Pictures for my last post!

I didn’t have time or opportunity to post photos for my last post, so I thought I’d make a brand new picture post to go along with yesterday’s wordy post!

First, let it be known that we are having a fabulous time – but I DEARLY miss my daughter in law, son, and grandbaby!!!!!  Emily would love everything about this trip.  Will’s family loves all things BOAT, so we have enjoyed seeing lots of sea faring vessels, and lots of water.  Emily would love the lighthouses, the Great Lake Michigan (she enjoys it from the other side in her homeland), the beautiful weather, the quaint little towns and homes – just everything.  And Nathanael would enjoy the Swem family – especially spending more time with Will.  Will’s Dad is a teaser, and picks at Pamela constantly.  I know Nathanael would really have fun with this family.  Arie Jean would enjoy ME – I know she would!!  (Of course, the minute she sees Papa, I’m nobody; but hey, I can avoid him!!) 

Well, on to the photos:

Bill saw this ginormous cross somewhere after our 4 hour rest area stop on the trip up.

Michagan trip 271.jpg

There were quite a few of these type old barns as we got nearer to Michigan

Michagan trip 274.jpg

We just really like old barns – these were taken through the windows, so definitely not portrait quality!

Michagan trip 275.jpg

We arrived a little early – our hosts weren’t quite back from vacation when we got into Michigan, so we stopped at a beautiful little town called Benton Harbor and got Subway to eat by the Lake.

Michagan trip 287.jpg

Oh, was it a beautiful view from the picnic decks where we ate!

Michagan trip 294.jpg

And the view ON the deck was beautiful – my Dannye Reigh!

Michagan trip 311.jpg

Dannye wanted a photo of Bill and I with the Lake in the background – lots of sunshine

Michagan trip 318.jpg

And here we are at the Swem’s home.  This is the youngest Swem with his goats.

At Will's House 007.jpg

Mrs. Swem’s yard is GORGEOUS!

Michagan trip 345.jpg

Bill blowing on a huge organ pipe – it was pretty hilarious!

At Will's House 011.jpg

Will’s sister Amanda and  Grandpa Swem

At Will's House 019.jpg

Sister Jen and Mom Patsy

At Will's House 025.jpg

Brother Mitchell with the true head of the household, Baby!

At Will's House 030.jpg

The newly engaged couple, Pamela and Will

At Will's House 035.jpg

The beautimous ring – it really is even prettier in person.  She had to get it sized down from a 6.5 to a 5.5 – oh, those were the days!  I’m not sure I can wear my size 6 on my pinkie finger now!!!

At Will's House 039.jpg

Amanda

At Will's House 042.jpg

Pamela

At Will's House 050.jpg

Jenny

At Will's House 058.jpg

On Monday, a bunch of us hopped in 3 cars and followed Will and Pamela around while they registered.  There are actually no photos allowed inside the stores, but my sneaky hubby grabbed just a couple for their scrapbook.

At Will's House 062.jpg

Will got pretty good with his trigger finger!

At Will's House 065.jpg

On to the next stop!

Michagan trip 356.jpg

Which in this case happened to be Wendy’s!  Pamela needed time to regroup before we hit Kohl’s. 

At Will's House 074.jpg

Back at home, the show of choice for the evenings was Hogan’s Heroes.

At Will's House 077.jpg

Jen, Patsy, and Bill Swem

At Will's House 090.jpg

Pamela and Amanda’s dinner – it was so tasty, too!

At Will's House 095.jpg

Most all of us – of course, Dannye is snapping the shot, and Andrew had already gone to bed.

At Will's House 100.jpg

My beautiful Sweet Tater

At Will's House 109.jpg

I’m sure that the 2 Bills are responsible for this face!

At Will's House 152.jpg

And this will be Pamela and Will’s home next year – isn’t it great!?!

Michagan trip 357.jpg

We said this looks like a CD cover – sure are a bunch of pretty girls!

Pam and Will Engagement session 006.jpg

The Swem’s are a very musical family.  At any given moment, one (or 2) of them will sit down at the piano and play.  It’s so funny to see them exchange places at the piano.  One will be playing, then another will sit with them and eventually take over.  Then along comes another, and on it goes until you might have heard 4 or 5 of them play!  It’s the greatest thing…

Pam and Will Engagement session 012.jpg

They were having a great time!

Pam and Will Engagement session 023.jpg

Baby – she really is a great cat.  They all adore her, and Dannye is completely taken with her!

michigan pipe organ move 016.jpg

This was yesterday.  Bill got to go with Bill, Will, Amanda, and Grandpa to remove and bring home the console of a humongous pipe organ.  My Bill really enjoyed himself!

