Thanksgiving Day


THANKSGIVING!!!! 064.jpg

Okay, I promised Thanksgiving Day photos and blog, and again have time at the computer, so here we are:

THANKSGIVING!!!! 005.jpg
Missy’s day at Mamaw’s always includes a ride on Moonshine!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 008.jpg
She gets better and more brave all the time!!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 039.jpg
All events with the Allen clan include our pets – this is Missy’s Miley.  Wonder where she came up with that name??

THANKSGIVING!!!! 049.jpg
This is Granddad’s cat, Tom.  Yes, I said Granddad’s cat!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 057.jpg
And this is Kunkle Daze with Little Bit.  Dave had to go to work, so didn’t get to share the Thanksgiving meal with us, but he did make breakfast for us all!

***

This Thanksgiving was a bit different for me.  I’m living with Mom and Dad now, so it  was not the usual “bring a dish to Thanksgiving Dinner.”  I was sorta hosting the whole thing.  Thankfully, and I do mean that, Karla and Dannye Reigh were there.  They didn’t just help – they just about ran the whole thing.

THANKSGIVING!!!! 118.jpg
Karla’s nectar of life!!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 087.jpg
My Dannye Reigh – without whom I’d go absolutely crazy!!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 114.jpg
My grateful self, for all the help from Dan and Karla!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 103.jpg
Michael carved the turkey for us

THANKSGIVING!!!! 108.jpg
The yummy food

THANKSGIVING!!!! 119.jpg

This year I was holding out for a more meaningful day than just stuffing ourselves with good food after an “Thanksgiving Day Blessing,” which is always sweet, but I wanted there to be more.  I was also determined to have us all at one table, or at least all of us facing each other rather than someone behind us at the bar.  So Dannye and Karla took out Mom’s round table, and we brought in two smallish folding tables, put them together to form almost a square, and butted it up to the bar.  That way, no one was behind anyone else, and there was plenty of room to actually decorate the table a little!   

THANKSGIVING!!!! 130.jpg
Missy was almost in the corner, but we did our best to keep her in with us!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 073.jpg

I had bought a Thanksgiving “kit” from Family Life Today that included place cards with tidbits about the first Thanksgiving and a different thought provoking question on each one.  So we all had our assigned places, and before we served dessert, we had to read our cards and answer our questions. 

THANKSGIVING!!!! 095.jpg

They were all about different things we are thankful for, and different ways God has blessed our lives.  I know I was truly blessed, especially that my Daddy participated.  Daddy is VERY loving, but not much on verbally expressing his emotions; but he did! 

THANKSGIVING!!!! 068.jpg 

Mama has trouble expressing herself nowadays – she knows what she wants to say, but has to search for words often.  She also gave her thoughts about her question.  It’s sweet to hear both Dad and Mama’s heart come out in words.

THANKSGIVING!!!! 070.jpg

One of the most important blessings we had this year was that Michael and Amy were sitting at our table.  Well, Michael was sitting in the living room awaiting the nausea from his pain medication to pass, but praise the Lord he was with us. 

THANKSGIVING!!!! 003.jpg

Michael and Amy were in a very bad car accident Monday night, and it is a wonder either of them came out of it alive!  A young lady – 16 years old – made a left turn right into them at an intersection.  Michael’s truck is totalled – the engine came into the cab with them!  All I can say is thank you for seat belts and airbags!  Amy didn’t have a shoulder harness on her belt as she was sitting in the middle by Michael, so she has quite a bit more whiplash than he does.  She was also sideswiped by the driver side airbag, which knocked her head sideways.  And she was cut on the leg, which required a staple.  It was a harrowing evening, especially traumatic for Amy as she was hurting so badly, and strapped down on the body board for hours.  Oh, how I remember that from 2 years ago!!  God graciously protected them from severe harm, and we are so grateful!

  THANKSGIVING!!!! 125.jpg

 My precious husband had to split his time, as he does so often lately, between families.  He went to his family celebration early and then made it to ours before we served our meal.  I’m so grateful for a man who loves like this man does.  God has been very good to me!!

 Nathanael, Emily, Arulai, and Sarah went to Pensacola to spend Thanksgiving with Pamela and Will.  I haven’t even seen them since they got back, but I know they had a good time.  You must read Emily’s description of Arulai on the college campus – so funny!!  I can’t wait to see her!

