Summer Breeze

See the curtains hangin’ in the window, in the evenin’ on a Friday night.
A little light a-shinin’ through the window, lets me know everything is alright.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

See the paper layin’ on the sidewalk, a little music from the house next door.
So I walked on up to the doorstep, through the screen and across the floor.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

Sweet days of summer, the jasmine’s in bloom. July is dressed up and playing her tune.
And I come home from a hard day’s work, and you’re waiting there, not a care in the world.
See the smile a-waitin’ in the kitchen, food cookin’ and the plates for two.
See the arms that reach out to hold me, in the evening when the day is through.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

by Seals & Croft

I love this song.  It makes me happy, describing what Summer is to me.  Summer in our area is not many folks’ favorite season, but I love it.  For the most part, you can expect the same weather every day.  This cold then hot then wet then muggy stuff is for the birds!  Give me SUNSHINE, even hot sunshine!  Summer brings longer days, fruitful gardens, warmth, tanned skin, swimming, and outdoor parties!  Summer brings Pamela home to me, allows for vacations, gives our home life a respite because Dan is off from work and teaching – just so many wonderful things!  Summer also gives Daddy opportunity to get outside since in his older years he can’t bear the cold.  I just can’t wait for SUMMER! 

I just have to share these new photos.  Arulai is a joy!  We have a blast with her, and I think the feeling is mutual.  The kids bathed her in our tub the other night, and I thought it was time for some bath time photos.  The child has no fear – you have to watch her every minute because she will just dive in!

Ruly bathtub photo shoot 3

Ruly bathtub photo shoot 2

Emily got Arulai all dressed up in pale green Sunday because we were all wearing green.  I dare say she was the prettiest of us all!  She wasn’t sure she liked the hat, but she did really well when Emily made her leave it alone.  She looked like a little doll!  She saw Papa get out the camera and really hammed it up.  Already she knows!   

Ruly at church 3

Ruly at church 2

She began crawling toward Papa, he kept backing up – she sure loves him.  He calls her Marzipan & she just lights up!

Ruly at church1

Ruly at church 4

Our blue-eyed beauty!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer Breeze

  1. she is SO cotton-pickin’ cute!!!! What on earth SHALL we do with her?
    i will try reeeeally hard to like usmmer this year… at least if it means I can get a teensy little bit of a tan. 😀

  2. ALDOG1 says:

    The only time summer down here is good is when we are at the river!  Nothing like floating in a tube in “ice water” on a day where the temp reaches or surpasses 100!  It takes about 15 seconds to be able to stand the cold water and after that it is the only way to be.  Next favorite is sitting under a shade tree alongside said river feeling the cool breeze coming off the water.  Apart from that you can have summer!  It gets too hot for me to even go outside!  My favorite season is Autumn.  I love the fall,  I just wish we had more than two weeks of it. ha You had already sent me the pictures of Ruly so I was disappointed that these were not new ones. ha  You know I am never satisfied.  ha

  3. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – My insides are frozen until the end of July!  I can’t even imagine getting in “ice water” no matter how hot it is outside!  But I would love for this to be the summer I get to sit under a shade tree alongside the river with you!

  4. ALDOG1 says:

    @pettybunch – Here I am writing about summer and I am so cold I can hardly stand it!!!  I have on some fuzzy sox, long leggings, tee shirt, cable knit cardigan sweater with an afghan over me.  Plus I cut some Lidoderm patches in half and I have one half on the inside of each arch of my feet, one whole one on my left hip, one half on each wrist, and two whole ones on my right shoulder!!!  Plus I am leaning on my wonderful heated vibrating back pad.  ha  And I still hurt all over so I just took a Darvacet!  I can not get warm and cold makes me hurt so much!
     

  5. momstranz says:

    Thanks, Nina, for the beautiful pictures. She is well loved!  AND well photographed.  Many thanks from us far away.

  6. Julitx says:

    Oops, Nina, how embarrassing.  My slides were not supposed to be up there.  I made it for another purpose and they automatically put it there so I deleted it but somehow it got put back.    Savanna is a miracle worker!  Now your pictures, they are the cutest!

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Julitx – Well, I’m glad I got to glimpse the “error”!

  8. DubyaDC says:

    Well, I have to be honest now.  I started the post when I was on the phone.  But I quickly discovered that I COULDN’T type and talk at the same time so by the time I finished it, we had already said goodbye. *sighs*  Oh for the small town life again.  One day!  ONE DAY I’m gonna marry me a country boy.  Until then I shall have to grin and bare the city.   Yes, SUMMER!  I am so ready for summer.  Dannye teaches?  I didn’t know that.  Does she teach a particular subject or does she have to cover them all in one grade?

  9. pettybunch says:

    @DubyaDC – Dannye actually babysits 2 little boys – brothers 4 & 2 – and home educates her 10 year old cousin, Missy.  She is in the 4th grade, and Dannye is enjoying it better this year than the past 4 because of the broader subjects.

  10. ligsar says:

    Yeah… the band thing would be May 1st and 2nd.  So… I’ll either come down to you ahead of that, and see Rah too, or more likely, after, which means Nate’s birthday party!!! 

Leave a Reply

