Update on the Pettybunch

As I’m sure most of you who read my blog are aware, our family lives in the midst of Hurricane Ike’s path of destruction.  We live north and west of the worst of it, so did not sustain the loss that so many did down south.  I am not home – Jeanne and I took my parents to my wonderful sis-in-law’s because we knew there would be no power at home.  Dannye Reigh, Emily & Arie-Jean, Michael & Amy, and Karla and kids were here for the weekend.  Karla and kids went on to Tulsa to stay with her mother, and all the others (except us old folks & Arie -Jean) went back home to help with the cleanup.  We are hoping for a short stay.  Not of course that Greta’s home isn’t better than any luxury hotel, nor that we want to get back into the old grind, but Mamma is having a hard time.  She has been pretty confused since we left home.  I think she will probably settle down now that there isn’t such a crowd, but she sure has had a hard time understanding what’s going on.

We are getting occasional updates from the home front.  There is no water and they have no power, but other than trees and limbs down, there is minimal damage to the structures on the property.  Bill has been putting together generators for days now, and several folks have brought their generators that aren’t working for one reason or another for him to fix. 

Bill said the neighborhood looks terrible – power lines laying in just about every yard.  We are so thankful that there seems to be no one with bad damage.  Amy told Gen this morning that Florida and Chicago are sending their power company trucks to help with the damage.  What a blessing that there is awareness of the need for community during this time! 

My grandbaby girl is entertaining us at every turn.  She’s decided that everyone is “Mama” except my mom, whom she clearly calls “Mamaw”.  She’s also decided that a dog whinnies – and laughs when I tell her different!  I do really think she is occasionally looking for her own Mama, but she is being very good and seems happy.  She finally ate good this morning after eating very little since we’ve been here.  Greta has a little toy area for her own grandkids, so Arie has her own little wonderland in which to play.  Greta also has a little Schnauzer that really enjoys playing with Arulai.  I don’t know how long she will be content, but right now we’re doing well.

I know you all have been praying for those whose lives have been touched by Ike.  So many, many folks have been devastated by this storm.  In our case, pray for safety for our home folks as they move trees and deal with exposed power lines.  Also, the water situation, although it is not nearly as bad as it could be.  I’m not sure I want to smell all those folks back home!   But seriously, I have heard reports of exposed sewage, etc., and that can bring perfect conditions for disease.

Another prayer request here away from the destruction is for my Mom.  Please pray that she will feel better, and that her mind will clear as she is able to rest in this lovely home.  Dad is doing very well, although he wishes they could go home sooner than later. 

We tend to think that if we escaped harm or damage, that is God’s blessing.  But that leaves those who didn’t escape the thought that they perhaps aren’t blessed by God.  I do know that His blessings come in different packages:  no damage is a blessing, but so is being sheltered from the storm in a community shelter, being served by kind strangers.  We were blessed by minimal damage, and by shelter from a loving sister-in-law!  God is good, in the midst (and aftermath) of the storm!

God bless you all!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update on the Pettybunch

  1. Gallagators says:

    It’s good to read your report. I’m glad the Lord has protected you and yours during this storm. Hope you can return to your home soon, and that your mom will feel more at rest.

  2. we’re here and working and cleaning and praying that we’ll have power and water soon. 🙂 Until then, y’all stay safe and enjoy my little girl, whom i miss terribly. 🙂

  3. jeroland says:

    Hey Mrs. Petty… thanks for the update. I stopped and prayed for you all, your mom, and all of the folks back in Montgomery (as well as all of those in the “disaster” area) as I read your blog. Em had some pictures on her site… looks like so many people have quite a workload ahead of them. Stephen and Christina said something about Mr. Petty helping with their generator too… I know he has been such a blessing to so many people! It is encouraging to see the body of Christ work together. BTW, Christina said they got power today in Montgomery, so hopefully it won’t be long for all of the other folks our there either. Take care and keep us posted! Blessings, Erin

  4. pettybunch says:

    @jeroland – Thank you, Erin, for your prayers.  We heard of a small patch near Mom & Dad’s that has electricity, so maybe it will be sooner than later that we can come home!

  5. ALDOG1 says:

    Allen called me tonight and that amazed me first that he was able to get through.  Then I asked him what he was doing and he said they were in line at Chick Filet!!!  I asked WHERE???  1488 and 2978 had power!!!!  All those new fast food places were open, the Kroger grocery store, lots of places at that intersection area.  So i called and/or texted all the boys to let them know.  Also that our church is giving out ice, water and food to all comers.  I love my wonderful job.  Like Pastor Kerry always says, “A big church can do big things!”  Tab had been at the church getting ice and saw a woman eating a Chick Filet.  You know Tab and fast food.   She immediately asked her where she got it and took her ice and headed out. ha ha  They got no damage at her apartments.  I think one of those 132 mph wind cells hit Timber Lakes, from the huge amount of damage.  All my boys say it looks like a war zone.  We found out today that another old friend of the kids’s family home was destroyed.  His mom still lived there.  I continue to stand amazed that God spared all our homes.  I am so eternally grateful!!!Tell Dad and Chloe I love them so much and am so glad you all are safe and comfortable.

Leave a Reply

