“Stop rolling your eyes at me!”

Urban Dictionary:  Rolling eyes:  Condescension, contempt, boredom, or exasperation.

 

Parenting expert Jan Faull, MEd:  “Eye rolling expresses disrespect. There you are making a reasonable request and your child responds with an eye roll as if to say, “You are so annoying.” It’s close to expressing contempt for what you’ve said, if not for you personally.” 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

I am amazed at the widespread disrespect shown by so many Christians!  I have begun to notice how many adults show this disrespect by the rolling of their eyes.  I think anyone reading this knows what I am talking about.  Someone does something we think is stupid, ignorant, or just not up to our own standard of conduct, and we show our contempt by the rolling of our eyes.  Sometimes it is discreetly – to another person nearby, just to let them know we aren’t as dumb as the person speaking.  Sometimes it is directed right at the target of our contempt, just to be sure they know their place! 

At first, the act didn’t impress me much, but more recently I began to see how un-Christ like this behavior is.  Just who do we think we are? 

So I looked up verses from Scripture on respect, just to see what the Lord has to say about it:

 

Romans 12:10

     Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor;

Philippians 2:3

       Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind regard one another as more important than yourselves;

1 Peter 2:17

       Honor all people, love the brotherhood, fear God, honor the king.

Job 31:13-15

      Did not He who made me in the womb make them?
      Did not the same One fashion us in the womb?

 

I just kinda doubt that Jesus rolls his eyes at me when I’m stupid, ignorant, gauche, or obnoxious – even though he has every right to, if that right comes from actually being more important than any person!  But we don’t have that right.  The ground is level at the foot of the cross – there is no one better than another!

 

Just something to think about……

 

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “Stop rolling your eyes at me!”

  1. Thank you Aunt Nina!I think we all needed that. At least I know I did.

  2. Wow! Never have I been so grateful for an utterly scathing post.Thank you for pointing that out. I know I myself have been guilty of this. And never have I considered how utterly immature it is. Thank you, for stepping on my toes and making me think.God bless your day!I just want to tell you that you are one of the most positive influences I’ve found here on xanga. I’m grateful that I have come in contact with you. Even though I don’t know you in person and to some it would seem shallow to say this, but you seem to have such a sweet spirit and I can’t wait to meet you and your family in Heaven someday! Love ya.

  3. KatieWatt says:

    This goes hand in hand with what God’s teaching me right now regarding some people I’m having a hard time respecting. Thanks Mrs. Nina! 🙂

  4. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – You are so sweet.  Thank you.  I want to say how much I have enjoyed getting to know you via Xanga, too.  I’m kinda hoping we don’t have to wait until Heaven to meet!

  5. ALDOG1 says:

    Hi, Sis, you know me;  I’m wondering who has been eye rolling. ha  My granddaughters are great at it, especially when I am talking to them about the difference in customs of today and “back in the stone age” when i was a teenager. ha  They accompany it with “Oh, Grammy!”.  But teen eye rolling is different from what you described.  At least it is to me.  I wish the Princess of September could meet you in person.  She would find that she knows exactly the kind of person you are.  She described you so well, “sweet of spirit”.  That’s you!  I am so glad you are my sister.

  6. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Thanks, B.  I am so glad you are my sister, too!  BTW, Dad was some better today.  He really didn’t think he was, but we could tell he was more comfortable.  Still in a lot of pain, but he was able to sleep today, and even ate a little.

  7. @pettybunch – Aw, that would be fabulous to meet here on Earth one day. One of these days my husband and I shall have to make a trip out that direction. Truly, it’s only I think about fourish hours between our little plots of land in Texas.

  8. ALDOG1 says:

    I am so glad Dad feels even a little better.  I know how much he is suffering.  Poor Mom always suffered so bad.  She got it in her hair, ears, all over.  Just awful!  Continue to remind sweet Daddy how much I love him and let me know when he is feeling up to a pnone call.  I don’t want him to have to put on a brave front.  You know how he is.

  9. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – He asks nearly everyday if I’ve talked to you, and I told him you were waiting for him to feel well enough to talk on the phone.  He appreciates it, and admits he can’t talk on the phone right now.How’s Martha?  I never hear from her – rarely even pictures of the grandkids anymore!

  10. i’ve started doing it without even realizing it—-gawsh.

  11. Anonymous says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Probably a bad influence from your Mom-in-law!!!

  12. ALDOG1 says:

    Meant to tell you, Motts and Bob have been gone to CA for just over two weeks visiting Ruth.  They finally got home Wednesday, I think.  I sent her the info about Dad.  She took her laptop to the library a couple of times while they were out there to check her email, etc.  and we would usually Yahoo chat while she was there. 

  13. wondering04 says:

    Saw your comment on Bumblypick’s site and came exploring. You are right about disrespect, and my children will be reprimanded for such eye rolling – that and coupled with a bored “whatever” is like chalk squeeking on a blackboard to me.Heather

  14. wondering04 says:

    Sorry, it was beyondsight not bumblypick.Heather

  15. hypertwin2 says:

    Thank you for your encouraging comment! I don’t want to be anywhere but it the center of God’s will. Your daughter has an exciting journey ahead. Blessings to her! In regards to your post, I couldn’t have said it better. It is so easy to forget that we are all here by the mercy and grace of God. There isn’t one person that is better than another. The only thing that makes us different is that we are forgiven – yet we don’t always act forgiven.

  16. pettybunch says:

    @hypertwin2 – Thank you for your comment, as well.  I love meeting new folks on xanga!  God bless your day!

Leave a Reply

