With Grateful Hearts…

Before I begin my post, I want to give a quick update and praise about Bill’s arm.  The bicep is torn, but not so badly as to need surgery at this time.  He is to rest it (wear splint and sling) for 2 weeks and go back in for a re-check.  We are so thankful for that report!!!!!

*************************************************************************************

This will be more photos than print, but I wanted to show some pics of our attempt to say thank you to all the Electric Company workers from EVERYWHERE for helping us get our power back. 

Our friends Billy and Tammy stopped in on the electric company “camps” to see how we might show our appreciation for their help.  They had plenty of food and drink, but they were dealing with boredom, and they really miss their families and friends.  So Billy and Tammy called around and a few of us joined them Saturday evening to play and sing and fellowship with the workers.  What a time we had!!

Electric Co Camp 008.jpg
Getting our orders

Electric Co Camp 098.jpg

Kelly

Electric Co Camp 107.jpg

Mel

Electric Co Camp 113.jpg

Johanna

Electric Co Camp 181.jpg

Johanna when she smiles!

Electric Co Camp 114.jpg

Priscilla

Electric Co Camp 144.jpg

Tammy, Heather, and Jeshua

Electric Co Camp 119.jpg

My precious grandbaby, who had bit the dust as we were getting ready to go.

Electric Co Camp 124.jpg

 But she’s still happy!!!!!!!!!!!

Electric Co Camp 009.jpg

Practicing

Electric Co Camp 025.jpg

Different groups would work on a song while others were singing or playing

Electric Co Camp 026.jpg

Electric Co Camp 010.jpg

This camp is in our local high school stadium parking lot.

Electric Co Camp 013.jpg

The big tent is where the workers are fed.

Electric Co Camp 066.jpg

Electric Co Camp 035.jpg

Electric Co Camp 212.jpg

Electric Co Camp 037.jpg  

The men really missed their families, so we shared ours with them!

Electric Co Camp 038.jpg

My Daughter in Law is amazing!  She showed no shyness at all visiting with these hardworking men.  She just went around with Nathanael and Ruly, sharing her gratefulness.  I am one blessed Mama!!!

Electric Co Camp 125.jpg

This was a real eye opener to me – I might not have a/c, but I did at least have a nice soft bed at home!  These men are here to help people like me, and sleeping on COTS!

Electric Co Camp 083.jpg

Where their laundry was done

Electric Co Camp 069.jpg

Even barber facilities were available!

Electric Co Camp 078.jpg

Parking lot jammed with Electric Co. trucks

Electric Co Camp 192.jpg

 

Electric Co Camp 208.jpg

Some local children made thank you cards, which were brought for us to give to the workers.

Electric Co Camp 024.jpg

Electric Co Camp 244.jpg

The children in our group gave them out, and the men SO appreciated the cards and the kids!

Electric Co Camp 236.jpg

Aren’t they cute?

Electric Co Camp 019.jpg

This is Audrey – she really helped spread some sunshine to these men!

Electric Co Camp 309.jpg

Electric Co Camp 032.jpg

This man wanted to give the kiddos some money, which they really tried to give back to him.  But Billy told them not to deny this man a blessing, and encouraged them to take the gift!

Electric Co Camp 041.jpg

Fred played and sang – he is absolutely fantastic at both!

Electric Co Camp 040.jpg

“Jesus loves me, this I know…” 

Electric Co Camp 028.jpg

There was every genre of music from “Red River Valley” 

Electric Co Camp 264.jpg

Electric Co Camp 044.jpg

& Cowboy Stew…

Electric Co Camp 048.jpg

…to Disney….

Electric Co Camp 052.jpg

…to Bluegrass…

Electric Co Camp 062.jpg

 Electric Co Camp 029.jpg

…to praise music…

Electric Co Camp 267.jpg

(Bub psyching up to sing)

Electric Co Camp 314.jpg

(Emily has an amazing voice!  She and Nathanael sang “Captivate Us”)

Electric Co Camp 027.jpg

…to “Piano Man”…

Electric Co Camp 059.jpg

…to blues!

 Electric Co Camp 054.jpg

Arulai enjoying her Mama’s singing

Electric Co Camp 049.jpg

She was so wound up by the time we left!!!

Electric Co Camp 326.jpg

Martin getting some help winding down.

Electric Co Camp 286.jpg

Joe sang the greatest baseball song ever!

Electric Co Camp 063.jpg

Then gave a brief encouragement and thank you to the men.

Electric Co Camp 296.jpg

Joe and family as it was time to say goodbye…

It was a fun night, and I so hope we were able to show our gratitude in some small way.  I also hope we are able to go back again before they all leave – perhaps not to put on a show, but just to fellowship with these men, some of whom haven’t been home since Hurricane Gustav!

Well, I’ve stayed up too late again, and I’m sick to boot!  I’m off to bed now.

God bless your day, and when He does, pass it on!!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to With Grateful Hearts…

  1. Wow!  That was a wonderful visit you all had with those men, to express appreciation to them for all they are doing.  I’ll bet they don’t see that a lot!  Hope things get back to normal for you all soon!

  2. Abbiegirl says:

    Hey,thanks for the pictures! THEY ARE AWESOME! I would love to helpm with somthing like that, what a great ministry! Good Job!Abigail

  3. suezzzque says:

    What a wonderful way to say thank you! Looks like a great time was had by all.

  4. ligsar says:

    Oh man, so wish I coulda been there!!!  (Obviously, Em and I would have done a couple numbers ourselves.  )

  5. pettybunch says:

    @ligsar – She mentioned wishing you were there because y’all can do so many numbers already!

  6. ligsar says:

    @pettybunch – Aw, that’s my girl. Haha.  I should actually send down a copy of the piano accompaniment (for our ‘Thankful’ album) on CD… it would be like I’m almost there!

  7. that was such fun. i felt so silly walking around trying to bless thes guys, and feeling so blessed in the process myself! terribly selfish. 🙂 thanks for posting all the pictures!

  8. ALDOG1 says:

    All these pictures and your descriptions have me so incredibly moved!  The more I looked and the more I read, the more i kept saying, ooohhhh and wow and carrying on.  What a wonderful thing you all had the opportunity to do.  The children were precious.  How could those guys not feel blessed.  I am so proud that you all are my family!  And praise God about Bill’s arm.  i have been waiting and waiting to hear a report!!!!  Our family continues to be blessed.  I love ya’, Neeners!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I’ve been wanting to send you an email, but I am so sick with cold/flu??? that I just put out these pics and the note at the top & called it a night!  Shame on me, I know.  Thank you for all of your prayers and your encouragement.  I love you, too!

  10. maryhurlbut says:

    Great News about Bills arm! Is he resting?And I had no idea the electrical company came out in such a force to get things done.WOW, what an awesome service for all you waiting on electricity.We lstill live in a wonderful country

  11. txaffamily says:

    What a wonderful opportunity to bless these men!! It looks like so much fun . Thanks for posting all the pics…it was great to see everyone again! We miss our TX friends so much!!

  12. pettybunch says:

    @txaffamily – We miss you all, too!  I see photos of your kids and can’t believe how they’ve grown…Thanks for “Friend-ing” me!

  13. AuntGen says:

    I am so glad y’all had the opportunity to do this.  It was as if you said “thank you” for all of us and let those men and women know how very much we all appreciated all that they were doing for us. 

Leave a Reply

