Maybe the hardest time yet…

 

We took Pamela back to school this past weekend.  She kept telling me this time would be easier because it was the last time.  She graduates in December, so will get to stay home next Spring.  And yes, that’s a GOOD thought!  But it was still so hard to drive off and leave her in Florida!  But I only cried through Alabama – that’s an improvement!

Florida Trip 022.jpg  

This year, we left for Florida on Sunday.  We’ve not done that before – we really don’t like to travel on Sunday if we don’t have to.  But we were scheduled to sing a special for Sunday morning worship, so we had lunch with Dannye, Nathanael, Emily, and Arie Jean, then began our journey. 

Florida Trip 046.jpg

All of us girls had matching skirts, but Emily and Nathanael had to leave before we could get our picture!  So just us three took one for posterity!

Florida Trip 050.jpg  

My silly girls – but they are so wonderful to me!

We hit some pretty bad weather on the way – Fay was hanging out right over Mississippi and Alabama – so the trip took a little longer than usual.  Will, his Dad, Amanda, and Mitchell were already there and had picked up our room key for us, so when we finally got there we were able to just unload what was necessary and be done for the night.

Monday was planned as beach day, but it was raining most of the morning.  So we switched gears and did the “Back to School” shopping for Pam and Will while it rained.  After we got back to the hotel, the sun was peaking out, so they decided to go ahead to the beach.  I opted not to go – I’m not much on swimming in the rain -and Bill wanted to get some work done on Pamela’s truck, so Pamela went with Mr. Swem’s bunch to the beach.  There was a red flag warning out, but they played awhile in the water, then came on back to get ready for an early supper.

Florida Trip 080.jpg

Tuesday was Will’s birthday, so we had a small celebration before we left that morning.  He loved the shirt Pamela had picked out for him, and was very excited about the Bible we gave him.  He’d been wanting that particular Bible – he says it will be a great preaching Bible.  One day I will hear him preach – I can’t wait!

Florida Trip 087.jpg

Bill and I left around 12:30 Tuesday afternoon.  You’d think this would get easier, but it hasn’t for me!  I miss Pamela so much, and I still feel quite helpless as a Mom when I am this far away from her.  I know she is in the Lord’s hands, and it does help that Will is there watching over her.  I’m just ready for Christmas now!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Maybe the hardest time yet…

  1. I love the skirts, and Emily’s hair is lookin’ fantabulous in its new shade!May I ask what your daughter is majoring in? I’m sure you’ll be glad for her to graduate!

  2. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – Pamela’s major is Youth Ministries with an Education emphasis.  She began school with nursing in mind, but because of shoulder issues/surgery she had to give that up.  When she changed majors she met Will, who is a Pastoral Ministries major.  God had a plan!!

  3. I miss Pam too! We must have spent a lot of time together this past summer, because I’m feeling her absence quite keenly. :)Yay for Christmas!!

  4. scottrobert says:

    I now understand what it is like to leave your children now that I have two girls!! You have a special family, thanks for sharing!!!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @scottrobert – As amazing as this sounds, it doesn’t get easier when they are older!  But as we both know, our Heavenly Father watches over them, and we can rest in Him.  God Bless you, and thanks for taking the time to come by & comment.

  6. ALDOG1 says:

    I LOVE the picture of Pam and Will with her pouty little lip.  It is so adorable.  I look forward to hearing the six of you sing something  pretty at reunion.  Don’t forget I put you all totally in charge of it this year.  I’m going to take delegating to a new level this year. ha  I really would love just lots and lots of special music.  My boys are definitely up for doing something.  Mikey just called!  They are coming tonight for the weekend, too.!!!!!  We will all be here!  I am so happy.

  7. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I am so excited that Mikey and family are coming!  I know you will be so blessed to have them all together.  We really need to be gathering our thoughts on the reunion in general and the worship time specifically.  You won’t have to worry about singing, though – you know that!Love you!

  8. Anonymous says:

    This baby just wants to be well done I guess…just like all my Mom’s kids – I think we were all two weeks late.

  9. ALDOG1 says:

    This is Dodie………I LOVE the new face of Will w/o facial hair.  I was wondering what he “really” looked like……he was nice looking before, but now he’s adorable……….I just love it!  The pictures are so cute of the two of them…….just an awsome looking couple.Your singing “skirts” are so cute but I didn’t even realize Emily was in the picture.  Didn’t even recognize her w/that dark hair til I read your blog about them having to leave before a picture was made.  I had to go back & see where in the picture she was.  It still doesn’t look like she used to look at all…….guess it will take some getting used to.  I’m really surprised she did that w/her hair.Looking forward of more pictures of all of you………I need some recent pictures of my Daddy & your mom.  love you!

Leave a Reply

