Cinderella Dressed in Yellow

Cinderella Dressed in Yellow
Went Upstairs to kiss her fellow
Made a Mistake and kissed a Snake
How many Doctors will it take?

1…2…3…4…

I don’t remember the last time I jumped rope to this rhyme, but our Easter outfits reminded me of it.  Pamela would die – snakes are not her friends!

Anyway, Easter Sunday has always been a time for new dress clothes in my family.  My parents began the tradition because they could only buy our clothing a couple of times a year, so it was winter clothes for Christmas and Spring/Summer clothes at Easter.  I’ve heard the arguments about dressing up on Easter Sunday – how it causes us to lose our focus on what Resurrection Day is all about, etc.  But in our home it was not like that.  We DRESSED for church – as you would dress if you were meeting royalty!  My Mother taught us the importance of dressing for the occasion, and we always wore our best on Sunday. 

So, I carried the tradition into our family.  We have been wearing coordinating colors as a family to church for a long time – folks wonder if we’re having family trouble now if we aren’t matching!   This Easter, Nathanael voted for yellow.  I love yellow, so I was thrilled!  The first outfit I bought was for Arulai! 

The boys are generally with us every Easter, so they wore yellow as well.

Allen And Adam 0571

Allen doesn’t look thrilled, but Sunday mornings at our house are tough on him.

Allen And Adam 0641

Adam being Mr. Cool!

Allen And Adam 0711

 Now Al is getting into the fun!

Then, since Pamela came home the next weekend, we all wore our yellow again so we could take family photos.  Micah graciously took our pictures – we were so thankful we didn’t have to mess with tripods, etc!!

Family  Pics Yellow 0101.jpg

Out in front of our church, by the oak tree – where we always take photos!

Family  Pics Yellow 0141.jpg

The Bill Pettys

Family  Pics Yellow 0341.jpg

The Nathanael Pettys

Family  Pics Yellow 037.jpg

Bub and Arulai

Family  Pics Yellow 040.jpg

Isn’t she precious?!

Family  Pics Yellow 044.jpg

I think this was an attempt at her mad face, but she was too happy!

We had a blessed 2 weeks, which had nothing to do with our yellow clothing!  But it was sure fun to be matching, and since there was little to no sunshine that day, we provided it!!!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cinderella Dressed in Yellow

  1. I love the yellow theme! Micah did a great job with the photos. Arulai looks adorable, as usual.

  2. maryhurlbut says:

    What a delightful family tradition. My mother also made sure we dressed up for church as a way to honor God.Now I go to a very casual beach church, but I feel comfortable with both ways of dressing. I think your family looks wonderful

  3. Lovely pictures!
    It’s a good feeling to have family here that thinks the same way as my family back home. Every Easter when I was little my Grandma would take us out shopping for our new Easter/Spring outfits that always included a new pair of white gloves! When we got older we started a new tradition in which my mom would make us girls new skirts and we would buy new blouses. The boys alway just wore coordinating colors. It’s so much more fun being a girl!!!
    This year I was not able to have a new skirt but Michael bought me a new lovely white blouse to go with my Easter skirt from last year!

  4. i will admit to enjoying our yellow—even though this is almost the FIRST time i’ve ever worn it. 🙂
    i get to pick next year. P

  5. ligsar says:

    I usually buy something new for Easter too, and I was talking to other ladies at church about it- it’s just something we do– we need something new for Easter.  I wore a new purple shirt.     I believe that Easter is a special day because we celebrate where our faith comes from- the resurrection of our Savior.  If that isn’t something to get excited and dressed up for, I don’t know what is….    And…I have also grown up with the idea of looking your best on Sundays- we are going to God’s house!  I still do, even though many people there, and even the worship team will be very casual… I just don’t feel okay in jeans and a sweatshirt at church!
    I love that Roo is clapping in that picture… and now I know why Emily’s hair looked different in these pictures than what you posted from Easter Sunday. 

  6. Abbiegirl says:

    I LOVE the one’s of my Rubydoo.
    She’s so darling. I miss her. How are you Pettys? Miss you!
    Abigail

  7. ALDOG1 says:

    Beautiful pictures of beautiful people.  Ask Dan where all my pictures are of my boys.  Thanks for the ones you posted in the meantime.
    Love you,
    B

  8. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Dan had issues with sizing them.  Can you take them full size or can you tell us how to resize them to fit your specifications?
    I’ve missed you – where have you been?  I thought you were going to be back from the river on Monday!
    Love you!

  9. ALDOG1 says:

    @pettybunch – What program does she use for her editing?  I guess she can send them full size.  In ACDSee I just highlight all the pictures I want to resize, then right click on any one of them.  I choose “resize” from the list of options and when the wizard opens i fill in the number of pixels I want the longest side to be and I put that number in both squares.  That covers both horizontal and vertical pictures.  I make sure the box to keep aspect is checked.  That’s about it.  If necessary just send them to me in your size.  Just divide them into more than one email.  Thanks so much.  We did not want to leave the river so came home Tuesday.  Everyone had such a wonderful time.  Weather was gorgeous.  I got a new baby.  Sent you invitation to view pictures.
    B

Leave a Reply

