Two Weddings before Thanksgiving!


Well, as usual, life is flying by at lightning speed!  I haven’t had time to do more than comment on a few of my subscriptions, let alone post anything!  But today I am at a computer with nothing else pressing, so here we go!

Two weeks before Thanksgiving, my precious niece from Dallas got married.  We were not the photographers for the wedding, but Bill and Dannye Reigh got some great photos, anyway.  This wedding was very special to our family because Jennifer’s Daddy  (my oldest brother) passed away a number of years ago, so my Daddy (Jennifer’s Granddad) walked her down the aisle along with her Mom.  It was beautiful, and so moving for all of us.

Since Daddy had a part in the wedding, we had to be in Dallas for the rehearsal as well as the wedding.  This is not an easy task, as both Mama and Daddy experience enough dementia to need help remembering everything but the same old routine.  Dad fully grasped where we were going, what his responsibility was, and all that, but Mama was totally lost!  She could get hold of the fact that Jenn was getting married, but really couldn’t keep hold of why we were out of town, what town we were in, where is this room I’m in, etc.  When she’s at home, she does much better; but boy, if we drive anywhere but to church or the doctor, she begins to lose it!  It ended up that Jeanne stayed at the hotel with Mama the night of rehearsal and dinner while Bill, Dannye and I took Granddad to both. 

We had such a wonderful time – Greta, my sis-in-law, is one of my favorite people in the world, having lovingly cared for me several times in my life.  She baby-sat us when we were small, she brought me to her home for a vacation by myself when I was a young teenager, and then she opened her home to me for 6 months when I was floundering after my first (and only) year of college.  My big brother was all plans and excitement, but it was Greta that had to carry it all out!  Greta loved me and believed in me when I felt anything but lovely.  She is my hero!!

Anyway, back to the wedding – I don’t have photos up yet of the wedding/reception, but I do have the rehearsal/dinner Friday night, and Jennifer getting ready for the wedding Saturday morning:

Jennifer Allen 001.jpg
Inside the gorgeous church

Jennifer Allen 075.jpg
Daddy and Greta, getting ready to practice.

Jennifer Allen 077.jpg
Jenn’s older sister, Allison, with her hubby, Matt, and daughter, Ava.

Jennifer Allen 002.jpg
Daddy with the Bride and Groom, Jennifer and Philip

Jennifer Allen 096.jpg
Daddy and Chris, Jennifer’s older brother

Jennifer Allen 098.jpg
My Dannye Reigh with her Granddad

Jennifer Allen 102.jpg
Jennifer and Philip both gave tribute to family and friends, especially their parents.  Jenn isn’t much for speaking publicly, so had written hers down.  Through her tears, she gave her mother such beautiful love and praise; we were all weeping by the time she got through!

Jennifer Allen 103.jpg 
And then she presented Greta the most beautiful ring as a token of her love and gratefulness.

Getting Ready

Saturday morning, Dannye Reigh was invited in with the girls for some photojournalling!

Jennifer Allen 014.jpg
Allison, Jenn’s beautiful sister and Matron of Honor

 Jennifer Allen 004.jpg
Jennifer and her hairdresser

Jennifer Allen 044.jpg
What a beauty!

Jennifer Allen 053.jpg
She could seriously be a super-model!!!

I’m waiting for Dannye to sift through the wedding/reception photos so I can show them off.  We have very few of the wedding day, and none of the ceremony itself, as the church did not allow photography during that time except by the paid photographers.  But I will get what we have posted as soon as I can!

*******************************************************************

The weekend after Jennifer and Philip got married, Bill and Dannye shot a wedding for some dear friends of our family.  We have known Sarah since she was born, and Josh has been a favorite friend since he was in high school with Pamela.  We have the pleasure of calling both sets of parents friends as well!  I don’t have photos of this wedding ready yet, either, but I must show you some of Sarah’s Bridal Portraits.  She has a never ending smile on her face!

Sarah Herzog Bridal Session 058.jpg
This was the first location, Memory Park at the Library near our home.

Sarah Herzog Bridal Session 096.jpg
Those chocolate brown eyes are so lovely!

Sarah Herzog Bridal Session 178.jpg
To me, this one is SOOO Sarah!!

Sarah Herzog Bridal Session 279.jpg
This location is a new shopping center that the company Bill works for recently built.  It’s not fully leased, which made for an easier photo shoot.

Sarah Herzog Bridal Session 333.jpg
It’s called Vintage Park

Sarah Herzog Bridal Session 304.jpg  
Sarah made a stunning bride, and the best part is that she is beautiful both inside and out!!  Wedding pics to come later!

I will try to post Thanksgiving thoughts VERY SOON!

God bless your day!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Weddings before Thanksgiving!

  1. Abbiegirl says:

     Those are Beautiful pictures Mrs. Petty!I love her wedding dress, so beautiful. I hope you have a great December 1st.

  2. txaffamily says:

    The photos are gorgeous!! Thanks for sharing .

  3. *happy sigh* Beautiful Brides! That last picture of Jennifer is absolutely stuning!!!! Wish we could have been there! : )

Leave a Reply

