Like Sands Through the Hourglass…

 

So are the days of our lives!

 

Antique Rose Emporium March 7, 2006 025  Antique Rose Emporium March 7, 2006 035

I haven’t watched Soaps in 20+ years, but as my life is moving along now at quite a pace, it brought that intro to mind.  Today, when I go home from work, I will pack my stuff and move in with Dad and Mom.  I won’t actually be living in the house with Dad and Mom – they have an adjoining trailer in which I will take up residence.  So I will be right there, but not always in their space.  Now before anyone gets their panties in a wad over this, just know that Bill and I are still married, and even still in love – although he insists on telling people that I am leaving him!  (BTW, Bill is in favor of this move, and will be splitting his time between houses – which will probably make this harder on him than on me!)

Dad and Mom just need more attention these days, and REALLY need help with medicines and meals, so I was the most logical choice for this need.  I will not quit my job.  Jeanne will still go over most mornings, and I will be there in the evenings.  I will come home to my house on Saturday nights so I can continue to go to church with my family.  This past weekend we went to our annual Allen Reunion.  Jeanne and I took Dad up for Saturday, so we weren’t there for the whole thing.  But after we took Dad home, we went back Saturday night.  Our normal schedule for the reunion has a Sunday morning worship time, which is why Jeanne and I really wanted to get back.  But, sad to say, this year the worship time didn’t happen.  We were so sad!  There was a whole lot of good fellowship, though, so our late night trip wasn’t in vain!

I was so encouraged by the support we received from family about my moving in with the folks.  So often people don’t understand why I would do such a thing, but everyone understood our hearts without much if any explanation.  Jeanne and I are often left with the notion that we are just plain weird as a family (well, we are, but anyway…) because we believe so strongly in taking care of our own.  Not just monetarily, but physically as well.  Any time we take Dad to the VA for his checkup, or some procedure, men and women tell him over and over how blessed he is to have us.  Now isn’t it sad that our care for him is so unusual that people are amazed by it?????  Our parents have done so much for us – not just the dutiful things parents must do, but they have loved us, trained us, and supported us in our dreams – sometimes when they didn’t agree with those dreams!  Our parents taught us about Jesus, and in my case, my Mama led me to the Lord when I was 9.  Our parents took us to church and lived Jesus before our very eyes.  Why would I not JUMP at an opportunity to give back just a small bit of what they have given me?  And while I’m sure that you will hear a complaint or two during this time, my prayer is that I will not just be willing to help, but that I will enjoy being with my parents until Jesus takes them to live with Him.

If the Lord brings this situation to your mind, please pray for us.  I will so miss my home, daily life with my family, my normal routine.  I will greatly miss my little Arie-Jean!  I will also miss my patio with my plants that are trying real hard not to die under my care! 

I have the feeling that Mom (more than Dad) will miss her solitude some, and feel that an intruder has come in to bother her!  I really do believe, however, that we will all enjoy this time together for the most part.  I tease Jeanne all the time that she will be taking care of 3 old people when I move in, rather than 2!  I’m hoping this move will give her some relief, too.  She does so much for them, and when she’s not there, she worries about them!

In the next day or two, I hope to have photos from our family reunion posted.  It was a great weekend!  I haven’t figured out how I will have computer access at Mom’s yet, but Bill is working on that for me.  We’ll have to see!

God bless your day – He sure has blessed mine!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Like Sands Through the Hourglass…

  1. Abbiegirl says:

    Wow,I will pray for you and your parents. I pray God’s Blessing and Grace On You All

  2. God bless you as you serve Him and your parents in this way!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Abbiegirl – @piecedtreasures – Thank you for your encouragement!

  4. We are going to miss you here. I’m still in denial that you’re leaving—I keep ignoring the concept in order to somehow influence it to change. (i know, right? that doesn’t even make sense in my head.) But rest assured that your little Arie Jean will have many, many visits with her “Na-Na”. She’ll demand nothing less! 🙂

  5. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – You are so sweet – I will miss our “chance” talks about our feelings until the breath’s sucked out our bodies!!  We may have to schedule those when you come visit!

  6. suezzzque says:

    Praying for you and your parents as you enter this new season of your lives. As you know, I’ve been there and know how hard, yet rewarding it can be. You won’t be sorry in the long run for things will be different all too soon. Make memories girlfriend!

  7. Praying for you Aunt Nina!

  8. pettybunch says:

    @suezzzque – I think of you daily, as my parents age, as their memories fail, etc.  You have been, and are, and encouragement to me!  God was good to let me “meet” you just before this time in my life!

  9. wondering04 says:

    I will pray and I know God honors it when we take care of our parents.Heather

  10. pettybunch says:

    @wondering04 – Thank you, Heather.  I have come to know just by reading your blog that you will indeed pray for me.

  11. wondering04 says:

    @pettybunch – Yes, I will pray.  Heather

  12. AuntGen says:

    This new arrangement has been a mixed blessing so far, as you know.  But as we work out the kinks and adjust to the new “schedule”, let me say how wonderful it is that we have each other (and David and family) to share this responsibility (I dare not say burden!)  I can’t express the relief I feel when I have to leave “parent land” aka “the twilight zone”  before I have finished a particular task, and know that you are going to be there to complete it or to see that they don’t worry about it until I can be back to do it.  They fret about the simplest things.  Of course the main thing I am thinking of is supervision of their medications (ordering and dispensing) as well as talking to medical personel, making Dr. apptmnts and such.  You so often speak about all that I do for our parents, but you really don’t know how much I depend on you (and Dave), and have even before this new phase of care began.  You are a gift to me from above, coming down from the Father of lights and I thank HIm for you all the time.  I also thank Him for Bill and all that he does and gives you freedom to do for me and our parents.  God is good and will give us grace and wisdom to do this together and decide what is best.    

  13. ALDOG1 says:

    I was also very sad we did not have a Sunday morning service. They have become my fav part. I just figured since I had putyou and Bill in charge of it, because of the hurricane and all that you did not have time to put anything todether. I did not want to make you feel bad about it so I didn’t say anything but we were just waiting. We were playing gospel music to set the mood. This was a very unusual reunion because of Ike but I enjoyed it very much. Was I at fault for not reminding you again? I really thought you remembered. If so, I am so sorry. Love you, B

  14. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Ohhhhhh, you were waiting on us to begin the service!!!!!  I guess I was waiting on someone to say it was time.  Bub had a little devotional, but that was all that had been planned.  We just couldn’t get the singing practiced, even though I had brought “Satisfied.”  It turned out fine, though – we’ll just be better prepared next year!Love you, too……….  Does this mean you have your internet back? 

Leave a Reply

