A little bit of life…

I always think I’m going to get on a roll and post regularly, then life happens and a week and a half has passed!

I told you about our puppies, and Dannye took some photos of them the other day.  They are so adorable, but the time has come for them to find another home.  I hate this part:  de-flea them, take them somewhere to try to give them away, have people ooh and aah over them, then bring them ALL back home!!!  Then back to do it again!  We don’t have time for this, but we don’t have $$ to feed 15 dogs, not to mention all the cats, a horse, and 3 chickens!

Parker loves to go in and play with the puppies.  He has to be watched, because right now he can hurt them.  But it won’t be long before they will be big enough that he will have to watch out!!

Puppies 049.jpg

Puppies 051.jpg

Puppies 087.jpg

Puppies 222.jpg

They are wondering why he has taken over their home!!

Puppies 091.jpg

Puppies 118.jpg

Nathanael wants to keep a male pup, especially since we are having to find a new home for the mama of the pups (Nolie).  Then we won’t have to worry about her having more pups and yet have the big outside dogs for protection.  He likes one of these two tan pups.  I can never remember which one!

Puppies 133.jpg

Puppies 148.jpg

Puppies 199.jpg

Puppies 208.jpg

Puppies 198.jpg

Puppies 197.jpg

Puppies 196.jpg

Puppies 159.jpg

This adorable guy is trying to get Cocoa’s attention.

Puppies 277.jpg

Puppies 272.jpg

 

New lens test 0731 (1000 x 1504).jpg

Cocoa is my big dog, but her heart belongs to Ruly.  She was a dumped puppy I found – so pretty, with tail clipped and everything.  I don’t know why anyone would go to that much trouble to dock the tail, then dump the pup on a country road out in the middle of nowhere!  She is extremely smart, and if I can remain smarter than she is, I’d really like to train her.  She already sits on command, and naturally walks in “heel” position.  She is one of the only dogs we’ve ever owned that also comes to us when we say “Come!”  I’d like her to know all the doggy manners, but also some guard dog training.  I don’t know if I can do it, nor if she can be a pet and protective as well.  But I’m going to try.  She’s just now around a year old.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last Tuesday at Mama’s, she had a visitor at her hummingbird feeder.  We don’t normally have Baltimore Orioles in our area, but here he was!  I was so excited!

Puppies 003.jpg

Puppies 006.jpg

They had another visitor to the front feeder – Cheyenne came to visit up at the house.  Evidently she likes sunflower seeds!

Puppies 031.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The latest event in our lives was Nathanael’s 25th birthday.  Emily gave him a wonderful party on Saturday, with softball, volleyball, a little basketball, and lots of Barbecue!!!!  It was a beautiful and wonderful day!

Nate's birthday party 144.jpg

God is so good to us!

May He bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A little bit of life…

  1. KatieWatt says:

    Aw! Love the puppy pictures! Wish I could take one off your hands 🙂

  2. pettybunch says:

    @KatieWatt – I wish you could, too!  Just build a fence! 

  3. As always, loved the photos. It looks like ya’ll had a good time at the birthday party!Hope you have a great Monday!

  4. ALDOG1 says:

    Hoorah!  My sister posted.  I live for these days.  Especially now that we are over here.  The pups are so cute but I would kill myself if I had 15 of them!  I hope you plan to get the boy dog you keep neutered.  That way someone else’s female won’t be having more pups, too.  Also, dogs can be great pets, plus trained to be good watch dogs.  After all, you are trying to train a junk yard dog. ha  Yesterday, Lola tried to guard me!  She suddenly heard a noise outside and jumped out from under my chair, where she had been napping and began barking and growling like a big dog!  Scooter came up to the screen door and pressed his face against it and she went nuts barking. ha  We laughed like crazy.  He had to back up and talk to her to convince her it was really him. ha  She is a hoot!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Just so you know, the dog being kept will be Nathanael’s, not mine, so neutering will be up to him.  I’m considering having Cocoa spayed, but I HATE what spaying does to dogs, so I’m really having to think on that decision.  But, Bill is building a great fence for our property, so hopefully it will keep any problems in our own yard!! I’m going to try to get on here more often and post about life in general, so look for me!

