The Shower

Another aspect of our trip to San Antonio was attending Michelle’s shower.  After we’d toured the church, the reception site, and the rehearsal dinner location, we followed my friend Lori and her Mom out to Michelle’s folks’ home for a bridal shower.  I didn’t upload photos of their home, but it is absolutely gorgeous!  I also didn’t include every photo of the shower because Bill probably took about 100!  (There is a great one of Lori sticking her tongue out at Bill, but she might kill me if I publicized that!)

The shower theme was “The Theater”.  It was adorable.  The family has an amazing media room from which sound can be piped throughout the entire house.  It has a huge screen and projector, which would really make you feel as though you were indeed in a theater.  After the gift opening, they were planning to watch “Father of the Bride”.  Bill and I had to leave and didn’t get to watch with them.  It was probably a good thing since he cries every time he sees that movie!  I’m telling y’all, we’re going to have to bury him when Pamela and Will get married!

 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 155.jpg

All the cute stuff for the shower.  The popcorn boxes had a roll of Life Savers, a Hershey Bar, and a bag of microwave Popcorn, all wrapped in lovely bridal shower wrappers. 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 157.jpg

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 165.jpg

The Bride to Be, star of the show!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 180.jpg

I think it is the privilege of being The Sister – Marie has a mean streak!

  San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 181.jpg

This was Pinata time.

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 196.jpg

She turned Michelle around a turn for each gift she opened – 18 times! 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 207.jpg

Poor Michelle was so dizzy-drunk! 

I felt so sorry for her, but she was such a good sport and had a great time!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 224.jpg

She got it!  It actually took a lot longer than it looks here, but I didn’t want to bore you!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 225.jpg

The Loot!!!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 234.jpg

We had such a good time, and it just added lots of joy to our wonderful time away!!!

******************************************************************

After we left the shower, Bill and I went back to the hotel, changed rooms and clothes, then went back to the River Walk.  Bill was determined to ride the River boat, and wanted to be there early enough to have daylight for photos.  So we were able to enjoy the River Walk again!  It really is beautiful down there.  On Saturday evening, we missed so much just because of darkness, but Sunday afternoon was perfect.

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 273.jpg

We came across this little duck family – swimming amongst the boats!  They were so cute, and I knew Dannye would love to see a picture of them.  

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 278.jpg

We traded off taking pictures with a young couple on this bridge.  They were adorable, and folks were very gracious and patient waiting on us to get just the right shot!  I was longing for my denim skirt – I don’t know how you girls wear culottes/gauchos all day – they’re irritating & HOT!

Then we went on our boat ride, and Bill got photos of the beautiful architecture and scenery along the river.  I’m only including a few of his shots – you can see more at billseye.

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 286.jpg

I wish I could remember the names of all these hotels!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 291.jpg

These girls were a part of the show in the theater area of the River Walk, but were taking a break just then.  They were so cute.  I might have enjoyed seeing the show, but wasn’t sure what I’d have given up to see it.  We had such a good time just walking around together!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 313.jpg

Isn’t this gorgeous?

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 323.jpg

This building gives the illusion of being a flat wall – it’s really cool!

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 326.jpg

One of the restaurants/shops

On our way back to the truck, we came across this fellow playing his bagpipes.  Bill let me give him a tip and ask him to play “Amazing Grace”. 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 350.jpg

It’s one of the few songs I truly enjoy done on the bagpipes.  He played it beautifully. 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 358.jpg

We found our parking garage (didn’t take near as long this time!) and saw fireworks alongside this building. 

San Antonio Trip -  May 24, 2008 367.jpg

We drove out by Hemisfair Park – maybe next time we can go there!

I doubt I’ll ever be able to convey what a wonderful time we had on our mini vacation.  So often, after you’ve built up an activity in your mind for weeks, it doesn’t turn out near as wonderful as it was in your mind.  But this trip was one of those exceptions, and Bill and I were just so blessed by it.  I won’t say it revitalized our marriage – I don’t necessarily think our marriage needed that at this time.  But this trip certainly revitalized Bill and I personally, which can’t help but bless our marriage!  My heart is still full!

**************************************************************************

I have one more day’s worth of photos, but I’ll do them tomorrow.  Today I will go shopping with Gen for Mom and Daddy.  I’m hoping it will become a weekly event, this shopping for my parents with my bestest friend in the whole world – my baby Sis.  I’m also hoping that we will be able to visit with my parents on Thursdays after shopping.  I think it will encourage Gen, and I will have the blessing of being with Mom and Daddy another day of the week.  I have the opportunity occasionally to get over there more often, but it is sometimes a rare thing.  If I have it in my schedule, it will happen!  Nathanael and Emily call it “living with intentionality”.  I like that!  They got in late Tuesday night/early Wednesday morning.  We didn’t actually get to have a birthday party for Arulai, but we did give her our gifts yesterday afternoon, and she sure enjoyed them!  It is good to have them home – wish it didn’t have to hurt others for us to have this little pocket of joy in our home!

If I can figure it out, I want to upload the slideshow Dannye made Bill and I for our anniversary.  It is the sweetest thing!  I’ll have to ask Emily if it can be done!  She knows all things Xanga!  For now, I’d better go.

 

God Bless Your Day!

 

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Shower

  1. DubyaDC says:

    Mrs. Petty, I hate wearing skirts on hot days.  I sweat and my legs rub against each other and it is very painful.  And very irritating to have a slip clinging to me as well.   Not fun.  Ick.  Give me gaucho’s any day.  I wear skirts only when I have to.

  2. pettybunch says:

    Haleigh, I wear a split-skirt slip – light weight, not restrictive like the gauchos!  And they were soooooo hot!  Give me my lightweight cotton skirts any day!

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    I loved reading your posts, Sis.  Especially the last two.  They are just so full of love and happiness.  I am glad Bub and Em got home safely.  I know you were glad to see the Munchkin!  hard to believe she is now one year old!!  Love you bunches!Sister B

  4. *amping up the rebel* GIVE ME MY BLUE JEANS ANY DAY!!! MWAHAHAHAHAAAA!!!love the riverwalk, love bridal showers…love…..lots of things, i guess. 🙂 i now have to go live with intentionality and get little munchy up from her late nap. little growth-spurt girl.

Leave a Reply

