Bird Watcher

The Lord blessed me last week with 2 unique glimpses of His creation.

First, I was coming back from taking Gen home when I drove up on a bird I’d never seen before in the middle of the dirt road.  This was the CUTEST bird I’ve ever seen!  He was fat, long billed, beautifully patterned in brown, cream and black.  He just sat there while I pulled right up to him.  Another car came by, so he moseyed into the brush along the edge of the road.  I called Dannye to get her to come take a picture of him, and while I was waiting for her I followed this bird and watched him.  I thought he might be injured because he didn’t move very fast.  He kinda heaved up and down while he was walking or standing there.  I’m telling you, he looked like a cartoon!  Anyway, when Dan tried to get close enough to get a picture of him, he flew over a fence into a yard.

So then I spent all week trying to find out what kind of bird this is!  The kids and I were avid bird watchers during our homeschool years.  Nathanael could have long conversations with the mourning dove, and he and the girls could identify hundreds of local or even migratory birds in our area.  But I had never seen this particular bird, so I began the search.  I could never find just what I remembered him to look like, until I finally thought to describe him to Kunk and Gen.  They immediately told me what I had probably seen so I looked up the name they gave me and here it is….

American Woodcock

The American Woodcock

I don’t know if this will work, but this link  should go to a page that has a video of this cutie.  He is about 8 – 10 inches long with a 2 – 3 inch bill.  He is plump, has no neck and quite short legs for his size.  They only winter in our area, according to the websites I’ve visited.  I feel very fortunate to have seen one because I spotted him in the afternoon and they are evening/night birds.  Oh, so cool!

Later in the week, I was getting ready to leave work when I heard a knocking noise on the outside of my office.  My boss occasionally has people working on things, so before I left I thought I’d better make sure this knocking was ordered by him!  So I followed the sound, and came to my bathroom window.  I looked outside, and there on the bricks framing the window was a huge Pileated Woodpecker! 

PECKING THE BRICKS!! 

He was knocking off the edge of the bricks alongside the window!  What he thought he could eat from there, I don’t know, but he must have worked on that brick for 10 – 15 minutes!  I snapped a shot of him with my cell phone, but it was too dark on that side of the house (our office is an older home). 

pileated

(Stock photo from Google)

It was totally cool, though, and I got to watch him for a long time.  Pileateds are huge birds – 15 inches!  We have them around our home often, and even found a nest of 2 when a tree fell in our yard.  They are just beautiful birds, and it was really neat to have the opportunity to observe this guy up close for so long.

These occurrences may not be exciting for many who read this, but I am always amazed at the diversity of God’s creation.  Who can doubt His existence when His fingerprints are all around us?

“19. Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them.  20. For the invisible things of Him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are  made, even His eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse…” (Romans 1)

I pray you all see our Lord through His creation today…

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bird Watcher

  1. TerrisCorner says:

    How neat. We like to bird watch also & have a wide variety of birds even in the city. And agreed, if we take the time to stop and look, God’s creation is so amazing!
    See ya this afternoon, Terri

  2. ALDOG1 says:

    Hey, I’m here in Al’s name again. ha  His subscription digest arrived in my box today and I was able to read your post but not see the pictures so I paid you a visit. ha  How absolutely cool to get to see those birds.  I love watching birds.  I’m not good at it but enjoy it.  Two years ago Scooter watched our local red tailed hawk scoop a fish out of the river and take it to the far bank for lunch.  He called me outside and we took turns with the binoculars watching as he beat that fish black and blue while he ate it.  Took him a long time but he seemed to enjoy his meal. ha  Summer before last a road runner visited our patio and I watched him from the camper window for the longest time and finally was able to open the door and even take several pictures of him.  I was soooo excited.  And you know the hilarious saga of my Cardinal mama who raised the giant graekel or whatever this year.  The river is has a plethora of flora and fauna that we love to discover.

  3. auntkarl says:

    I’ll make two comments in one. Cool bird. and way to go on the house I can’t wait to see it fininshed……

  4. AuntGen says:

    Cool timberdoodle!  I couldn’t get the video to work, but enjoyed your description of him and all his antics.  The pileated was interesting, too.  What a surprise to find him pecking on bricks!  Now if we can just get someone to post some pictures of White Christmas, we’ll have it made. 

  5. Abbiegirl says:

    Hello Mrs. Petty.
    Thanks for your comment. I miss you and Dannye a lot!
    It looks like I will probily (but I’m not sure yet) be able to come in Feb. With Sara Lightbody…I’m pretty excited..I have a job now, and enough to come up to see em and nate and ruby for their christmas gift.:)
    I can’t wait to see you!
    Abigail

  6. Mervyn says:

    Quite effective info, lots of thanks for the article.Mara Hoffman Vent Back Shortie Romper | here | at this shop

Leave a Reply

