Being Nonnie…and Mom

 Mamaws House 057 cropped Yesterday was my first official time as babysitter for little Arie-Jean (Rue to most of you!).  Dannye, Pamela, and Emily went to coffee with the Watt girls, and I asked if Arulai could stay with me.  Emily graciously left her in my care (okay, I’ll confess that Nathanael was home, but he was busy with other things!) and we had a wonderful time.  The A-Team is here, and they were riding bikes, watching movies, playing Zuma, etc., so I got to give my full attention to my little granddaughter.Mamaws House 059

 

 

 

Mamaws House 033 cropped

 

 

 

 

You know, she is such a cutie!  She smiles just about all the time.  She’s got her fussy time like most infants do, but I just pick her up, hold her, rock her, whatever she wants me to do.  Arulai LOVES to go outside!   She is even beginning to “talk” – does a lot of cooing.  She was talking to the trees, to the dog, to her Daddy and her Papa.

 

(Doesn’t she look like her Momma when she crinkles up her nose?)Mamaws House 032 cropped  Ruge & Park & Photo Shoot 254_640x480

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And she really likes the boys.  They can get a smile out of her even in the midst of tears!

The sweetest part of my night was when she heard Emily come home.  She looked around for her, and when Em picked her up, she gave the sweetest grin!  It was so sweet! 

I love watching Emily be Mommy.  She is so much more calm and confident than I was when mine were babies.  During Nathanael’s fussy time – about 2 months around 7 o’clock each evening – I was beside myself!  Mom and Dad lived next door to me, and every night I would walk over and Mom would cuddle him on her soft bosom, and he would go right to sleep!  I would gently and quietly take him back home and hope he made it through the night!  Another thing I couldn’t have lived without was our baby swing.  It had a bed attachment that Nathanael slept in until he was 6 months old. 

I have the feeling that Nathanael would have gotten over those fussy times much easier and quicker had I not been so nervous about it.  Emily just talks to Arulai, sings to her, walks her, and usually that is all it takes.  They are both amazing.

Tomorrow Pamela leaves for Michigan.  She will be gone for 15 days.  I can hardly stand it, although I am so excited that she is going to see Will and meet his family.  They will be going to Mackinac (Mackinaw) Island while she is there.  I understand it is unbelievably beautiful.  Pamela will enjoy it so much – she loves to travel, and add Will to that equation – well, I just bet she’ll have a great time!  She can go from doing this…Pam & Rue June 4, 2007 003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                      to this….. may 14 07 dad 047

And Verizon will get a break!

 

This is a thrilling time in our lives.  Not an easy time, necessarily, but fun and exciting.  We are praying for God’s will in this matter, and that’s exactly what Pamela calls him – God’s Will!

 

 

 

 

Y’all have a blessed day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being Nonnie…and Mom

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love Pam’s name for Will.  That is precious.  But then, she is precious.  I talked to her about this upcoming trip at Michael and Amy’s wedding and she was so excited, mostly because she was going to see “God’s Will”.  I pray that all will work out as God has planned and that it will be wonderful for Pam.  It made me happy to read that my boys can get a smile from the baby.  They talked a lot about her when we were home.  She is a pretty new experience for Adam, my baby boy.  Ask him if he is letting his Daddy help him with his reading.  I found out when I got home that he told Marty he didn’t want him to help him, he would wait for Grammy.  After our first reading session while home I told him he already was very rusty in knowing some of his normal words and that he had to let Daddy help him in my abscence.  So I hope he is.  Marty is mighty quick to take no for an answer. ha

  2. Anonymous says:

    As I said in your earlier post……g’babies are the BEST!  And yes, the heart strings get tugged by the most simple things.  My first born G’son is now a licensed driver!!  Rob bought him a car Sunday!  All three have to start their various practices next week & the first of August, so this will help “Nonny” tremendiously!  I chauffered a lot last summer since Mom & Dad were at work!  He got to drive out of his subdivision today for the first time!!  Took his sisters out to lunch at Sonic!  Then came by here to tell me about it!  So exciting for him……….  My point being……every step in your g’babies lives are something to treasure!
    I know Pam will have a wonderful time!  She’s like her Aunt Dodie!!  Keep that bag packed for any little trip than might come along!  I think I’m a gypsy at heart!  Love you…………& happy g’baby sitting!!  Motts

  3. AuntGen says:

    I love watching you with Arulai.  She is definitely a Mommie’s girl, but she also has a bond with her Nonnie. 

  4. Anonymous says:

    The new pictures are precious.  YES!  She does look like Em when she crinkles her nose.  She is going to be such a cuddle bundle at the reunion and what fun she’s be at the Christmas party.  She’ll be six months old and rolling around on the floor.  ha  I forgot to mention earlier that baby swings are invaluable!!!  Priceless!!!  Wonderful!!!  The new ones are even better because they don’t have to be wound up every time they run down. ha 

  5. mimijoan says:

    Nina, you too are beautiful in the pictures!  Obviously Grandmothering is agreeing with you!
    I cannot believe the changes in the baby (still not sure what feels most comfortable calling her – ?) In one pic she reminded me of Anna as a baby, perhaps the distinctive chin.  It looks like her hair is changing color too.  I’m glad she is cooing, there is something so precious about a cooing infant.
    Your Pamela is beautiful and I know this is an exciting time, ahh courtship!  I trust meeting Will’s family will go splendidly.  They don’t have quite the distance Micah and Sarah have to bridge, but it is wonderful to trust in God’s goodness and perfect timing.
    Tell Danaye her pictures are the best!  She really captures the personalities of her subjects.  Our Beth has a friend who is a professional photographer.  I was looking at her web site and the three portfolios of children’s shots.  I should remember to send her Ann’s web site – I think Dany would enjoy looking at them. 
    Thank you for the snuggling and loving in person to help make up for those of us miles apart!                                                                                G’ma Mimi in MN

  6. cnsavanna says:

    I came out of the womb barefoot and that’s the way I’m most comfortable!!! I love all of your pictures!!

Leave a Reply