I have so much to be thankful for!  It’s not an ideal situation to have to leave your family home to move in with elderly parents, but I’m so grateful that I can do this.  I’m grateful that my husband wants me to care for my parents!  I’m so blessed that Mama and Daddy are EASY to be with, and they enjoy my company as much as I do theirs. 

I’m grateful that my eldest daughter is so capable, and keeps the homefires burning in my absence.  I’m grateful that Nathanael, Emily, and Arulai are right there near Dannye so she doesn’t have to always be alone.  I’m grateful for a sweet husband who packs up his little bag and moves from our house to “my” house, depending on who needs him most that day!

I’m mostly thankful for a Loving, Gracious, Heavenly Father, who leads, guides, directs, and LOVES me, even when I am so unlovely!!!

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thanksgiving Day

  1. ALDOG1 says:

    What a shock to read about Michael and Amy’s accident!  Praise God they were not hurt worse!  I hate car wrecks!  Each year we go around the table saying what we are most thankful for.  This year my greatest thanks was to God for saving my life in my wreck on River Road.  I have never felt so close to impending death and it frightened me more than I can describel  I wonder sometimes if I will ever get over it.  I still rarely ever drive.  I loved all the pictures.  Missy looks adorable riding her horse.  The food looks wonderful and the table is beautiful.  We like to make our Thanksgiving meal extra fancy as we have a more casual meal on Christmas Eve, so Thanksgiving is our biggie.  I love Thanksgiving so much.  This year Al said he was thankful that he was in the seventh grade and having such a good time.  Isn’t that wonderful?  Jacey was so cute as she gave thanks for her daddy and her mother and also for her big brother who she thanked for letting her hang around with him and for being such a good brother. 

  2. what a sweet time you had! the tabel was beautiful. 🙂

  3. tabLE, TABLE! i know how to spell table. lol.

  4. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – You are so funny!  We sure missed you all!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – It has sure been hard for me to let go of the fear from my accident.  Dannye hates to drive with me as a passenger – I’m terrible!!  Bill says I suck all the air out of the car with my terrified gasps!I love Thanksgiving, too.  Dad and Mama were both feeling puny – that’s why no photos of them.  Dad spent most of the day in his room, but did come out for dinner.  I think they are on the upswing now, though.BTW, did you see my last post of the weddings?  I know you’ve seen Jenn’s photos, but thought you might enjoy Sarah’s, too.Love you, B!!

  6. ALDOG1 says:

    Yes, I saw both sets of wedding photos on your Petty Photography site.  I forgot to comment there since I had commented on Jenn’s site.  I am dying to see more of Jenn’s.  Martha is being as slow with hers as the Pettys. ha  And she didn’t take near as many as yall did.  I took a bunch with her camera after my battery played out.  My extra battery was back at the hotel!!!!  I am so much the same as you when traveling in a car.  I laughed when I read your description of sucking all the air out of the car.  I do the same thing.  Scooter said I am going to make him have a wreck with all the exclamations and deep breaths I take now.  But I see potential wrecks at every intersection.  Drives me nuts.

  7. AuntGen says:

    It is so hard these days to be away from “my” family on Thanksgiving.  I had a wonderful time at the deer lease, and loved being with Mike, but still missed being with y’all.  I am blessed that you were so determined to make the celebration meaningful and a true tribute to our Lord who is the giver of all things, good and “bad”.  Mike made a point of thanking God before our festivities, and to thank Him for more than the food, but for all things that we enjoy together there at the lease, and especially for giving His Son as a sacrifice for our sins.  We have so much to be thankful for.  BTW, I am so thankful for you and the way that you are taking over so much of the care of our parents. It is a peace, or relief that I have not quite adjusted to yet, but will I am sure as time goes by.  I love you so much!

  8. Dear Aunt Nina,Thanksgiving was so wonderful! Thank you for putting so much into it and making it more meaningful! Looking forward to Christmas! Love you!

  9. PS. I love that picture of us! Michael is absolutely dreamy!!! Sigh…

  10. maryhurlbut says:

    Oh my, everything has changed for you, but this post is so encouraging and THANKFUL. May the Lord be your strength and constant guide during this season of caring for your folks.And praise God for Amy and Michael survival.

Leave a Reply

