The Creation Evidence Museum

From the Creation Evidence Museum website:

“The Creation Evidence Museum is a nonprofit educational museum chartered in Texas in 1984 for the purpose of researching and displaying scientific evidence for creation. As such, the museum sponsors palaeontological and archaeological excavations in addition to other extensive research projects. Dr. Carl Baugh, the museum’s Founder and Director, originally came to Glen Rose, Texas to critically examine claims of human and dinosaur co-habitation. He conducted extensive excavations along the Paluxy River, with appropriate permission of the landowners. These original excavations yielded human footprints among dinosaur footprints (see the Director’s doctoral dissertation).  He then realized that a museum needed to be established in order to appropriately display this evidence, along with sustained excavations and other areas of scientific research for creation.”

The annual homeschool camping trip (see my last post) was, in the beginning, centered around this main event – a trip to the Creation Evidence Museum.  Dr. Carl Baugh is the Founder and Director of the museum, and we have enjoyed his lectures and friendship every year.  If you go the the website referenced above, you can learn about the museum, and about Dr. Baugh.  But if you go to the museum itself, you will gain more than knowledge!  Dr. Baugh is not always there, but makes plans to be on the 3rd weekend of October!  He has that date marked on his calendar every year so he can visit with our group.  He is such a kind and gentle man, and has a passion for the Lord. 

Dr. Baugh used to begin every lecture with, “I dig dinosaurs – don’t you?”  When my kids were little, our group that came to Glen Rose were mostly families in our same time of life – young, with school age (and under) children.  We all wanted the same thing from this trip – knowledge for our children that supported our Biblical beliefs.  We have never been disappointed!  Dr. Baugh was especially good with the kids, and oh, so patient!!  He’d answer hundreds of questions – some that seemed pretty silly to us, but he never let on to those children!

After going to hear him year after year, some perhaps have the mistaken opinion that he doesn’t tell us anything new – it’s all the same thing we heard last year, and every year before that.  But in our experience, Dr. Baugh always has something new to tell us. 

In the early days, Dr. Baugh came out to our campground early Sunday morning to teach/preach for our worship time.  He no longer has the time to give us both Saturday at the museum, and Sunday at the campground, so we combined our worship time with our museum time on Saturday.  It has been a blessing, and for me, a highlight of the trip. 

Well, here are a few photos of our time with Dr. Baugh.  Be sure and check out the Creation Evidence Museum website, and if you are ever near Glen Rose, Texas, go see it for yourself!

Creation Evidences Museum 9.jpg

Arulai, ready for the day! 
(You didn’t think I’d do a post without a photo of my grandbaby, did you?!) 

Creation Evidences Museum 1.jpg

This is the new museum.  When we began this trek in 1988, the museum was in a VERY small mobile home.  This is the first year to be in the new building – it is beautiful, although not quite finished.

Creation Evidences Museum 2.jpg

Gathered for worship.  I have led the singing for many years – I’m the loudest one!  Conrad played his guitar for us this year, and my family graciously joins me to encourage me, and because they sing BEAUTIFULLY!  This year, Mel and Kakie joined us, too.

Creation Evidences Museum 3.jpg

I don’t know what I was saying, but I was introducing Nathanael and Emily, who were singing “Captivate Us” at my request.  You can’t imagine how beautiful and worshipful it is when they sing together. 

Creation Evidences Museum 4.jpg

Conrad playing for Bub and Em

Creation Evidences Museum 5.jpg

Just beautiful!

Creation Evidences Museum 6.jpg

And here is Dr. Baugh – precious man!

Creation Evidences Museum 7.jpg

Listening intently, some taking notes.  Bub helping with the props.

Creation Evidences Museum 8.jpg

Emily could tell you what he was showing us here – she remembers everything!  I was in and out with Arulai, so I didn’t get the whole lecture.

Later Saturday afternoon, Dr. Baugh came out to our campground for dinner and fellowship.  We sang a little bit, and he spoke just a bit.  Then, the most amazing thing – the men gather around him and prayed over him.  I was so blessed to hear these men praying for his needs, affirming his work, praying for open hearts and minds of his hearers… 

This year’s trip was a bit different for me.  Bill and Dan were there 5 days before I was able to join them.  I had much on my mind, having left Dad and Mom for the first time since I’ve been there.  (They were just fine – Karla helped them out, and they hardly missed me!)  Several families weren’t able to make it this year –  families we began this tradition with, and I longed to see them this year.  But some things remain the same – Oakdale’s Camp ‘n Fish is beautiful, but their bathrooms are too primitive for me; the Brazos River still meanders at the bottom of the campground; my children still love to play hide and seek with the kids; and food cooked over a camp fire is YUMMY! 

Oh, and Dr. Baugh still digs dinosaurs!!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Creation Evidence Museum

  1. what a great, great post Mama! I have come to love this particular tradition very much. šŸ™‚

  2. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – And what a blessing for me that my children are continuing this tradition with their children!!

  3. bowmachine says:

    I can’t belive it’s been over ten years since I was there.  It seems like it was yesterday that I was there.  It’s good to see that the the new building is coming along.

  4. DubyaDC says:

    But he HAD a second chance!  A second whole season!  I’ll have to ask but I think we had him for a whole TWO seasons after that before we got rid of him because he wasn’t doing ANYTHING.  We gave him a whole season (or two) of chances that he never took.  And that is what BUGS me!  It would be one thing if he had come back and done well and at the end of his contract decided that the Phillies were the team for him for that year.  But it wasn’t that he came back and did well, it’s that he stunk UNTIL he was traded and then all of a sudden, BAM!  He’s good again. 

  5. pettybunch says:

    @DubyaDC – You ought to get Nathanael’s take on Brad’s “second chance”.  He was improving, he was working on his issues, but the Media and “fans” ran him out of town!!!!!!!!!!!  He had little choice but to leave after all the flack those two entities gave him.I like Brad Lidge – I think his leaving the Astros is FAR different from Carlos Beltran – he’s the one I still boo everytime he comes to our park….

  6. pettybunch says:

    @bowmachine – Not much has changed at the campground, though!!  You ought to go to the museum again, though.  It is really wonderful to see even a little success for Dr. Baugh, but more amazing to see God be glorified through his life!

Leave a Reply

