For Dodie

For background on the day this was taken see Gen’s post.

Mamaw's House 035a

Daddy loves to listen to his family sing.

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to For Dodie

  1. Anonymous says:

    Only one?  I am greedy.  I want more.  I got so excited when i saw the picture, and then told Scooter, “There’s only one!!!”  But, one is better than none.  Thanks for the precious picture of our daddy!

  2. Anonymous says:

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!  for the precious picture of Daddy.  He looks soooo at peace!  But like Bettye, I was excited to scroll down for more & NOT any………but I’m soooo appreciative of this one.  Isn’t he just the best looking daddy in the whole world!!!  Love you!

  3. auntkarl says:

    Not to cause a stir but I disagree what Martha. My daddy was!!!!!!but I’m bias   Grandad is the second best looking daddy in the world LOL

  4. Anonymous says:

    Sorry, but MY daddy was the most handsome of all!!!

  5. AuntGen says:

    All our girl friends were in love with our daddy.  He was (and still is) handsome, funny, charming, and a really good listener.  I think his real name is Prince Charming. 

  6. pettybunch says:

    Isn’t that the truth, Gen!

  7. Anonymous says:

    My friends loved Dad, too.  When our school made a train trip to Odessa for our very first time to play Odessa in football, Dad and Chloe met LaNelle and I at the train station, took us home where Chloe had made spaghetti and a huge peach cobbler.  They took us to the football game (they went, too, and it began to rain horribly just before half-time.  We ran under the bleachers and I was pretty sure Dad and Chloe had gone to the car.  At half-time we ran out to the car (where they were listening to the game on the radio and four of us piled into the car.  One guy was with us, plus one extra girl.  First, they bought us all hot cocoa, then took us back to the house and fed everyone.  Dad gave Mike (yes, the boy’s name was Mike) a dry pair of his sox and one of his pullover shirts and told him not to worry about it, and took Mike and Donnie (the girl) back to the train.  Nell and I had permission to stay the weekend with Dad and take a different train home on Sunday.  By the time the weekend was over, I had the greatest family in the world.  Every time I saw Mike after that, he would mention what a great Dad I had to just give him those clothes because he was wet!  Dad always charmed my girl friends.  LaNelle had never known her Dad so she claimed Dad as hers, too. ha

  8. AuntGen says:

    I love that story (and all the others like it.)  That’s just our Daddy!

  9.  I sure do love Granddad, and understand why y’all claim him as the best daddy ever… but I’m afraid that y’all missed the best (and best-looking) daddy boat, cause that award is a tie between Nate and Dad! 🙂 I can’t tell you how many people have claimed adopted Stranz status—children, teens and adults from all over the world (seriously) come to my parents’ house expressly to be included as “belonging” to my family. My friends from school call my parents “Mom” and “Dad”, and they’ve had houseguests all summer. Dad is even on some of my friends’ protected lists! He taught me so much. (And any man who can raise eleven children without committing suicide deserves a medal.) Not to mention his almost-Hollywood good looks and ability to bench press 315 pounds…
    And don’t get me started on Nathanael, the man who not only should be a model and gets hit on CONSTANTLY, but caught his daughter at her birth, gets up with her during the night, changes her diapers, and takes her outside to teache her the proper technique for throwing baseballs! I’ve never seen a man love his children the way Nathanael loves Roo! I understand that it may be difficult for y’all, who have known him from infancy, to see him in the husband-father role without remembering all those childhood and teenage years, but I’m telling you, he has taken these titles and become them completely. He reminds me so much of that verse, “When I was a child, I spoke as a child….but now that I am a man, I have done away with childish things.” (total paraphrase, i never had that one memorized!) That is completely him.
    Anyways. Yeah. I love Granddad, and so does Nate. 🙂

  10. billseye says:

    Your thoughts and feelings  about your Dad and Nathanael are true, but I’m afraid they have 30+ and 60+ years respectively to go to be all that Granddad is! 

  11. AuntGen says:

    Isn’t it fun how just one little comment can spark a whole discussion? .  I believe that there are many, many best daddys (like ours, K’s, Em’s and A.J.’s) and I feel sorry for children who don’t think that their dad is the best, best looking daddy in all the world.  All daddys are different and have different strengths and weaknesses, but it is wonderful to have a dad that you love and admire and who is the envy of your friends and even your relatives. I love hearing about  Em’s and K’s daddies and I rejoice with them and every other child of the best daddy in the world.  Although I personally don’t consider this a competition, I feel a little compelled to sort of respond to some of Em’s comments. I’m not arguing the “best daddy” point, but filling in some gaps that she and others might not be aware of about G-dad. 
    Our dad, too, spent lots of time and energy with each one of his children.  You only have to watch him hold any baby, especially his own offspring, to see the genuine love and devotion that he exudes toward them.  When we were babies, Dad would strip and clean dirty bottoms, but had a horror of pinning skin so he refused to pin on a diaper.  If he had had these velcro type disposables, he would have been all over it.  When he became a long distance dad after his divorce, it was hard to keep close relationships with his “first family” but he did the best that he knew how and though the road was not always smooth, they admire and adore him more than most children who had their fathers with them full time.  Dad patiently gave all of us lessons in tangible things like playing sports and driving a car, and he also gave us life lessons through loving dicipline and instruction.   
    Throughout his life, Dad’s own friends, cousins, brothers, and even aunts and uncles,  have made him their confidant and depended on him to advise them on their lives, much the same way that Nathanael’s friends do him. Then when Dad’s kids, neices and nephews, not to mention his grandchildren, came along, he became councelor to them and their friends.  Dad has always helped those in need in any way he could and everyone who has ever known him well(even a couple of his pastors)  have known that they always had a refuge, a bed or a meal at his house. 
    As for participating in the births of his children, Dad did what all good fathers from  the era of sterile delivery rooms, smoke filled waiting rooms and passing out cigars when the baby was born did – he paced and waited.  To my knowledge Dad never bench pressed anything, but he could hit a big smushy soft ball out of the park and that takes some power.  Nathanael inherited much of his good looks and charisma from his Granddaddy and whether we see it or not, wherever Dad went, women fawned over him. 
    All men have feet of clay, and while I don’t like talking about his, my dad is no exception.  I know he isn’t perfect.  He’s just the best, best looking daddy in the world.ha  Btw, I do see Nathanael’s paternal side and the godly man he has become.  It’s pretty cool.  I apologize for the longest comment I think I have ever written.  When it started getting too long I tried to copy and paste it to my own blog but couldn’t.

Leave a Reply

