First one thing, then another…

I know you all thought that when our Grandbaby was born I’d be posting pictures and bragging on her every day…

Well, first, I truly don’t get to see her everyday.  Then, since I’m not much of a photographer, a camera is not always with me.  And lastly, life just seems to be flying faster each day, and I find myself wondering what day it is!

It has been awhile since I actually verbalized what’s going on with the Pettybunch, so I thought I’d update.  The work on the house goes on.  Sometimes it seems a little discouraging when Nathanael and Bill can’t just take a vacation from life and work only on the cabin, but that just isn’t going to happen.  So they are both working full time jobs, much of their off-time on the cabin, and so many other things pop up to throw a wrench in the plans.  There are also more weddings this summer than I’ve ever seen!!!  Bill is photographing some, Nathanael is IN some, and all of them are dear friends with whom we really want to celebrate.

We re-evaluate our circumstances regularly, and are continually seeing the mighty hand of God on our days.  As many have commented on the “charmed” life Bub and Em seem to be living, I often want to reply to them that we all have the mighty hand of God on our lives if we will just recognize it.  At dinner last night we were seeing once again all the many ways God has worked miracles for this building project.  This discussion came after Bill and Nathanael discovered that the framing for one of the big windows is off slightly.  Does that mean God is mad at them?  No – God is good, all the time….All the time, God is good.  Somehow, this problem is going to work for our good, and we can count on that!!

Since Emily doesn’t have internet access, I will give another praise report for them.  They don’t have to change timeshare locations after all.  The managers were very willing to check on an alternative answer, and were able to keep them where they are.  Another possible/probable answer to prayer is a house-sitting opportunity for the week after the timeshare is up.  This would give them another week to be in comfort and alone as a family, plus an extra week to work on the cabin!!!!  Bless the Lord, Oh my soul!

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 004 This is the side of the cabin that faces our house – will probably be the main entrance.  Don’t worry, it isn’t going to stay that color.  That is just the initial sheathing.  Tyvek comes next, then the siding.  Notice also the hot water heater in front of the house.  One of the many gifts from the Lord.

 

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 007  This is the side that faces the road.  Just a couple of pieces of sheathing to finish enclosing the whole thing.  The large opening at the top of both the front and back will be glass.  The 2 openings beside the wonderful french doors are windows, and the long openings behind the blue machine are 3 windows for the bedroom.

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 008 This is just a closer view of the french doors.  They are 8 feet tall!  Truly, nearly everything we’ve used so far has been either given to the kids or rescued by my husband through the years from destruction!  These doors were given to Bill over 8 years ago.  We know it is that Mighty Hand of God I mentioned earlier – God knew there would be a need! 

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 011

This view is from the living area looking toward the bedroom.  These french doors were also a gift, and will be so beautiful when Emily gets through with them!

 

 

 

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 012 The Loft…Such a wonderful addition to the Cabin.  It goes the full length of the house, about half the width.  It will serve as storage, but will also provide a wonderful place for one to steal away to read a book, or take a nap.  It may even become a small bedroom area one day.  As you can see, some of Nathanael and Emily’s things are already up there!

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 013 Okay, this view if still from the outside french doors looking at the living area and kitchen.  It will be open all the way through, although the counter will expand into a bar/table under the ladder.  The stairs to the loft will be where the table saw is now.  The smaller window on the right will be over the kitchen sink area.

 

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 014 

 

 

 

Now I am looking into the bedroom – note the 3 windows which face the road.

 

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 016

Looking from the bedroom into the bath area.  The framing on the right is Emily’s closet, although we are all just waiting to see how many of Nathanael’s clothes end up in there!  The glowing thing further in on the left is the tub – another AMAZING gift – but it isn’t installed yet.

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 017 As you can see, this is the potty closet, right beside Nathanael’s closet – now tell me, how many of his clothes do you think are going to fit in there?

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 019

 

 

 

 

 

 

This view is of the kitchen area.  The gray on the right is the oven, but not necessarily where it will stay.  All the junk straight ahead will be counter and cabinets.

Mom's pics June 8, 2007 022

 

 

Last one – from the kitchen to the back of the house.  The view will be so lovely, especially after they build the deck and Bub begins his landscaping.  He’s a wonder at that kind of stuff!

 

Pam & Rue June 4, 2007 003 In other news, my Tater (Pamela for those who don’t know) is working as a waitress at a local family owned restaurant.  She is loving it, and makes a ridiculous amount in tips.  It is hard work, and she is exhausted much of the time, but right now she gets her 40 hours in in 4 days, so has 3 days/week to recuperate.  It is such a joy to have her home.  She spends a lot of time on the phone (Michigan, maybe? πŸ˜‰Pam & Rue June 4, 2007 010 She is a jewel, and makes sure we all know that SHE is still our baby!

Pam & Rue June 4, 2007 012

   

Dannye is spending some time with Mamaw and Granddad, and I miss having her around.  The animals miss her, too, since she is their care-taker most of the time.  They have to come begging for me to remember to feed and water them!!!!

I can’t update without a few of pictures of my precious granddaughter.  Mom's pics June 8, 2007 003 Emily is such a good Mommy – her love and confident care for Arulai makes me want to weep for joy.  Arulai is so much fun to hold right now – she just snuggles in and enjoys.  I know the day will come when she will be too busy for snuggling, so I’m treasuring this time while I have it.

Ruly June 7, 2007 002

 

 

 

 

 

Ruly June 7, 2007 018

Isn’t she gorgeous?  I am amazed!

