FAMILY DAY WITHOUT ME!

Dannye took some absolutely great pictures at Family Day this week, so I asked if I could let you all see them.  I was only able to be there for about an hour, maybe less, so I missed lunch.  Of course, they had steaks, potatoes, salad, and brownies.  They also had guests, Dad and Mom’s neighbors.  And I missed them!!!!!  I do have the blessing of seeing them at church each Sunday, but I was so looking forward to visiting with them at home!

Anyway, here are the photos, with commentary (below each photo)!

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 032.jpg  

My beloved Daddy, pondering

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 004.jpg

This seems to be the new activity each week – 4-wheeling with Arulai!

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 034.jpg

Auntie Amy and Arie Jean

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 012.jpg  

Lunch is served 

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 028.jpg

We said it looks like Gen is addressing a family meeting! 

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 019.jpg

Aunt Karla got to be there this time – sometimes she has to work

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 014.jpg

My Mama, evidently thinking hard about that napkin!

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 013.jpg

My Daddy & Kenny

 

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 025.jpg

Emily and Arulai – aren’t they just beautiful?

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 042.jpg

Carly, Missy’s best friend – she is just a joy!

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 003.jpg

My absolutely wonderful brother, Dave

***************************

Below are some photos Dan did some special effects on:

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 008.jpg

Chance, truly a blessing to have right across the street from our folks!

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 007.jpg

Cole, also a comfort to know is near our folks when we aren’t there.

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 006.jpg

Maybe one of the best photos of Kenny I have ever seen – isn’t he handsome?

NeeNee and Family Day March 11, 2008 001.jpg

This is not from Family Day, but I thought you might like to see Dan’s little brood – Keelea, Missy, Parker, & Ruge

As has been stated before in our family’s different blogs, Family Day is very special to us.  We (any descendants close enough that can make it) meet at Dad and Mom’s every Tuesday for lots of food and fellowship.  Right now, Dave and his bunch, Dan and her brood, me, Gen, Michael (when not working) and Amy, Bub (when not working), Emily and Arulai all join the fun.  We occasionally invite extra guests, like the neighbors or the Pastor, and we are also looking forward to a time that Bettye can join us.  (You need to come next week, B, before y’all go off to the river!)

Early on in this tradition we came for a workday each week – sometimes yard work, sometimes housework, sometimes we even worked on crafts.  But as time has moved on and as Dad and Mom have required more than just one day a week care, we only have workdays when big jobs need to be done.  Gen takes care of Dad and Mom on a daily basis and the rest of us fill in as needed or as we can.  We are blessed that so many of us live so close.  Now that daily  tasks get taken care of daily, Dad and Mom enjoy just visiting on Family Day.  I’ll have to say, sometimes this group can be quite overwhelming to an elderly mind, but they aren’t quite ready to let go.  So we continue, and enjoy it while we can!

If your family doesn’t have some sort of tradition like this, maybe you’re the one to begin one!  You sure can’t beat the love we share as a family.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to FAMILY DAY WITHOUT ME!

  1. I always love your posts Aunt Nina! Thanks for all the great pictures!
    Love, Mrs. Davis!

  2. DaveAndLisa says:

    What great photos! Thanks for including us among your circle of family and friends. We are grateful!

  3. ligsar says:

    I do plan on being there for a Family Tuesday, by the way. 

  4. DubyaDC says:

    Well, whenever you’re ready for some pressure, let me know.  Jenny cracked twice already and thought she would get away with starting over NEXT week but I called her up and hounded her about it and said we weren’t going to wait (I wasn’t going to cheat, I haven’t yet and don’t plan on doing so) and we weren’t going to make a new goal sheet.  We were going to stick with the one we had and if she didn’t lose it by then, then that would be her own fault.  I also told her that she needed to bring Scott around tonight cause I really gotta talk to him about getting on the bandwagon.  He’s of course supportive but he seems to be clueless about the fact that she’s not supposed to have sugar.  I need to brainwash her, is what I need to do.  Fix her way of thinking.  She can’t resist the temptation to get a milkshake when she goes to Chick-fil-a and doesn’t want to call me when she’s tempted cause she knows I won’t let her have sugar.  But she really really wants to lose weight!  Argh!  So yeah, while I’m on the tail of someone to stick to her “diet” (if you can call it that) I wouldn’t mind giving someone else a call if they’re interested in joining.  We’re just going off sugar and she’s going to cut some calories here and there…at least she SAYS she is.  But she was at the grocery store and was buying low-cal cheese and other such stuff like no-preservative meat or something like that.  I’m going off sugar and cutting cokes (which would be considered sugar except I didn’t cut it during the 8 month period two years ago when I lost 15 lbs.)  Get your jogging shoes ready, Mrs. Petty!  But start out walking really fast for the first week.  Eventually you can work up to a slow jog, and maybe up that.  If nothing else, it’s good for the heart!  But it does help in losing weight.  We set a goal for the month of March and the overall goal before the end of April.  I have my serious doubts we’re gonna make it but it will at least give us something to push for.

