Glen Rose 2008

It has been difficult to find time to blog lately.  I don’t have a computer at Mama’s house, and we have been so busy at work – there’s just been no time!  But I’m about caught up at work, so I’m going to try to catch up here.

Last week, after Mama’s birthday, I began to get ready to join my family in Glen Rose, Texas for our  homeschool group’s annual camp out.  This year was to be rather special, as it marked our 20th year to go as a group.  We were blessed to be there the first year, and every year since except 2007, our family was represented at the camp out.  Now, our children are obviously past the homeschooling age, but we just plan to keep going to Glen Rose with our group as Grandparents of homeschoolers!

Bill.jpg
My beautiful husband!!

Dan Reigh.jpg
And our beautiful daughter, Dannye Reigh

Dan Reigh2.jpg
This is why I generally have photos to post!!

I’m sure I wrote about Glen Rose last October, and not much changes from year to year.  This year we did have the added blessing of our dearest friends, The Watts, join us. 

Kids camping.jpg
Some Watts and a couple extras at our campsite playing cards

Terri.jpg

Terri and I were able to visit more that we have in YEARS!!!  It was so much fun to have them with us.  There are 8 children in the Watt family, 3 of whom are grown & out of school (well, out of high school – Jesse is in college).  It was so good to have children running around our camp this year. 

Flashlight tag.jpg
Flashlight tag!

It won’t be long before Arulai will join the kiddos running around the camp playing flashlight tag or hide-n-seek.  She tried to this year, but had to be hemmed in more or less.  She didn’t like that part, but she did enjoy the river!

Bill and Arie.jpg
Keeping up with Arulai – what a joy she is!

Arie Jean.jpg

Arie Jean 3.jpg

Arie Jean 2.jpg

Arie Jean river.jpg

Arie Jean river2.jpg

Arie Jean river3.jpg

Arie Jean river4.jpg

Conrad also joined our campsite this year – and he’s definitely a keeper!  He kept the fire going for me (I’m always cold!) and he also fixed breakfast for us a few times.

There is so much more I want to write about last weekend, but it is time to shut down my work computer and go to the surgery center where Mama is having a procedure done (shots in her back).  Gen is with her, but we try to group up during these times – waiting is much more fun with company!

I’ll try to get photos of our trip to the Creation Evidences Museum for my next post.

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Glen Rose 2008

  1. Abbiegirl says:

    Cute Pictures Mrs. Petty!I can’t wait to see more. Roo is growing up so fast, time really flys. thanks for all the prayers im doing better.love you.Abigail

  2. Wonderful pictures as always Aunt Nina! We ended up having a great weekend in spite of not getting to go to Glen Rose. ( As we do everyday of our life together)  My beloved sister Emily came over and spent the weekend with us! We had so much fun just getting to be with together but I am still sad that we missed Glen Rose yet again! snif snif : (

  3. pettybunch says:

    @michaelswoman – I’m so glad you had a good time with Emily.  We really missed you at Glen Rose, though.  It almost seemed like there were more of the old group there than newbies!

  4. fun fun fun! wish our time there had been longer. 🙂

  5. AuntGen says:

    LOVE the pictures and can’t wait to see the ones from the CE museum.  Thanks for joining me at the surgery center and for taking over when I had to leave for the weekend.  I’m glad Mom did so well in the end.  See you this afternoon!  Gen

  6. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – You commented!!!  I’ve missed your comments – even though I see you almost daily! Wierd, I know!

  7. maryhurlbut says:

    You are an ambitious bunch! Our homeschool group just planned Beach Days every summer,but a campout would be fun.

  8. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – The campout is indeed fun.  When our kids were young, they developed friendships during those 3 days at Glen Rose that have lasted all these years.  And the fellowship and encouragement for the parents seems to go deeper with three days to develop.  We’ve been blessed!

Leave a Reply

