Our Anniversary Trip

We spent our honeymoon in San Antonio (27 years ago, May 30, 1981), so since we had photography business there this weekend, we decided to make an anniversary trip out of it. 

I’m not sure I have words yet to describe our weekend.  We had such a wonderful time – mostly just because we were together.  Everything did not run perfectly smooth, but none of the bumps in the road mattered.  Bill and I so needed this bit of respite, and I am so thankful to Bill and to the Lord that we had this opportunity.

We left Saturday morning and decided we would drive to San Antonio via New Braunfels to see my sister and her hubby.  We knew there was a chance that they would be busy, it being Memorial Weekend at the river, but we wanted to surprise them, and weren’t planning to stay long anyway.  So, sure enough, B and Scooter had family and friends there, along with the THOUSANDS of campers that came for the holiday.  They were ready to go on a float themselves, but we got in some hugs and a small visit while they packed up.  It was so good to see Bettye, and I got to see other family, too. 

After our short visit, we went on to San Antonio.  Our hotel was on the Houston side of San Antonio, but travel time to the River Walk and other things we wanted to see was really nominal.  Our room was very nice, although it had a couple of issues.  The hotel was only months old, so everything was nice and new.  But there was no closet/hanging space for our hang-up clothes.  That was kinda odd…  Then the bathroom was handicap accessible (which I didn’t ask for, but was nice and big!) but the shower water flowed all the way across the floor because there was no ledge and the shower head was positioned so that it sprayed right onto the curtain (which ended about a foot above the floor), or floor under the curtain.  There was no drain on the floor outside the shower – only the regular drain in the shower.  We think the shower head should have been one of those hand-held ones to be used as the handicapped person sits on the seat inside the shower.  We had to build a dam out of towels (housekeeping probably really loved that!) so we could keep the water from going out of the bathroom.  I told Bill that blow drying my hair was out of the question unless we could contain that water!  Seriously, water was a couple of inches deep!  Crazy….

Saturday evening we took a drive into San Antonio to tour the River Walk.  How it has changed in 27 years!  I remember loving it back then, but I also remember how it stank, and how dirty the water was!  While the water isn’t pretty now, it is nowhere near as nasty as it used to be, nor did it smell bad.  I’m also pretty sure that the River Walk wasn’t near as built up (shops, hotels, restaurants, shows) as it is now.  It had all those things, just not near as many as today.  As a matter of fact, the River Walk was going through a rehabilitation project when Bill and I were there in 1981, and it didn’t go all the way around. 

Well, anyway, we had a blast (once we drove around it 20 times trying to find a place to park). 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 022.jpg

Above is a random piece of art that really helps you keep your bearings!  Below, Casa Rio is so picturesque behind me, who is not picturesque, except to Bill. 😉  I wish I had more pictures of him, but you know who holds the camera! 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 018.jpg

 We ate dinner at Cafe’ Ole, on the balcony beside the river.  There was quite a wait at all of the restaurants, but Casa Rio, the oldest restaurant on the River Walk, was packed, and had an hour and a half wait.  I really wanted to eat there, but by 9 pm I was hungry enough that it didn’t matter anymore where we ate!!  And Cafe’ Ole was good, and we had a very nice waiter, so it worked out fine.

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 068.jpg

Above is Casa Rio again, a huge restaurant, jam-packed!  Below, I am waiting for our name to be called at Cafe’ Ole.  This tree was humongous, good for leaning on!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 041.jpg

After dinner, we headed for the truck, but had no idea where we’d left it!  We walked around for probably an hour or more looking for it.  I felt pretty good about the walk since I’d eaten over my Points allowance at dinner!  I also really enjoyed walking and talking with Bill – how often does that happen?  He never got upset, nor was I afraid – we just kept reconstructing our evening in our minds until we found our parking garage.  It could have been frustrating, but it ended up just being a nice time together.

