Lone Star First Saturday

cowboy church benefit & 1st saturday 113.jpg

The first Saturday of every month in our small town is “Lone Star First Saturday”.  The usually quiet streets are filled with a Farmers Market, craft booths, music, and food.  Nathanael and Emily have tried to make it a tradition to go, although the cabin project has interfered somewhat this summer.  Bill and I went once right at first, but haven’t really had a lot of time to go back.  But this past Saturday, we decided we would get up earlyish and go see what was going on. 

Before we even got out the door, Bill’s brother Curtis emailed him to say they were going to be there with a vintage car club participating in a benefit in town.  So we went on to the benefit location and spent much of the morning with my brother and sister-in-law.  It was so nice and cool (you know me, I wished for a jacket!) and we had the best visit!  Even though they live relatively close (about 35 minutes away) we don’t see them as often as we’d like. 

cowboy church benefit & 1st saturday 016.jpg
Curtis’ Model A – “Black Betty”

cowboy church benefit & 1st saturday 001.jpg
Curtis (wearing the cap) looking at a photo log book with a fellow car buff

The benefit they were participating in had LOTS of other things going on.  They had motorcycle clubs galore!  You can’t even imagine that many motorcyclists in one place.  Bill said they were so thick in that field, you couldn’t stir them with a stick!

cowboy church benefit & 1st saturday 078.jpg
They did a benefit ride – among the clubs were the Patriot Riders.  This photo is not the beginning, nor the end of this line of motorcycles.

cowboy church benefit & 1st saturday 081.jpg
Waiting to get back into the benefit grounds.

cowboy church benefit & 1st saturday 099.jpg
Filing into the field prepared for them.  Again, this isn’t all of them!

********************************************************************

After awhile (and when we could get past the motorcycles!) Bill and I went into town for just a minute, since I had two baby showers to attend that day.  We didn’t get to walk around much at all, but he did catch this shot while driving through town.

cowboy church benefit & 1st saturday 122.jpg
 These people may or may not have ever played together, or even known each other before Saturday.  They just gather on whatever porch or deck they can and have a jam session.  I’m only sad we had to rush our day up a bit and weren’t able to sit and listen awhile…

Bill and I are hoping to have a booth at the November First Saturday.  We’d really like to promote the photography business, as well as enjoy our community a whole lot more!  I’d like to interest all my crafty friends in having a booth sometimes.  I think Emily’s wonderful clay ornaments would go over BIG in November!

Have a great week, and God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lone Star First Saturday

  1. Ooooooh, that’s a really, really GOOD idea. Woot. 🙂

  2. suezzzque says:

    This look slike soooo much fun. Especially the porch jam session. You’ll have to message me and tell me where in Texas it is. My Bill and I might want to come sometime this fall or Spring. Hey, maybe we could hook up!

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    Well, I sure as heck hope we can come out for the November meet!  It sounds so neat.  Can a power chair navigate around fairly well?  I love craft fairs so much!  Well, crud, I bet that’s the weekend we go to Renaissance Festival. We always go the next to final weekend.  I will have to check their website.

  4. pettybunch says:

    @suezzzque – That would be so neat, but if you are in west Texas, it won’t be a day trip!  @ALDOG1 – The way our lives go, it will definitely be on the same day as something else!  We are shooting a wedding in November, and I was surprised that it didn’t land on Jen’s wedding weekend.  We are totally out of pocket 2 weekends in October, and 3 weekends in November!  But I’m holding out on the first weekend to do this!!  And I think a power chair can do well.  They are working now on sidewalks, and already have many in place.  Our little town looks nothing like it did when y’all stayed with us 30+ years ago!You’re not coming home this weekend, are you?  Let us entertain Hurricane Ike – you take it easy over there!

  5. ALDOG1 says:

    We won’t be home until the 21st.  Arlon leaves for his hunting trip this Friday and will be back next Friday.  Then we will come home that next Monday. 

  6. maryhurlbut says:

    Americana all the way!It’s so nice to know the images I found in “Norman Rockwell” paintings are still a reality in the USA.I would have enjoyed sitting with you and listening to the jam session tooLiving in So California, things get a little to fake and plastic…we too have a First Thursday event…but it’s for the art galleries in Laguna…lots of wine and glamour.

  7. maryhurlbut says:

    I hope all is well with your family. I saw that that Hurricane Ikewent right through your town.Prayers sent your way, Mary

  8. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – Mary, thank you for your prayers.  My sis and I (along with our kids & grandbaby)  took my parents to Dallas to visit our sis in law so we are safe.  Bill and our son stayed home and endured the storm.  It was kinda “hairy” for a while, and we had some tree damage and no power, but they are safe.  We have many friends who had major damage to their homes, & your prayers are so appreciated!Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

