My Wonderful Mother’s Day

I have hesitated to write about my Mother’s Day, because I read several blogs about how sad/bad others’ days were.  I had a wonderful Mother’s Day, and I am so grateful for my family, my church, and my Lord – I feel I must share my day!

Mother’s Day began much like any Sunday – early!  I was so tired since Dannye, Emily, Arulai, and I went out Saturday night shopping.  Dan treated me to supper, and had earlier made me the most gorgeous corsage to wear to church! 

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 171.jpg

This is a tradition in our family – when I was a little girl, the entire family wore corsages/boutineres on Mother’s Day.  The tradition was that if your mother was deceased, you wore white flowers.  If she was still living, you wore red or pink flowers.  We most always wore carnations, but Dannye made my corsage out of roses this year.  She also made one for my Mom, Gen, Aunt K, and Emily.  They were so lovely!

Well, anyway, I got up early to get ready for Sunday School, and as I was leaving the bathroom from my shower, Bill told me I got a text message.  On my phone was a picture of one of the teacup planters I had longed for (like the ones I bought for our moms that we took Ruly’s photos in).  When I went to Walmart to buy myself one, they were all GONE!!!  So seeing this one on my phone, I was thinking, “Who got one of those planters that I DON’T GET!?!”  There was no text with the photo, so Bill told me to just go get dressed. 

Dan's Camera Mom's Teacup 142.jpg

I walked into the bedroom, and there on my bed is that planter filled with gardenia blossoms and a card from my sweet husband!!!  I couldn’t figure out how he was able to get the planter when Walmart was out of them!  But he had gone in early one day for work and bought me one!  I was so blessed, so excited to get one, I just started crying!  Dan says from the other room “Mom, we don’t have time for that!”  She was right, so I got a grip and got ready for church.

Church was another blessing!  Several groups of siblings gave affirmations to their mothers, which was so sweet.  Tara and Kelly sang “You Were There” by Ron and Shelley Hamilton.  It is about the Mother who is there for her children, and my favorite line was “You were there to tell me of Jesus, before I understood…”  It reminded me of my own Mama, who spent our lives telling us of Jesus – even before we could understand!  Again, the tears flowed, but they were definitely tears of blessing!

Pastor preached from Proverbs 31, but took a little different tack. Rather than encouraging us to be more like the Proverbs 31 woman, he used verse 28, “Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her.”  He then went to 3 John 1:4, “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.”  He told the children that a close walk with the Lord is how we rise up and bless our Mothers (and Dads)!  The Lord just poured this truth into my heart – I AM BLESSED, BECAUSE ALL 3 OF MY CHILDREN WALK WITH GOD!!!  I feel blessed anyway, just to know these three children of mine.  But I’m telling you, joy filled me up to overflowing for the remainder of the day!  Oh, my God is good!

We were to go to Bill’s folks’ house after lunch, so we planned to go to lunch with Nathanael (who had to work Sunday morning) and Emily, then all head out to Memaw’s.  Well, poor Emily locked her keys in her car!  She had never done that before; they weren’t in the ignition, but in her purse.  She had decided to just bring in the diaper bag, without thinking about the keys. 

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 083.jpg

It was hilarious to watch the men try to get that car open! 

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 085.jpg

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 089.jpg

But it did take about an hour, Bill and I just drove through Jack in the Box and went on to Memaw’s.  Dannye went with Nathanael and family to lunch, then joined us afterward. 

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 110.jpg

I realized that we only brought half of Memaw’s gift, which made me so sad; but she loved the photo of Arulai in the teacup. 

Arulai Jean May 8, 2008 003.jpg

We all wore aqua for church, and Nathanael bought Ruly a new dress.  She was adorable!

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 128a.jpg

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 129a.jpg

 

Memaw could not get over what a sweetie Arulai is.  She really wins everyone’s heart!

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 256cds.jpg

We also got to visit with Curtis and Brenda, and Mandy’s family. 

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 198.jpg

Mandy’s youngest, Emmalee

 Of course, Bill, Nathanael and Emily got a tour of the 40 Ford pickup project from Uncle Curtis.  He plans and fabricates just about anything!

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 101.jpg

Then I got a surprise phone call from my future son-in-law, Will, to wish me a Happy Mother’s Day.  We just had the best day!

My greatest ambition in life was to be a mother.  I never wanted a career, never cared if I was rich, famous, or anything else.  I just wanted to have babies, lots of them, and love them, teach them about Jesus, and raise them to love Him.  I even went to college for an Education Degree in case no one wanted to marry me! 

Mothers Day May 11, 2008 176.jpg

Then God sent Bill Petty into my life, and ALL my dreams came true!  I have a precious husband, three Godly children (four if I may presume to include Emily as mine!), and an amazing granddaughter!  In about a year, the Lord will add another Godly young man to our family.  My cup truly overflows with the blessings of God!

May God indeed bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Wonderful Mother’s Day

  1. What a sweet and inspiring blog!  You are truly a woman who is blessed by God!  It is indeed the greatest joy to know that our children are walking with the Lord!

  2. ligsar says:

    Good grief, I miss that little girl to pieces!  That picture kinda tugged on my heart….wow…You sure are blessed.  Thanks for sharing.  P.S.  If you can get a CD together, you can just send it with Em.    (Any extra pictures of the baby will be much appreciated!)

  3. chix0rgirl says:

    That’s precious. 🙂 You deserve your special day!!

  4. ALDOG1 says:

    Dear Sis,  If anyone ever deserved a wonderful Mother’s Day, it is you.  I am so happy your day was so special.  Crying for happy is such a good feeling.  I guess I am one of those mamas who had a sad day.  Not sad, just lonely.  I would have loved to have some grandbaby hugs.  I miss all my babies very much.  But!  I will get to see some of them in two weeks.  Mark and family will be coming over for Mem. Day weekend and Jacey will be with them.  Again, I am so happy you had such a beautiful day.  That is because you have such a beautiful family!

  5. What a wonderful Mother’s Day!

  6. ALDOG1 says:

    I forgot to mention how much I love the picture of Ruly holding up her dress.  I think everyone who ever had a little girl has a picture like that.  I want to kiss that fat belly!  And I am so happy you got the tea cup pot!  I looked for one here in NB but they sold out on Mother’s Day also.  They said they carry them regularly so I am going to keep looking.  I want one! 

  7. Aw, poor Emily, that had to be so frustrating (locking the keys in the car). It’s ETREMELY aggravating when that happens.I love the pics. Arulai’s dress is so adorable.

Leave a Reply

