Twilight Zone

 

………….UPDATE #2…………..

DADDY WENT HOME TODAY!!!!

The test scheduled for this morning ended up actually being scheduled for 1:00 this afternoon.  I had had it with all these delays, so since Dad’s PCP had released him yesterday I put in a call to him to tell him I was taking Daddy home!  I told the nurses that we weren’t waiting any longer for him to eat, and we were checking out.  The nurses were so sympathetic to our situation, and began making calls.  Dr. Sharpless came in very soon after that and gave us our walking orders!  We were out of there by noon – later than we wanted to be, but glad to be out anyway!

Dad is doing well at home; I am catching up at work (burning a CD right now, so I thought I’d update here – you know, multi-tasking!).  I am going to my own home this evening to have Christmas with Will before he leaves in the morning.  I’m so sad I didn’t get to spend more time with him, but thankful he got to come.

More later. The CD is finished.  Have a blessed day!

 

………….UPDATE…………..

I am just now seeing the loving comments made on this day’s blog, and I appreciate it so much.  Thank you all. 

Daddy and I had our hearts broken today.  We were supposed to go home.  We got the release from Dr. Sharpless.  We got everything packed.  We said goodbye to our favorite Tech.  We called home and Gen put fresh sheets on Daddy’s bed.  Then, at about 3:00 this afternoon, our nurse Dhavi came into the room bearing the sad news that Daddy’s gastrointerologist said we had to stay put.  OH, WE WERE CRUSHED!!!!

But, after a really good cry on my hubby’s shoulder (via the telephone), I got a grip and dealt with it.  I had planned to deal with some business issues for Dad and Mom, as well as try to shop for their (our) house, so after the melt down, I left Dad for a couple of hours to take are of these necessities.  I didn’t have to go all the way to the house because my sweet hubby met me at Walmart & took the groceries over to Gen.

Dr. Alam has ordered another test for Daddy in the morning, so we had to stay.  I’m not sure what precipitated this, since I’ve not seen Dr. Alam since he ordered the first two tests.  I looked up the description of the test, and it is described as minimally invasive, so I am going along with it. 

I hope to get back to my computer tomorrow – we’ll see.  I am sure grateful for all the love and prayers.  God bless you all!

**************************************************************** 

I know my title seems odd, but that’s how I’m feeling about now.  As you know, I’m living at Mama and Daddy’s right now, helping care for them in whatever way I can.  This past Monday evening we brought Daddy to the ER after which they immediately put him in the hospital for dehydration and low kidney function.  He can’t seem to stop vomiting, although he hasn’t eaten anything in 3 or more days.

So, now I’m staying at the hospital with Daddy, Gen is at Mama’s, Dave is filling in where possible, and Bill is going from work to home to my home to hospital to Walmart to…  Seriously, the twilight zone for the Allen family and their kin! 

We are all doing fairly well, though, and today we had SNOW falling – a special blessing here in Texas from the Lord.  I love the opportunity to stay with Daddy, but this time is especially hard because he is so out of it from the anti-nausea drugs.  I’m getting in alot of HGTV, though!  Wish I could see one of Barry’s shows.

Pray for us – especially Dad and Mom.  The holidays is a terrible time to be sick!

God bless your day – maybe even with Texas snow!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Twilight Zone

  1. I am praying for you right now!  And for your whole family.  For several years I spent some time in those days before Christmas in the ER/hospital/nursing home with one or the other of my parents.  God bless you!

  2. ligsar says:

    This morning on the radio, the morning DJ said he heard there was snow in Houston yesterday, and asked the weatherman (Dave Dahl- local celebrity– because I know Em will see this!) if it was true…I said, “YES!  I saw pictures!!!” 

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    I love you and Jeanne so much, precious sister.  You both got the short stick with old, and or, infirm people for siblings!  I’m going to be calling you in just a few minutes.  The snow last night was so wonderfull and beautiful.  I have never seen Allen and Adam more excited.  I even got a text from Jessi that simply said, “It’s snowing, Grammy!!!”  We may not get much snow in our part of the world but when we do its even more glorious.

  4. momstranz says:

    Dearest Nina, May God bless you and keep you as you continue to give your life away to the ones who gave their/s to you.  What a beautiful picture of feet washing.  I know these days are so hard and so blessed and so hard and so filled with good things and so hard…..  May you be upheld and ministered to as you live in this place between daily “real” life and life in its most pure form.  I know your dad is nurtured just knowing you are sitting beside him in the room.  We love you,   –pam and barry

  5. ^^^^^^^^^ What they said. :)(Not fair for the eloquence to be entirely taken!!) :)PS. we had such a fun visit with y’all today! Ruly said “Noooooniiie” all the way home. 🙂

  6. DubyaDC says:

    It always snows in TEXAS.  You get snow up in Dallas and Abilene all the time.  The miraculous part is that we got snow in HOUSTON.  Now THAT is something. lol  AND I BLAME EMILY!!!  I hate the snow.  But I love Emily.  Don’t get me wrong.  I just blame her for it all.   I’m just kidding.

  7. It was so good to see Granddad back at home today. Thank you for all that you do, have done and continue to do. Both you and momma do such an amazing job! It has been so fun having Will here. I hope y’all have a blast tonight! Merry Christmas! Love you!

  8. @DubyaDC – How is it possible to hate snow! I’m confused!  

  9. DubyaDC says:

    @michaelswoman – It’s possible to hate snow because of what it means:  that it’s COLD enough to snow!  I hate the cold.  I would love anywhere from 70 degree weather to even 100.  Anything lower than 70 though just…doesn’t suit me.  I hate the cold.  Thus, I hate snow.

  10. wondering04 says:

    Praying and glad he is at home.  I think hospitals are not conducive to healing. Heather

  11. suezzzque says:

    I know how this feels. Hang onto Jesus. One day you will have no regrets and lots of precious memories. Christmas blessing to you as you care for your parents.

  12. momstranz says:

    Dear Nina, I hadn”t even read your post yet, just the title, “Daddy went Home today.”  My heart sunk and i couldn’t believe that Nate and em hadn’t called.  Then i began to scan the rest of the note and was so relieved to learn that you meant HOME home, not HEAVEN home!  Yeah!  I’m so happy for all of you to be back snuggled into the four walls that aren’t filled with needles and nurses.  –love, pam

  13. ALDOG1 says:

    Just wanted to add my love again to your latest update.  I am so happy Daddy is home.  It will be so much better for him and everyone else.  As always, I love you and Jeanne so much.  See you Saturday noonish.B

  14. pettybunch says:

    @momstranz – I’m so sorry I didn’t think of that when I wrote the heading!  Thank you for your care and concern for me and my family!

  15. pettybunch says:

    @suezzzque – You are so right!  I am cherishing each day with my folks, and you have been such an encouraging reminder for me to do that.

Leave a Reply