When we got back to the hotel, there were NO parking places in the entire lot.  And this particular hotel isn’t beside a restaurant where there could be overflow parking – no, it is inside a fence with limited spaces.  Bill didn’t want to try parking in the fire zone – we sure didn’t need a tow bill!  So he found a grassy spot, found it to be dry, firm ground, so he parked us there.  We had church the next morning, which was dual purpose.  The wedding we are doing in June is for a dear friend, and his future father-in-law is the pastor of the oldest Lutheran church in Texas, which is located in San Antonio.  Bill wanted to see the church so he could plan for lighting, etc., so since we wanted to attend church anyway, we planned to go to St. John’s.  We were also meeting my dear friend, Lori (mother of the groom), and her mom there.  Bill got ready and went to pull the truck up while I got ready.  My phone began ringing, and it was Bill – telling me he was STUCK in that grassy spot.  Unbeknownst to us, there was a sprinkler system under our truck!  Well, we missed church, and Bill had to shower and change again, but we got to the church in time to meet folks coming out and take photos of it.

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 090.jpg

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 093.jpg

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 096.jpg

If you can read this, it explains the nickname “The Rooster Church”

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 106.jpg

It has some of the prettiest stained glass I’ve ever seen.

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 113.jpg  

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 114.jpg

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 115.jpg

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 122.jpg

Inside those double gates is a beautiful courtyard – perfect for Bridal Portraits!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 137.jpg

Our Bride-to-be and her Daddy.  He was such a sweet man.

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 128.jpg

Above, I am sitting in the Arbor House courtyard.

We also toured the Reception site, La Villita, and the Rehearsal Dinner/accommodations site, The Arbor House.  It all looks like the perfect locations for each event.  We are so excited to have the opportunity to shoot this wedding!

I have so much more to write about, but I’m out of time today.  I’ll try to get back to it tomorrow or so. 

I pray that every married couple takes time to get away.  It is so important for the life of your marriage.  And it’s fun, too!

 

God bless your day!

  

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Our Anniversary Trip

  1. I’m so glad ya’ll had a wonderful trip!!! Enjoyed the pictures!

  2. Abbiegirl says:

    Great Pictures Mrs. Petty!Miss you, hope you can come up in July with Em and Nate!Abigail

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    I sure did hate that our timing was not better but so glad we got to spend some time visiting.  It was a landmark weekend here!  We have been working at this campground six years and camping here for several years prior and we have NEVER seen the camp as crowded as it was this weekend.  Scooter and Arlon (the owner) worked so hard all weekend.  I am so excited that you, Bill and the girls are coming for a real visit next month!  That is going to be great.  We are really looking forward to it.  I can’t wait to get the girls on a float with me, since you already said you are not getting in a tube. ha

  4. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I’m glad business-wise that y’all had a landmark weekend!!  I’m not sure I’ve ever seen so many folks in one place – Bill would say you “had ’em stacked in there like cord-wood!”We can’t wait ’til our weekend with you either!  If God would just heat that swimmin’ hole a little, I’d get in there for sure!  But as it is, I might have to watch from shore – if the girls aren’t too persuasive, that is!

  5. KatieWatt says:

    Looks like ya’ll had fun! And the church is beautiful! That will be a fun wedding to shoot! 🙂

  6. DubyaDC says:

    OH NO, MR. PETTY!  That is so horrible about the sprinkler system but…funny at the same time.  But I am sorry for it nonetheless.  Getting stuck in the mud was such a horrible ordeal when we lived out in the country.  Especially since my uncle’s  4-wheel drive truck couldn’t get it out.  It always took the tractor from our neighbor who owned the dairy farm across the street to pull us out.My friends and I may have tried to eat at that same restaurant!  It was during the GOP convention 2 years ago and Erin W., and some friends of hers were going out to eat for supper.  We were soo hungry and went to this restaurant but it had an hour wait or more and we were not going to sit around and wait.  We had been walking ALL OVER San Antonio all day and would be walking some more so we found another restaurant to eat at. 

  7. hypertwin2 says:

    Happy Anniversary! Looks like it was a fun trip.

Leave a Reply

