Another Family Day…

Family Day is not all that goes on in my life, but it is a goodly portion!  One of these days I won’t be at work half of the day, and will get to be there a little longer.  But right now, work is a must.  Gen comes to pick up Dannye Reigh and her Charges around 9:30 Tuesday morning, arriving at Dad and Mom’s around 10.  I don’t get there until at least 1, usually just in time for lunch!  It seems like that would be great timing, but I feel like I miss out on a lot.  Even lunch preparation is fun when we’re all together!

 

Family Day April 15 0781.jpg

Me, ready for work.  It was a good hair day, so I told Dannye she should get a photo before it frizzed up!

Family Day April 15 121.jpg

^ Carly worked hard on the horse lot while Missy finished up school ^

Family Day April 15 128.jpg

^ Carly and Missy have a collection, and love playing with their horses ^

Family Day April 15 003.jpg

^ She worked and worked ^

Family Day April 15 076.jpg

^ Then Ruge joined her ^

Family Day April 15 072.jpg

^ Cool photo ^

Family Day April 15 092.jpg

^ Pretty Boy ^

Family Day April 15 071.jpg

^ I don’t know…seems like a sad end for some of those horses! ^

Family Day April 15 049.jpg

^ Parky Poo ^

Family Day April 15 039.jpg

^ I’m not sure about letting him have a hammer… ^

Family Day April 15 015.jpg

^ Headed for trouble, I’m sure! ^

Family Day April 15 093.jpg

^ Beautiful Couple! ^

Family Day April 15 113.jpg

^ Fun times ^

Family Day April 15 098.jpg

^ Our lovely guest, Sarah ^

Family Day April 15 046.jpg

^ Yard work was the order of the day – Gen is our Master Gardener ^

Family Day April 15 147.jpg

^ Lunch Time! ^

Family Day April 15 211.jpg

^ …consisting of fried turkey, sweet potatoes, green beans, and yummy rolls ^

Family Day April 15 178.jpg

^ Sarah said she must be family now – Granddad gave her a hug yesterday.  ^

The most hysterical thing happened while we were eating!  Ruly was down for her nap when lunch was served.  She sleeps on a pallet on Mamaw’s bedroom floor with the door pulled to.  Well, Gen went to get something out of the house,

Family Day April 15 184.jpg

^ …and Arulai was crawling through the living room looking for us! ^

 Family Day April 15 199.jpg

^ I think she smelled lunch!  That baby does love to eat! ^

Family Day April 15 023.jpg

^ But I think she loves to ride better! ^

Family Day April 15 018.jpg  

^ Our own Motorcycle Mama! ^

I know our Family Days sound rather dull to many, but we really love them.  We thought we might have to change things around, thinking Dad and Mom were becoming overwhelmed with all the company; but they vigorously objected to canceling Family Day.  Sometimes it can be a little much even to the younger folks, but none of us want to stop the tradition.  I met Emily for the first time at a Family Day.  Talk about being overwhelmed!!!!  You ought to ask her about it sometime! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In other news, we have puppies and kittens again!  We are determined that this will be the last time.  The good news is that the “Daddy” dog across the street is no longer seeking female companionship, if you get my drift.  We are also having to find a new home for the mama dog – she bit our neighbor when he went into Bill’s barn (in her defense, her puppies are in there and she is quite protective).  But Bill won’t have an aggressive dog, whatever excuse she has.  So if you would like an adorable puppy, I know where you can get one…or two!

In the kitten category, Dannye had both female cats on the schedule for spaying, but the vet just went up to approximately $175 each!!!!!  Can you even imagine????  So both had a litter of four, then a wild kitty “misplaced” hers and Pearly, our gray mama cat, adopted all three of them.  So she is nursing seven kittens.  Can you add that up??  We have 11 (eleven) kittens right now!  Thank goodness kittens are easily given away.  And at least they are all outside!  Again, if you want a kitten, you know who to call!  We have tortoise shell, gray, & tabby – and they are all adorable.  I promise!

I better go.  Bill will be coming in for the night in just a bit. 

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Another Family Day…

  1. maryhurlbut says:

    Family day sounds too wonderful…especially when it’s outdoors aroud a picnic table.It reminds me of the Sundays of my youth…when stores were all closed, and after going to church the rest fo the day was spent with family. As a nation, we have lost something very dear.

  2. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – I remember those Sundays, too.  We have indeed lost something dear!

  3. Love the first photo! You’re so beautiful. To be a grandmother you have aged so gracefully!
    May I ask what kind of work you do? I saw where you mentioned you usually arrive halfway through family day. Hope you have had a blessed day and you have a wonderful tomorrow.

  4. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – I am the secretary for a fire investigator.  I just love it!  I answer the phone, transcribe his reports from a recorder, do internet research, even make coffee for him!  We can be either really busy or really bored, but it is a great job with LOTS of flexibility.  I am indeed blessed.

  5. ALDOG1 says:

    I thought of you all yesterday.  We are gearing up for the river.  First we are going to Motts Friday and spend the night, then on to Fay’s on Sat. where Scooter will leave me for the “slumber party” and he and Lola will come on home.  I am going to miss my baby girl so much.  I told him if he manages to lose my baby girl while I am gone, he is Toast!  ha  We went to the grocery store yesterday and left her home sleeping in her crate.  We were both so anxious to get home and make sure she was okay. ha  I will not have any nasty boy dogs snooping around my baby!  As soon as she is old enough she will have her “surgery”.  Motts new pup, Cookie, has already had her first heat and she won’t be a year old until July!!!  You all take care!  Gotta get my pup in her crate and head for the bed.  Love you,  B

  6. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I DON’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT LOLA!!!!!  WHO IS SHE!!!!????!!!!

  7. Anonymous says:

    What a perfectly lovely day!  Love the pictures of playing with horses outside.

  8. pettybunch says:

    @Marmee_Ann – It was indeed a lovely day.  I tell you, those girls love their horses!  Missy, my niece, has real horses, so when they get through riding the real horses, they play with the plastic ones!  They have such fun together.

  9. ALDOG1 says:

    You know who all those horses remind me of, don’t you?  That’s right, Tonja!  I remember when she was young enough to play with hers the same way.  Boy, was that a long time ago!!! 

  10. scottrobert says:

    what a wonderful day!!

  11. xangpastor says:

    Warmest Christian Greetings…I saw you had visited my site and just wanted to say thank you and let you know you are always welcome. May the Lord bless you and give you great joy in the journey ahead!In the Masters Service… and yours,PhilPS. Great family pics!

  12. pettybunch says:

    @xangpastor – Thank you for the welcome.  I didn’t have a lot of time to “peruse” your site, but hope to in the future.  God bless!

  13. xangpastor says:

    RYC.. that’s understandable.. just drop by anytime at all. You are always welcome!Phil

  14. Abbiegirl says:

    That looks like so much fun!
    I miss you guys! I’m glad your  having fun wih Sarah:) Enjoy your weekend!
    Love you!
    Abigail

Leave a Reply

