Just a Quick Chat…

 

I want to post photos from our weekend, but don’t have them yet, so I’ll just chat a bit.  Dad and I have been home a few days.  He is doing very well.  I think Pamela’s homecoming helped alot!

Last Sunday, the Bill Petty Bunch, the Nate Petty Bunch, and Will sang for the NBBC Christmas Family Sing.  It was so wonderful to sing with all our kids (and future kid!) We sang a beautiful a capella song, “All on a Starry Night”.  Several folks asked us if it is a prerequisite that potential candidates for marriage to our children must have a good singing voice.  I told them that so far God has seemed to work that out!!  I have to say that God definitely blessed our song last Sunday – because I was at the hospital all week with Dad, we were never able to practice.  So we went into a practice room between services, practiced our hearts out, and PRAYED!!!  God did a mighty work, either in our voices, or in the congregation’s hearing.  We asked Him to be glorified, and we hope He was.

This past week was so very busy, but ended with one of my favorite events of the year:  Christmas at Bettye’s.  Most of you know that I am the product of a second marriage, and I have 3 half siblings.  I never thought about them being “half” anything – they have always been my wonderful siblings.  Part of what makes me feel that close to them is Christmas at Bettye’s.  B has been doing this party for our big family for many years now, and I LOVE IT!  All Daddy’s kids and their families get together and eat, sometimes sing, play games, and just visit!  Those that don’t live near Dad and Mom give their gifts on this day as well. 

This year was a low year.  My sister, Martha, was unable to come as she is recovering from major surgery.  My Sis-in-Law, Greta, wasn’t available this weekend, but will be coming for a visit after Christmas.  Some of the nieces and nephews were out of pocket for various reasons, whether distance, or work, or whatever.  It makes me kinda sad, too, that Dad and Mom are just not able to stay very long any more.  But Jeanne and I have decided that this year is the year we will “choose JOY”, rather than complain about our lot in life!

Yesterday church was great.  My 3 girls sang a special – “The Rose of Bethlehem”.  I love to hear Dannye, Pamela, and Emily sing together.  It’s always beautiful. 

Joe brought a wonderful Christmas message on “The Seed”, showing Jesus as the Seed from Genesis 3:15, all the way through scripture to Mary.  It was really good, as Joe’s messages always are!  I especially love that both our pastors focus on practical applications of scripture – not just knowledge.  We are blessed by the teaching in our church.  Even Sunday School was really good.  I may write an entire post on his lesson, “Face to Face with Facebook!”

Today, I will finish my Christmas shopping, as well as Mama’s.  She was supposed to come with me for a short time, but doesn’t feel like it this morning.  Makes me sad!  We will miss our annual Mother – Daughter Christmas lunch at Long John Silvers.  Maybe the girls will still meet me for lunch today – we’ll see!

I don’t know when I’ll be back on – I pray you will all have a Blessed Christmas as we praise our Father for His Unspeakable Gift – Jesus!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just a Quick Chat…

  1. ALDOG1 says:

    Dear Nina,  I love you so much.  You have the most loving heart.  I was so happy to see Pam Saturday and also so happy to see all those who were able to come to the party.  And wasn’t it great of Angie to make the special effort to come by if only for a short while.  She is another special person.  I hated that our party was so short but understand completely.  There was sadness for me that I have gotten to the point where I get exhausted so easily and also that the attendance was so low at the party.  Its so hard with a big family like ours for there to be a time when everyone can come together at the same time.  I understand it is a great strain on the ones who live so far away that they pretty much have to give up an entire weekend to attend.  But I have said several times that if they want to host the party one year we will all come up there.  I’m not sure if they don’t think we really will or if they are afraid we will. ha haI wish we could hear you all sing.  It has been a very long time since I got to hear you.  Have a wonderful week.

  2. txaffamily says:

    I’m sure the singing was absolutely beautiful! We so enjoyed the NBBC Christmas Family Sing each year that we were there. What a blessing to be surrounded by such talented people . Merry Christmas to your family and my God bless you abundantly in this upcoming year!

  3. suezzzque says:

    May you find lots to smile about this Christmas season. Hugs to you as you care for your parents. Hugs, Susan

  4. I’ve missed interacting with you via xanga. For some reason when I’m online via my phone it won’t let me comment on your site. I’ve no idea why. 😦 But I’ve been reading!I hope your Christmas has been fabulous!

  5. maryhurlbut says:

    Too much news from the paast 5 posts to skim through your site!God willing I’ll be back to catch up tomorrow.God Bless!

  6. maryhurlbut says:

    I wish I could have heard the song your family sang and Joe’s message

Leave a Reply

