Busy Couple of Weeks

I began this post late Saturday night, but wasn’t able to finish it due to the late hour.  Then Sunday we received the tragic news that a young Louisiana woman, Christa Alexander, dear friend to many in our church family, was murdered by her husband of 4 months Saturday night.  I just couldn’t get back to my post right away.  There are many blogs and news articles about the murder, so I won’t include details here.  I will ask for prayer for her family, the Bakers, and for her inlaws, the Alexenders, and for the many friends who are grieving her loss right now.  It’s hard to go on with this post, but I really need to just do it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s been a long time since I posted, mainly because we’ve just been so busy!  So I’m going to post some pics of just the past week.

n613928009_550624_9723.jpg

On the weekend of June 21, Bill and Dannye photographed the wedding of a dear friend of ours.

(Dan wanted a disclaimer here:  these wedding pics were quickly processed on her laptop, therefore the color may not be right.)

n613928009_550619_8350.jpg

It was in San Antonio, and was so beautiful!  What a fun time we had.

After 2 nights in San Antonio, we went on to New Braunfels where my Sis, Bettye, and her hubby, Scooter live during the summer. 

dad's river trip 122.jpg

^This is looking up to their area – we pitched our tents beside their camper^

dad's river trip 083.jpg

The beautiful Guadalupe River 

dad's river trip 032.jpg

My goofy hubby – sucking in his gut for the photo!

dad's river trip 101.jpg

I loved the beautiful trees

dad's river trip 059.jpg

We looked hilarious – 4 laptops going at once!  But we did have a purpose; Pamela’s computer got infected with a horrible malware thing, and we were searching for a cure!

dad's river trip 070.jpg

Searching and searching…

(her computer was finally fixed after we got home by her “brother from another mother” Jesse!)

dad's river trip 063.jpg

Actually, Dannye was looking through the wedding photos they had taken just the Saturday before.  She figured enough of us were helping Pamela!

dad's river trip 152.jpg

This is my sweet sister, Bettye, and her little angel, Lola.  Lola is a little doll!

dad's river trip 161.jpg  

This is my dear brother-in-law, Scooter.  He stayed busy in his duties as Camp Host most of the time we were there.

dad's river trip 048.jpg

This guy watched over us the whole time we were there…

But then we had to go home, although both Bill and I called our workplaces and got to stay an extra day!  So, no complaints!

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The weekend following our San Antonio/New Braunfels trip was also very busy.  The first event was a Gospel Bluegrass concert by the band Appointed at the Herzogs’ place.  It was a beautiful evening for it, and the concert was great!

Herzog's Appointed 104a.jpg

Appointed – Daniel Roy, Josh Masters, Bethany Allred, Josh Roy, and Conrad Craft.  Jacob Frady flew in the next day to join them for the rest of this tour.  They are really good, and really love the Lord and desire to serve Him with their lives and their music.  They’re a lot of fun, too!

Herzog's Appointed 164.jpg

This is our host couple and 2 of their children.  Stephen and Christina are so willing to open their home – not just for small groups, but also for large events like this.  Many neighbors, friends, and family attended the concert, and stayed for dessert and fellowship later.

Herzog's Appointed 314.jpg

This is my sweet hubby with the oldest of Stephen and Christina’s bunch, Martin.  He is a beautiful little one who is ALL BOY!  What fun he is!

Herzog's Appointed 514a.jpg

This is my beautiful Pamela

Herzog's Appointed 304a.jpg

And this is my beautiful son, who just this past Tuesday cut off his beautiful hair!  I can’t even tell you what he looks like – there are no words!

Herzog's Appointed 372a.jpg

And while Appointed thought they were the Main Attraction, we all knew who was really the star of the the show….our little Arie Jean!  My word, she’s adorable!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday morning was the time set for Bill’s family reunion.  We haven’t had one in a couple of years, so since my precious Mom-in-Law is losing her memory very quickly, Bill’s sister felt it imperative that she see as many of her loved ones as possible before she doesn’t know any of them.  She already has trouble on any given day realizing who some of us are until she’s talked with us a little bit.  So we all gathered in honor of Barbara, the most loving, precious lady I’ve ever known!

Davidson Reunion Dan 050.jpg

Here’s Memaw (Barbara) sitting with her cousin, Clinton. ^ They used to go camping together before Memaw and Pawpaw had to be more homebound due to her health.

Davidson Reunion Dan 021.jpg

This is Pawpaw (Billy), Bill’s Dad.  I’ve never known a man more in love with his wife, and that’s saying a bunch, since I’m married to Bill Petty!  But like father, like son!  Pawpaw takes care of Memaw to the nth degree, and never gripes or bellyaches about her.  (He does fuss about doctors, though!)  He often weeps about all she’s going through, but he is amazing with her.  She says repeatedly what a blessing he is to her, and she doesn’t know where she’d be without him!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I know there is so much more to include in all this, but hopefully it won’t be near as long before I update again.  I really enjoy blogging, but life just happens, so I write when I can!

I pray you all never neglect to tell your loved ones how special they are to you – we just never know….

 

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Busy Couple of Weeks

  1. ALDOG1 says:

    I love the picture of Treebeard!  I did not know anyone took that picture.  We just love that guy.  He is our reminder of Lord of the Rings and just keeps his eye on us and scares away the bad guys. ha  Matt and family gave him to Scooter for Father’s Day a few years ago and he goes back and forth from this tree to the tree outside our garage door at home.  We loved your visit so much.  I can’t tell you!  Note to others.  This family makes the best bunch of guests you could ever have.  What a loving family you are and seeing the fun you have together can only warm hearts!

  2. I heart and prayers go out to both the Baker’s and the Alexander’s continually! It’s still so hard to believe it!I wish we could have come to the concert with y’all. It looks like it was a huge blessing and so much fun!

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    Wow!  I love your new background!  Really neat, girl!  I meant to add yesterday that I adore the picture of Roo with her little piggy tails.  Precious darling!  Really beautiful picture of Pam also.  She is such a beauty, as is Dannye,  Both of them beautiful, inside and out!B

  4. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I get all my backgrounds from a user named rayray714a.  I love her work, and she nearly always has a scripture in the backgrounds.I love that photo of Arulai!  The colors are perfect, and of course, she’s a little doll.  And yes, Tate and Dan are beautiful, too.  I wish I got as many pics of Dan as I do of Pam!!You still doing alright?

  5. i didn’t get to see the pictures of Roo! aww!and re: Nate’s hair…..I’m scared. Just plain scared.

Leave a Reply