Pam and Will Engagement session 523.jpg

When they got home from work (around 1pm) Bill, Dannye, Will, Pamela, Amanda, Patsy and I all went to Grand Haven to take W & P’s engagement photos.  This lighthouse is over 150 years old.  So cool!

Pam and Will Engagement session 525.jpg

Patsy and I are a bit like Mutt and Jeff (for all you oldies out there!) – I am nearly 5’11” and she is only 5′ tall!  Ahead of us are Amanda, Dan, Pam and Will.

Pam and Will Engagement session 739.jpg

We stopped for icecream along the boardwalk

Pam and Will Engagement session 337.jpg

My sweetie, eating a Turtle Sundae

Pam and Will Engagement session 361.jpg

Pamela and Will with their Peanut Butter/Chocolate twist waffle cones – Pamela’s dipped, of course!

Pam and Will Engagement session 365.jpg

My banana split – I’ve never had a better one, even at Dairy Queen.  I couldn’t eat near all of it!

Pam and Will Engagement session 715.jpg

A bit of cool architecture

Pam and Will Engagement session 774.jpg

Will having lots of fun on the playground…

Pam and Will Engagement session 818.jpg

…then not having so much fun as his future father-in-law spins him just so he can get this cool photo!

Pam and Will Engagement session 827.jpg

Well, that’s where we are so far, folks.  Today Patsy, Dannye Reigh, and I went to Meijers – sort of like a super Walmart.  Right now I have the house to myself while Dan and Bill are taking Jenny’s senior pictures (Pam, Will, and Amanda went along, too.)  Bill and Patsy have gone to Grandpa & Grandma Swem’s to work on their computer and gather guest list information.  Mitch and Andrew are playing outside, and I’m in the living room enjoying the sunshine and quiet!  Tomorrow we will be going to the Swem’s cottage for a picnic and some swimming (not me – It’s too cold!!)  I know there will be lots of photos to post from that trip, so hopefully I will “see” you tomorrow!

May God bless your day!!!!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pictures for my last post!

  1. Harrrrumph. *pout* Not jealous one little bit. Nope. :PSSOOOO thrilled to see pictures!! πŸ™‚ Love y’all!

  2. chix0rgirl says:

    You have such a lovely family! Girls to be proud of, for sure… they’re really pretty!! Aww, Will’s family sounds and looks adorable. I know y’all will make a great new big family!! 

  3. pettybunch says:

    @chix0rgirl – Good to hear from you again!  Hope all is well.  God has been gracious to allow our feeble attempts at following His direction to bring us wonderful additions to our family!  We knew the moment we met Emily’s family that it was God’s will for our families to unite; the same has been true of Will’s family.  You know, Pamela calls him “God’s Will”!

  4. I liked seeing the photos from your trip. The last one was especially sweet. πŸ™‚ I hope I can say this right, but it seems a lot of people I know, once their kids get up to marrying age they won’t let anyone see them kiss or be affectionate anymore. I have no idea why and I think it’s really sad.You two are so precious together. As are your Pamela and her Will. What an adorable couple.

  5. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – Dannye Reigh tells people her mom and dad are always making out!  We don’t really “make out” in public, but we aren’t ashamed to kiss in front of anybody!!

  6. Ummm, you two “don’t really make out in public”?? Whaaaat? I think I just caught you LYING. πŸ˜› *evil cackle*

  7. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Okay, surely we can have some family secrets!!

  8. billseye says:

    We DO have a license, you know

  9. KatieWatt says:

    Aw! Yay for pictures! Looks like ya’ll are having a blast! *hugs all around!!!* πŸ™‚

  10. suezzzque says:

    GREAT photos! Looks like y’all are having a blast. We have more than one Bill in our family too. Makes for some fun times ; D

  11. pettybunch says:

    @suezzzque – We have to laugh about all our “Bills”…My Dad is Bill, his Dad is Bill, I have a brother named Bill, and now Will (William, like my hubby and f-i-l) and his Dad, Bill.  It can really get interesting!!!!

  12. ALDOG1 says:

    We have more than our share of Michaels too.  ha  I am so glad to see all these pictures.  I really thought I would have to wait a while to see any.  You are having the greatest vacation!!!  Yeehaw!  Clarify for me.  Who does the house in that photo belong to?  Is it their family home or what.  You didn’t say except it is where Will and Pam will live next year so I am a little confused.  ‘Splain, Lucy!”  All these new people talking about your and Bill’s “romantic tendencies” don’t have a clue how you have toned it down from your younger days. ha ha ha ha ha  We used to have to carry buckets of water around with us.  haI’m IM’ing (does that make sense) and she just told me about a great new job she is starting soon.  She will be working for two attorneys, filing papers at the courthouse, other paperwork!  Isn’t that great!  Wonderful hours, she can take kids to school and pick them up.  No weekends.  Don’t know if you know but right now she is working at airport and has to get up at 2:30 int eh morning to be at work by 5.  Terrible pay on top of terrible hours.  I am so happy for her.  They need her to work and this is great.  A neighbor asked her if she would be interested in working for her husband and another lawyer.  I told her God is so good to us when we let him set the time.  Take care and give my love to all the Pettys up there with you!

