Back to Normal Life?

 A new year is always full of promise.  We see the year stretching out before us, and as Anne of Green Gables said, “Tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it.”  I love that thought – no mistakes yet to clutter up my days.  Oh, I know there will be plenty of mistakes in them as I look back from 2009, but what hope lies in those clean, open days ahead!

Our new year began with Pamela at home.  If only for a few days, my life felt as it should – all three of my children within arms reach, with the wonderful family additions of my dear daughter-in-law and our precious granddaughter.  It won’t always be that way, so I treasure each moment now.

Pamela was required to fulfill a practicum for school in which she became an observer in the classroom at a local Christian school.  She was in a K-5 classroom, and absolutely loved it.  The teacher, a graduate from the school Pamela attends, Pensacola Christian College, really enjoyed having Pamela.  She even had her teach the Bible lessons several days.  We were so grateful that the school only required her to work until noonish, so we were able to spend the afternoons with her.  Kinda the best of both worlds!

While Pamela was home, we attended a Bridal Extravaganza in Houston.  What fun that was!!!  Although Will and Pam aren’t officially engaged, her limited time at home forces us to go ahead and look into wedding details.  Will says they are “engaged without the ring”.  Bill says “nobody asked him if they could be engaged!”  Meanwhile, I’m having fun looking at wedding stuff!

Well, of course the time came for Pamela to go back to PCC.  You’d think this would get easier for me, but no.  I still found myself crying as we drove off the campus!  I just hate to leave her.  While I know she misses us, misses her homelife, especially misses Ruly, I also realize she was SO glad to be with Will again, and in many ways her PCC life is like home to her now.  She called me today, and her class schedule is light this term.  I am so grateful for that – she works too hard!

Back on the home front – Dannye has been sick for about 2 weeks now.  She has a bad cough/cold/headache/sinus bug.  She rarely gets sick, but when she does, it’s bad!  I feel as though I may be getting some of the symptoms myself, but I’m going to try to fend this bug off with lots of rest and Nyquil!

Well, I’m going to leave you with a few photos.  Some of them are not very good because we were in the Cracker Barrel and it was slightly dark. 

Dan, Mel, Kakie & Pam

Dan, Mel, Kakie & Pamela at church on Pam’s last Sunday at home

Cute Shoes

The girls’ (plus Kara) cute shoes

Back to PCC 009.jpg

My beautiful baby girl!

 

Back to PCC 001.jpg

At Cracker Barrel, glad to be together again!

 

Back to PCC 005.jpg

Of course, they didn’t know I was going to give them a test!

Back to PCC 002.jpg

It was actually a series of questions/comments developed to promote discussion with each other.  

Back to PCC 003.jpg

Some of the comments were quite funny! 

Back to PCC 004.jpg

No doubt a comment from Bill caused this look!

Back to PCC 006.jpg

Will’s grandfather built (installed) this clock/bell tower at PCC

  

Back to PCC 008.jpg

PCC’s beautiful Sports Center

Back to PCC 007.jpg

Another part of PCC’s lovely campus

That’s all for today.  I’m going to get some of that rest and Nyquil I talked about earlier!

Have a blessed day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to Normal Life?

  1. aw, yay for pictures! I hadn’t heard about the pop quiz—bet that was fun. 🙂
    now go get better. being sick is just wrong.

  2. Sweet post!
    I love the picture of the shoes. They are all cute shoes but Dannye’s takes the cake!
    Love, Amy

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    B here.  That close up of Pam is breath taking!  Gorgeous!  I showed it to Marty and it took his breath1  Loved seeing the new pictures.  I have not seen Pam in so long.  I would love to see a copy of the quiz.  Just the questions, not the answers.  ha
    Love you,
    B

  4. The pictures of Will & Pam are so cute. I hope you are doing very well!

  5. Crazy4Photos says:

    Missed you on Sunday!
    Love the cute shoes!

Leave a Reply