Ruly June 7, 2007 034

 

 

 

 

 

 

God bless your day!!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to First one thing, then another…

  1. chix0rgirl says:

    Such a young grandma you are… I love seeing your life through your eyes and descriptions! Thanks for a fun diversion. πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Well, you know I am one of those who says that Nate and Em have been incredibly blessed by God.  He always was watching over us in our younger life, however, our blessings were usually finding a $5 or 10 dollar bill that Scooter’s mother had slipped into her latest letter.  ha  Sure made us look forward to seeing the mailman during those first couple of months while we were having to live in the Rat Hotel in downtown Beautort. ha  Thank God we were out of there before Mark was born.  We would have had to take shifts every night, keeping the rats out of the crib!  Forty-eight years and I still can’t forget those little critters. ha
    The cabin looks great.  It is going to be beautiful.  I am so glad it will be there for you all long after the kids have moved on to something bigger.  Won’t it be great while they are there?  I am picturing Ruly running over to Nonny’s house every day.  How fun is that?
    Love to all,
    B

  3. AuntGen says:

    I’ve seen and even been in the “cabin” several times lately and still the “Nonnie’s eye view” gives it greater life and shape.  I am so looking forward to seeing it finished and occupied.  I love the pic of you and A.J.!  You really do look like you must have been a child bride. (also, thank you for lending me your daughter for all this VBS stuff.  I have enjoyed her immensely –  I completely understand why you miss her so much.) LL,KK!

  4. auntkarl says:

    I been in the cabin and watched the progress. Its coming along I wish I could help but I feel like I would be in the way….

    And Gen what is LL KK meanlol

  5. AuntGen says:

    Love Love, Kiss Kiss!

  6. a4_Hqueen says:

    The progress on the cabin looks like it’s going so well, even if it is slow. I’ll be praying for God’s helping hands to be round about ya’ll. Baby Arulai is sooo beautiful and I can hardly wait to see her. Elaina also grows more beautiful every day and I’m trying hard not to claim her as my own.:) Every time she comes over I almost leap for joy and want to grab her and never let go. But I have to force myself to remember that she is Jackie’s Baby and not mine.:) 😦  God  bless you and have a wonderful day!                        Love, Emily Dawn

  7. Anonymous says:

    Good Grief……..I love the cabin.  What I would give to have that for my “sewing/get away” studio!!  I know you’ll enjoy having it in the family after the younger Pettys have “moved on up to a larger local” as Bettye said.  It’s wonderful.  I know everyone keeps saying how good God is…….but I hope Emily & Nate realize how incredible you & Bill are!!    And all the donated items……..just incredible…..  I’m like Bettye…..in our newly wed “poor” California days….I looked forward to my mother-in-law coming by because she might have a candy bar or coke/Dr. Pepper for us! ha.  Such hard times…….  Bill seems to be working like a crazy man – I hope his health holds up during the HOT & HUMID Montgomery/Houston weather!!  EWWWWW……..I still remember those 3 shower a day times……..  Love the pictures………the baby is changing w/every photo.  Glad you’re documenting it all!!  Love you, Dodie.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Alright, Missy, it’s been five days.  What’s the dill, pickle?  I wnat to hear some words from home, and perhaps a new picture of two of my new niece, Miss Ruly.    I hope you are all well, and I know you are all busy as can be.  Just wanted to say hi and that I love and miss you all.
    B

  9. Nate and Bill have certainly worked hard, haven’t they? What a team they make! Both of them, up at dawn, bed at midnight, working their tails off every day. Aren’t we grateful, Mama, to be married to such men?
    We are so grateful for the gifts we’ve been given and the ways that the Lord has so provided for us—His hand of blessing has been obvious. We just don’t talk much about the days when we fall asleep in tears, wondering how the rent will be paid, or the nights when Nathanael’s car overheats and he spends an hour sitting at a gas station waiting for it to cool down enough to drive, or the times we’ve had nothing but carrots and italian dressing in the fridge, because the grocery budget was needed for gas money! Sometimes it’s a five-dollar bill, and sometimes it’s a hot water heater, but God blesses ALL of his children. We all have different needs at different times, and He knows that. Nate and I purposely search for reasons to praise God, and do our best not to complain about things that don’t seem like blessings.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Is anyone ever going to post another picture of Arulai on Xanga?  I sure would love to see an update.  I bet she has changed and grown so much!

  11. Not really. She looks about the same as in these pictures. πŸ™‚

  12. Anonymous says:

    Oooo-kaaaay!

  13. I’m her mother. I would know. *grin* πŸ˜›

  14. Anonymous says:

    Those who see babies the most are the least likely to notice the changes they make in their looks.  I saw a marked difference in her face in the pictures you posted from MN.  Her eyes have made the biggest change, much more open, much bigger.  She’s a little doll.  I know you are aware of that, mom.  I look forward to finally getting to hold her at the wedding.

  15. Since my need to have the last word is ALMOST as strong as yours, AB… (*laughing*)
    She’s certainly precious. The reason her eyes look so much bigger in the pics on my site is because here she was somewhat sleepy–her eyes have been big and open lke that since her swelling went down! She does seem to grow daily, but not enough to post pictures constantly. πŸ™‚ She looks forward to meeting you, too! πŸ™‚

  16. momstranz says:

    Great pictures, Nina, (better than the  ones the kids brought –) what a great space.  I really hope to be involved in some way before every detail is complete.  You all are doing a great job!  
    Must go roof a house with my lovely wife ( yes  indeed, she’s a roofer too!)
    Barry

Leave a Reply