  6. cnsavanna says:

    Mrs. Petty, I grew up on Walker Texas Ranger! I LOVE that show! All of those jokes thoroughly crack us up and that is completely awesome that you get to pass his ranch!!! I wanna drive passed some time….*sigh* that’d be awesome!

  7. AuntGen says:

    Puppies, puppies everywhere, and not a ………., well, I don’t quite know how to finish that one, but you get the drift.  I love the tan ones, too but am sorry to see Nolie go.  I am not all about your fowlicidal Cocoa right now, but my ill feelings will wane after a while- until she kills again.  I had the same problem with my feelings for Lady and the Bad Dog because I felt so unable to control the situation.  Not unconditional, I know, but honest.  Coke does seem to be super smart and eager to please.  I love that in a dog.  Oh, and FUN times at the BBQ!  It looks like Bub must have gotten at least one really good card!  I only wish I could have stayed to (attempt to) play softball.  Love you, and get better (Aunt Bea, call the man!)  Gen

  8. maryhurlbut says:

    OK, good thing we don’t live near by! My daughter loves dogs and she’d want one of yours I enjoyed everyone of your pictures…so much life and goodness

  9. ALDOG1 says:

    I hope you know what I was attempting to write was that you were NOT trying to raise a junk yard dog!  I have begun to be more and more guilty of accidently omitting important words!  That’s a good way to really get in trouble sometimes. ha  Love you, Sis.  I sure hope you and Bill get to take a drive over here this summer. 

  10. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I wondered what you meant about raising a junkyard dog!  I thought you were somehow refering to the present condition of our yard!! Unless I just completely don’t get my way, we will see you on or near the weekend of June 21.  We have a wedding in San Antonio on that Saturday and I will not be that close to you without coming for at least a day!!!

  11. Cute, cute puppies! You shouldn’t have any trouble getting rid of them…if only you can find people who don’t already have one or two or three…good luck! : )Tell Dannye that I would be happy to go with her (to give the pups alway) if I’m available!

  12. suezzzque says:

    Cute puppies. Had to laugh at the one of the horse eating the birdseed!

  13. ALDOG1 says:

    I am so excited that you might get to come over!  Just let me know for sure when time gets closer.  By the way, those of us who live in the midst of a junk yard can not throw the first piece of junk. ha  This long term screened porch project, like all projects at our house, has turned our back yard into a bigger mess than usual.  Plus Scooter’s old shed was cleaned out recently so there are piles of junk still waiting to get thrown away somewhere, somehow.  So frustrating sometimes.  My solution, move to the river. ha ha

  14. Abbiegirl says:

    Hello Mrs. Petty,I thank you for your comment on my entry. I’m getting a lot done today. I’ve already gotten more thfive pages done today. So it’s going well. I offitally graduate this Saterday at  1:00 p.m. Senator Michelle Bochman is speeking at my graduation. I’m so very excited! I’ve looked up to her, she is very consirtive, and pro-life. I can’t wait to meet her! I hope you are doing well. I miss you guys like crazy! Do you guys think you will come vivit us this summer? that would be so awesome! I love you all!Abigailsoon to be Graduate of 2008

  15. scottrobert says:

    Those puppies are too cute! I hope they find good homes! I know what you mean when you say you mean to post more but life just takes over!

  16. auntkarl says:

    nbo one told me about the party…. Sorry Emily.I don’t get on here enough to keep up… Someone could have called me instead of depending on the message getting home to me.. It’s not happenin’

  17. pettybunch says:

    @auntkarl – I still haven’t got it in my head that you aren’t working on Saturday!   We were just thinking you were all working!  Sorry for the mix-up. 

Leave a Reply

