Loss of Wisdom

Right now, Darvoset is my friend!  Today I had all four of my wisdom teeth pulled.  Not tomorrow, which is when I thought my appointment was.  But today – all by myself at the Dentist. 

I had a couple of scary issues, but they were minor compared to the MRI thing.  At first, when the numbing was done, I had a hard time swallowing.  They kept assuring me that I didn’t need to swallow, they would keep my mouth dry.  But I don’t know – sometimes ya just need to swallow!  I felt a little like I was drowning – but I didn’t, and all is well.

Both teeth on my right side came out with little to no problems.  The top left felt like the root was grown into my sinuses!  Gross, I know.  The bottom left was the only one not completely in, so it took a bit of creativity to get it out.  I have a stitch in that one, and now that I have feeling back in my mouth, it feels like I have a popcorn hull stuck in my gum!

The Lord is so faithful, though.  There was a very sweet dental assistant, Cindy, who really ministered to me!  She reminded me where fear comes from, and she said it isn’t from God!  She was so precious.  She’s not the regular assistant, so I think the Lord had her there just for me.  His grace is ever sufficient!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Work on the cabin is moving onward.  There are photos, but I was thinking my daughter in law will probably want to show the photos from the weekend work (and play!).  Rachel and Sean were wonderful guests!  They worked hard and, probably without knowing it, encouraged me simply by their graciousness!  Sean loved our puppies, and every time he could he went to check on them or pick them up and pet them!  And Rachel kept thanking me for our hospitality, while she was the one who came all the way down here to work on our kids’ home!!  The Lord knows when “a word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver!”  Rachel definitely fulfilled that proverb for me!

One of the greatest accomplishments of the workday was the beautiful staircase.  It is not finished, but it is already so beautiful!!!!  The crew cut, planed, sanded, and polyurathaned the boards into these gorgeous steps!  Dan took pics, but they are on the other computer.  Bill is the Master Welder that made the stringers, but Em said the guys couldn’t touch the paintbrushes anymore!!  Just a little more poly and they’ll have STAIRS!!

*******************************edit*****************************

This is a photo taken from upstairs (obviously).  Bill and Nathanael are talking about details while we are all admiring the handiwork of everyone involved.  This is not the finished product.  You may not be able to tell, but only the bottom 5 steps have any poly on them at all, and they still needed more coats.  This was just to give us an idea of what it will look like – and it will indeed be beautiful!  Perhaps this isn’t the best angle or location, but I chose it because it makes the room below look bigger than the others did.  It will be a nice, large room, but somehow the other photos made it look quite small.

2008-04-19, Working on the Cabin 106 (1504 x 1000).jpg

In this photo below, Arulai is having her first climb on the steps.  She had a blast, and I’m sure they will have fun trying to keep her off those steps!

2008-04-19, Working on the Cabin 111 (1504 x 1000).jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was finally able to plant a small garden!  My dear, sweet husband helped get the ground prepared and I planted some tomatoes and bell peppers.  Dan went to the Walmart for some retail therapy, and came home with some cucumber plants.  So Bill and Emily can get their cuke fix, hopefully in a very few weeks!  Gen helped me with the remainder of the planting, so it’s all done except God’s part!  I just love fresh tomatoes!!

I’d better get off here.  My “friend”, Darvoset is making me groggy!  Please pray for a quick recovery and not too much pain.  I can be quite a baby, and I don’t want to put my family through that!!

God bless your day!!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Loss of Wisdom

  1. maryhurlbut says:

    Ouch, please allow yourself a lot of sleep and rest, it’s the best thing to let your body heal.My daughter went through the same thing, and she slept most of the day and was feeling much better in 24hours.
    The stairs sound good, definitely need to see pictures

  2. Agh! Sorry you had to go through all that! My husband had all of his cut out when he was a teenager. I hope you feel better soon.
    BTW, the title of the blog got me a little ticked. I was expecting a post about Proverbs or something of that nature. I’m sure the dental procedure had minimal impact on your level of wisdom. 🙂
    God bless!

  3. I feel for you Aunt Nina!!! Getting wisdom teeth out is NOT fun! Ice and rest was my best friend!

  4. KatieWatt says:

    Feel better soon Mrs. Nina! I’ll be praying for you! 🙂

  5. you’ve been really good though—SO not a baby. 🙂 good job. i was a little scared. :Dme turn next….joy to the world… i’m a way bigger baby than you are. 🙂

  6. Crazy4Photos says:

    Oooo, so scary! I’m so glad that I don’t have any wisdom teeth… I don’t think I would have been as brave as you! Really! I do hope you’re feeling better soon… enjoy all that ice cream and soups!BTW, your grandbaby is the cutest thing EVER!:)

  7. TerrisCorner says:

    Wow, didn’t know my favorite friend was having this done. Guess I’m not keeping in touch enough :o(  Hope you feel better very soon!!  Love ya Terri

  8. pettybunch says:

    @TerrisCorner – If I’d had time to think about this much, I wouldn’t have had it done!  But now that it’s over, I don’t know what I was so afraid of .  It wasn’t bad at all.

  9. maryhurlbut says:

    that is such a cute picture of Arulai! The stairs look nice too

  10. auntkarl says:

    All I can say is OUCHY

  11. ALDOG1 says:

    The extration info was a surprise.  Did not know this was planned.  Knowing my little sis as I do, I am so proud of you for going by yourself and dealing with it!!  Hoorah!  You done good!  We got home from Alvarado this afternoon.  Scooter drove up yesterday to bring me home.  For five days my girl friends and I sat on the deck, watching the lake, the humming birds and the ducks, drinking lots of coffee, a little wine, eating, oh, the eating!  We sometimes wore our pajamas all day long.  it was grand.  I’m sure you are feeling so much better today, but take it easy while you have an excuse. ha  I love you!

  12. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Oh, how I missed you while you were gone!!  I knew you were in Alvarado, but forgot it was to be for so long.  I am feeling better – have actually had a REALLY easy time, but the one area that had to have a stitch is hurting quite a bit.  But everything is good, and I’m glad you are back at your computer!!!  Love you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

