOD TO ANYBODY the way it was.  Now it can start over again, giving comfort to new people.
    Love you,
    B

  2. Kunkel_Daze says:

    Wow! I had no idea that this happened. I’m sorry for the loss of such a memorable piece of ya’lls family history. Take solace in knowing that, as you said, a new era has begun.
     Kunk

  3. ligsar says:

    Yesterday, Pam reenacted her phone call with Emily at the moment it went down.  I was looking forward to your post about it….
    Isn’t Dannye always the “official event photojournalist”? 

  4. Honestly, with all the stories I’ve been hearing, and seeing y’all’s sorrow as the cabin was knocked down, I really do have sadness internally about it. Truly, and I’m really not making it up.    (so :P)   🙂 I’m so happy, though, that y’all have so graciously allowed us to “dream a little dream” in building this new little house. Nathanael is so excited about the floorplans and being able to start from scratch. He was up I-don’t-know-how-late on the computer, typing and designing—I’m posting his final draft.
    Anyway… much love, wishes for lack-of-sniffles and big hugs to y’all.               Thisisgonnabesofun!!!

  5. By the way, that last picture of me…..I think of Tim Allen on Home Improvement:
    “whhhuuuuaaaaahhh??”

  6. cnsavanna says:

    cool! I REALLY like the pictures! Candids are my most favorite By the way I LOVE Emily’s comment

  7. Anonymous says:

    Well, sorry for you & Bill, but after reading Em’s post the other day, it’s what she wanted to happen – starting from scratch………may be the easier way to go for all.  AND…….I’m so glad you have that shot of your house……couldn’t believe it was going to be THAT close – wow!!  Will they still build in that same spot or move away a little bit??  I’m so happy for you that you will have that little baby so close by.  No spoiling, huh?? ha……….love you & your sentimental feelings about the house & memories.  I’m that way………..I don’t like to change cars, houses or see any of my “old stuff” go away.  I’m just a “hanger on-er”, I guess.  Keep the pictures & info coming…….love watching the construction & destruction, ha!! 

  8. pettybunch says:

    Dodie, Bill says the pic makes the house look closer than it is (or was!).  I’m not good with distances, but it’s not right in our front door.  They could even have their own driveway if they choose to.  Anyway, it is going to be sooooo much better and easier to start from scratch than to remodel, so we are really looking forward to it.  As Em says, “Thisisgonnabesofun!!!”

  9. juliebug05 says:

    i just saw u got on my site recently, just checking out ur site for safety reasons. thanks, and have a blessed day!

  10. auntkarl says:

    Oh mo goodness I had no idea! When I checked Em’s blog I about fell out of my chair. The kids didn’t even notice when they were over there tonight..
    It’s just always been there. I wish I had been there to say its ok Nina its all for the best. We can rebuild make it stronger Faster (well maybe not Faster)
    we have the technology that was a pun from the 6 million dollar man… ha

  11. AuntGen says:

    I haven’t had a chance to cry yet, but when I come over this morning, I may.  I do know it is gonna be really fun, nice, and oh, so much easier to start from scratch, and to be honest I thought it made more sense from the beginning.  But now that the cabin is gone and you are so memoriforous, I am really missing it.  But it isn’t the cabin that we miss as much as the old times, I think.  As you keep saying, there are so many wonderful times ahead that you will be able to stack new “cottage” memories on top of old “cabin” memories and have a wonderful scrapbook of love to look back on.  See you later!  Love and “misty, water colored memories”

Leave a Reply