  5. it is indeed great fun—better fun when i feel good. šŸ™‚

  6. ALDOG1 says:

    Listen carefully!  Do not dare jog, Nina Petty!  Your knees and hips do not need that.  Jogging can be very destructive to joints.  You will gain just as good benefits from good fast walking!  Slamming your feet onto the ground is not a good thing!!!  All you have to do is get your heart rate accelerated a certain amount to get cardiac results.  You do not have to JOG!  It’s great for those you can, but its the last thing you need to do with your painful knees!  That said, I’ll change the subject now.
    I hope so much that we can come to Family Day next week.  I swear its something every week.  Either its pouring down rain (and I don’t relish spending a day packed into Dad and Chloe’s trailer with a gaggle of Allen’s) or I am sick or in bad pain or have a doctor’s appt or some other old person complaint!  I have not been an old person very long and I already hate it, hate it!  Whiny, pitiful old wretch!  Gack!
    I’ll be in touch.  Love you bunches, Lil Sis!

  7. ALDOG1 says:

    Hopefully you can translate my above comments.  I meant to say, “It’s great for those WHO can.” (jog)  Duh!!!

  8. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I read your correction and had to look back to see what mistake you’d made.  I read what you meant, not what you wrote!
    The precious girl encouraging me to exercise is still in her youth – she doesn’t know what old lady knees are!  I knew I couldn’t jog, but I sure need to exercise!!!!!  I used to LOVE jogging, though!  You ought to see Gen – she looks SOOOOOO great!  She’s lost lots of weight and is on an exercise program that is making her look REMARKABLE!!  Anyway, she is an encouragement to me, and I’m doing pretty well in the eating department.  Just need to get moving!
    I sure hope you can come next week!  We are trying to do more outside so there isn’t such a gaggle of Allen’s in their house!
    Love you, too!

  9. ALDOG1 says:

    I am proud of Jeanne and her grit!  My grit has crumbled, I’m afraid.  Don’t tell too many people you LOVED jogging.  They will begin to worry about your state of mental health.  ha  In my mine the only people who ENJOY jogging are those sinewy, long lean women with too much tan and their hair in a pony tail under a ball cap!  I want to slap those women!  Sure can’t pinch one!  I know you would love to feel healthier as would be all.  But never forget, you are one of the most beautiful women I know.  Your beauty shows through your eyes and your smile.  Your love is your beauty.  You glow, girl. 

  10. @ALDOG1 –   I enjoy jogging!! And while I’m niether sinewy, long, lean or tan, I don’t like being slapped much. šŸ™‚

  11. ALDOG1 says:

    Oh, I should have said “and young people who have not gotten full grip of their faculties yet.”  ha  And slapping is figurative.  Those sinewy women also shop in tennis skirts and golf “togs”.  I live in an area surrounded by them.  Speaking of which, our new Wal-Mart has been open a week tomorow and I have not gotten to go yet!  That tells you how sick I was!!!!  Well, tomorrow’s the day!  Oh, I can hardly wait!  Read a great article about this new one in the paper today.  It’s the latest and greatest and it just don’t get no better than that!

  12. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I may have to give your new Wal-Mart a try when I come pick up the boys.  You’re right – it just don’t get no better!

  13. AuntGen says:

    I want to go!  I want to go!   Great pics, and I must humbly say that God is my source of strength and success in the dietexerciseany sort of self-control department, but thank you for the compliments.  It is truly fun to be thin(ner).  Love you!  Gen

  14. maryhurlbut says:

    Hello Janina, i found yur page through the empy nest blog we both belong to. I so enjoyed your photos and thoughts on motherhood. I looked back at your Christmas time posts.Looks like a wonderful family. Please stop by, I take lots of pictures too

  15. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – I have been to your site, and I LOVE your photos!  I love the way you put Scripture with them.  I can’t take any credit for the photos on my site.  They were taken by my hubby and oldest daughter.  They are fabulous photographers and let me use their photos for my Xanga site!  Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