  13. suezzzque says:

    @pettybunch –  When my son (Bill#3) was in high school two of his best buds were named Bobby. When his cousin Bobby came for a visit they delighted in going places and telling everyone they were all named Bobby! Of course my son wasn’t, but by the time the other three whipped out their DL for proof, no one ever asked to see his. Every son in hubby’s family is named after their dad so we have more than one of 3 different names. Plus my SiL has a DiL with the almost the same name ~ Melody/Melanie.

  14. Gosh. It has now been totally solidified in my mind that we will NOT have a Junior in our family. Ever. And no Bills, Wills, Williams or Michaels. Come ON, people, get CREATIVE!!!*wink*

  15. Looks like your trip is going wonderfully! Pam and Wills house is just SO cute. Love all the pictures!

  16. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Hey, I was creative – no Williams, Bills or Michaels.  And when we named your hubby, we very RARELY heard the name Nathanael.  It was always Nate or Nathan.  Bill was definitely opposed to a “Trey”.  He and his dad have had too many problems having the same name.

  17. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Pamela and Will’s future home belongs to the Swem family.  It has been used as a rental property, and as a summer home for Will’s Grandparents.  Will has been working all summer on repairs and improvements to prepare for next summer.  It is really cute, although not a “young” house at all.BTW, were you talking about Kim? You didn’t say.  But whoever you were talking about, God is indeed good!!

  18. ALDOG1 says:

    There are no greater names than Bill and Michael.  None, none.  Besides naming Mikey after Billy Michael, I just think Michael is about the most beautiful man’s name there is.  And I am not necessarily a fan of “creative” names anyway.  Give me a good old fashioned name any day.  Especially when it is a name that belonged to a special relative.  I am still so sad that I couldn’t convince any of my daughters-in-law to name one of my granddaughters after my Auntie sis.  Her name was Elizabeth.  I love that name.  I also love Beth.  To me Beth is such a sweet name.  That is what my Auntie was called and she was the dearest, sweetest person I ever knew.  But I have to give Mark and Tina credit.  When they decided what they were going to name our first granddaughter, they walked into our house and Mark said, “Mom, you are going to get your Michelle.”  I had tried five times to have a Michelle, to no avail.  So I was very happy with my precious Jessica Michelle.  Almost forgot as I rambled on, how wonderful is that!  They have a house to live in!  It is so precious!  Is the front door behind that big tree?  I would love to have interior pictures.  I love old houses.  Is it furnished?

  19. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – The names are great – the confusion is not.  It took our inlaws moving to finally get our mail straightened out when we lived in the same subdivision as the Pettys.  And the credit bureau can’t seem to separate us, either!  Not too bad for us, but terrible for the Pettys, I’m sure!

  20. ALDOG1 says:

    Scooter and I learned to use his name AND middle initial on all accounts and such since Mark is also Randall Strader.  You’re right.  It can screw up some credit reports, that’s for sure.  Of course, Ginger takes good care of their credit score now.  But back in the day we ran into some problems.  ha  When Martha and Bob were dating, he had a friend named Mike.  So we all called him Big Mike, Billy Michael was Little Mike and my Mikey was Baby Mike. ha ha

  21. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Using the middle initial/name wouldn’t have done any good in Bill’s case since he is a JR.  And you’d be surprised at how many applications/forms don’t have a place for JR or SR, and how many people don’t pay attention to that anyway.  We hear how everything is by numbers rather than names, but it doesn’t seem to be the case oftentimes.  It doesn’t seem to matter that they have different SS#  sometimes – they get them mixed up anyway!

  22. ALDOG1 says:

    Yep, its terrible all the little things we have to think about that really don’t come to the average mind.  ha  We learned if there is no place for middle name or initial we just add it to the end of the first name.  Being a Jr. would be difficult.  You would have to be very creative. ha  Our credit score is so FANTASTIC now but it took 40 something years to get it that way. ha 

  23. @pettybunch – Ha ha, well, good for you two. Although there appears to be some debate as to the truth of your “no making out in public” statement, a little making out can’t be all bad. I’m sure it keeps the marriage alive. *wink*

  24. jeroland says:

    It looks like you are having a blast! I was giggling to myself as I was reading all of the conversations taking place in the posts! Thank goodness for computers and the internet, huh??!!! It’s so fun being able to stay in touch! ~ER

Leave a Reply

