Christmas in July, 2008

When I was a little girl, our missions organizations at church gathered gifts and offerings during “Christmas in July”.  Even now, the Christian radio station I listen to, KHCB Houston, celebrates Christmas in July by playing only Christmas music during their music portions of the day.  It is so wonderful!  It somehow makes the day seem cooler when I hear “O Holy Night” wafting through the hot, summer air! 

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 129.jpg

As many of you know, the ladies in our family have a long time tradition we call “White Christmas”.  We hold this celebration in December; since Pamela has been at school, we try to wait until she comes home from PCC for Christmas Break. 

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 092.jpg

I don’t even remember how we began having Christmas in July, but we have been doing it for several years.  Up until this year, it was just a summer version of White Christmas.  This year, though, we decided that instead of watching “White Christmas”, we would watch “Holiday Inn”, starring Bing Crosby and Fred Astaire. 

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 050.jpg

 This turned out to be a great decision, as in the past we have actually tried to watch both during White Christmas day – way too much to squeeze into one day!! 

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 067.jpg  

It was a great day, even though for the biggest part of it there were only four of us.  I was able to leave work at 11, then ran by Walmart to pick up the goodies we didn’t already have at home.  Gen was already here when I arrived, and of course, Dannye and Emily were here cooking and decorating all morning.  Amy was able to come by for a little while – and to see the end of the movie!  The boys were excellent – swimming for a good while, then came up with the great idea of watching a movie in my bedroom.  Arulai took a very nice nap, then joined us for a little snack.  It was an altogether fun day!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 033.jpg

“Sisters, Sisters, there were never such devoted sisters…” (oh, wait, wrong movie!)

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 032.jpg

Dan and Emily had everything decorated so lovely…

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 113.jpg

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 025.jpg

…even a Christmas tree!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 020.jpg

And the food!!!!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 008.jpg

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 018.jpg  

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 011.jpg 

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 051.jpg

Great salad fixins’!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 046.jpg

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 041.jpg

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 028.jpg

Tasty dressings – and fat free to boot!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 027.jpg

Gen made these wonderful candied pecans!

 July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 031.jpg

Here I am, in my festive Christmas Red!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 083.jpg

Isn’t my sister beautiful? 

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 118.jpg

My gorgeous Daughter-in-Law

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 062.jpg

and her cutie shoes!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 080.jpg

The boys, Adam and Allen, in my room watching “Star Wars”.  They were such good boys!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 070.jpg

The air was filled with Christmas smells

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 130.jpg

Sweetest Amy…

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 131.jpg

who doesn’t like the sound of “Buttermilk and Liverwurst” (quote from “White Christmas”)

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 134.jpg

Guess who?

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 149.jpg

Another set of devoted sisters, by heart if not by blood!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 150.jpg

They are beautiful, aren’t they?

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 153.jpg

They are also quite silly!

July 25, 2008---Christmas In July 155.jpg

There they all are – I’m taking the picture. Which is odd, but I wanted some to have Dannye Reigh in them!  It was hard for me to let the day end, but alas, Gen and Amy had to go home to their husbands, and Dannye had a hot volleyball game waiting for her at Carrie’s.  Emily, Arulai, Allen, Adam & I stayed home and took a quick dip in the pool (when the reality of the JULY part of “Christmas in July” hit us!).  I still haven’t taken the decorations down, though!  I wonder if Dan would let me leave them up until December?????

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I just had to include these photos for my oldest sister.

Boys on mini-scooter 013c.jpg

Bill brought this little mini-chopper home – probably saved it from a dumpster!

Boys on mini-scooter 016c.jpg

Al was evidently too big for the weak battery to pull, but he enjoyed trying!!

Boys on mini-scooter 012.jpg

But Adam had a blast, even on a short ride!

***********************************************************

Merry Christmas………in July!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Christmas in July, 2008

  1. chix0rgirl says:

    These are too adorable! You have such a fun family. =] Is Amy by any chance a former Polkinghorn? She looks so familiar. 

  2. ALDOG1 says:

    Dear Nina,  I loved all the pictures and of course especially getting to see a couple of extra ones of my boys.  I miss them so much.  I would even be willing to play a game of War with Adam right now. ha  I am so happy that you all had such a good time.  Its a wonderful tradition.  Love,  B

  3. pettybunch says:

    @chix0rgirl – Yes, indeed, Katherine, Amy is a former Polkinghorn.  She and Michael (my nephew) were married a year ago this month.  Such a PRECIOUS girl!!!!

  4. Okay, so I’m just sitting here wiping the drool from my chin after your salad photos. I haven’t been up long and haven’t had breakfast yet so your photos threw upon me an intense craving for a yummy chicken salad. I could probably do a wishbone bountifuls commercial right now.Christmas is awesome. Even in July.Have a great Saturday!

  5. jeroland says:

    Hi Mrs. Petty! I am so glad you found my site! As soon as I put more updates on there I was going to forward the link to all of our friends… But of course you can check it out! And I added you as a friend too! I must say, you have been my big inspiration in getting a xanga started… I’m always on your site… I love all of your pictures and the creativity with your back-drops:) You do such a great job. It sure looks like you were having a fun time with your Christmas in July celebration…Some times I feel like we have Christmas year round here… I was still shoveling snow in April I’ll be honest, I couldn’t wait for some hot weather… I’ve had just about enough with jeans and hoodies… my capris and flip-flops have been calling my name! Anyway, you all take care and I’ll check back with you soon! Love and Blessings, Erin

  6. such fun, such fun. 🙂 let’s do it again soon. 🙂

  7. AuntGen says:

    I want more salad!   It was all so delicious, scrumptious and altogether yummie, especially Emily’s accidental fudge.  How convenient it was to have such a wonderful salad, fat free dressing, and asssorted fruits and veggies to ward off those pesky twinges of guilt about having candied pecans and fudge for dessert. And don’t get me started about Dan’s iced coffee!  It was such a fun time, I hated to leave.  But Mike was up and feeling  some better by the time I made it home, so I was glad I did. Love and see you Tuesday!

  8. maryhurlbut says:

    You girls in Texas have WAY to Much Fun!These are such wonderful photos…love all the color and details.You and your sisiter looks so cute too

  9. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – We do have a good time!  Seems we’re always finding some reason for a celebration!

Leave a Reply

