Family Day Before Ike (BI)

It seems like I haven’t been to family day in such a long time.  This past Tuesday was the beginning of my 24 hour bug (which, incidently, has lasted 5 days!) so I missed the most recent Family Day.  The week before can’t be counted as a real Family Day, since only part of us were together, and that in Dallas, staying until we got power.  So I went back to the Family Day before Ike, and I’m not even sure I was there that day!  At least, there are no photos of me there…

Mamaw's House 044a.jpg

Missy & Moonshine, doing what they love to do!

Mamaw's House 045a.jpg

Oh, and I forgot the ever faithful Suka, following her beloved master.

Mamaw's House 050a.jpg

Aren’t they cute???

Mamaw's House 040a.jpg

I think maybe Arie-Jean is watching Missy, but this pictures reminds me of my teen years at Youth Camp – “One Way – Jesus!”

Mamaw's House 090a.jpg

Mamaw's House 093a.jpg

She’s just so beautiful!!

Mamaw's House 067b.jpg

Precious Amy – reading one of Mamaw’s books.  She’s so patient when Mamaw says (often more than once!) “Don’t forget to bring that book back!” 

Mamaw's House 119a.jpg

It was Overall Day, so there had to be a photo shoot!

Mamaw's House 116.jpg

Dave wants in on the action!

Mamaw's House 117.jpg

Aren’t they purty???!!!!

Mamaw's House 118 
I think he might like being the only man here!

*********************************************************************

I am looking forward to next weekend – a super edition of Family Day.  It is time once again for the Allen Family Reunion. 

Reunion Dad's cards 365

This is one of the high points of my year, and I wasn’t sure that we were going to be able to have it this year because of the number of us affected by the hurricane.  But we Allens are hardy, so we’re heading up to Fairfield this coming Friday for a wonderful 3-day weekend filled with Family!


Well, God bless your day, and may you enjoy your Family Days!!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Family Day Before Ike (BI)

  1. ALDOG1 says:

    I am so glad you posted.  I needed a family fix.  The pictures are so cute.  I love the overall girls!  Gen looks absolutely svelte!  How did she get so thin?  Roo is the cutest little thing ever!  Sometimes she looks so much like Jessi.  Sometimes she looks like a baby Bettye Lou, but with hair!!!!!!!!  ha  Do you have a rough ETA for Friday?  Let me know, okay?  Love you!

  2. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Gen has been doing WW for almost 2 years now, plus an exercise program she recorded more than 10 years ago!!!!I don’t really know our ETA, and I don’t know who is coming when next weekend.  I have to work until noon, then I’m coming on to Fairfield.  Whether Bill and Dan (and probably Gen) will leave before or after me remains to be seen!  Whoever leaves first will try to bring Gen so she can help with the stew – I can’t do a thing with squirrel!!!Love you, too!!

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    Oh, I have no idea if we will even have squirrel or simply beef.  I just need a hand getting it all prepped and in the pot cooking.  I will get the meat on early.  No problem about that.  I’ll just need someone to help me with the potatoes, onions, etc.  I know they always use Aunt Blanche’s recipe and Dan and I have peeled and chopped the potatoes and onions before but I don’t know if they use fresh carrots or canned.  But Jan will pick up all those ingredients when she gets the paper goods.  So don’t worry about the squirrel.  ha  That will be cooking early.  As well as the beef.  I guess we will go on Thursday since it is such a long drive from here.  I would prefer not to go until Friday but we would get there too late by the time Scooter hooked up the trailer Friday morning and all that stuff.See ya soon!

  4. ALDOG1 says:

    Just read that hopefully you will have the trailer for this weekend.  That is wonderful.  I know you will be so much more comfortable than sleeping on the ground.  Especially Bill with his messed up arm.  I hope you are feeling much better now.  You guys are not youngsters any more.  Let the young ones sleep in the tents.  ha

  5. cnsavanna says:

    oh I’m lovin’ the brother thing and I have SIX OF THEM! WOOHOO!!!

  6. AuntGen says:

    I am just now seeing this!  I love how the pics turned out, and I’m eating up the compliments from B.  When are we going to see some pictures from the reunion?  I had such a great time, especially our drive together Saturday night.   Fun family, family fun! 

Leave a Reply

