Happy New Year!!

Update:

Praise the Lord, no surgery is required!!  I am now casted (in red, my favorite color!) and sad to say, more handicapped than before!  They have my 3 “bad” fingers at such an angle that I can’t even use the forefinger on my left hand to type.  My thumb is also in a bind – I may have to get them to correct that!!!  I was able to use my thumb & forefinger to loosley grasp (pinch) items before, but now my thumb is greatly restricted by this cast.  I am somewhat claustrophobic, so last night was an ordeal for both me and Bill.  It doesn’t bother me during the day because I am busy, but last night was terrible.  I began to wonder how strong my teeth would be against this fiberglass!!!!  My prayer life has taken on a new vigor!!

Thank you all for you love and prayers – and the encouragement being sent my way.  God has truly given me a host of lovely friends!

**********************************************************

 

There’s no sense in beginning this exciting new year with the ordinary, is there?  On Tuesday evening, the night before New Year’s Eve, I fell and broke my left hand.  The details are rather sketchy, but I tripped over my dog while going out the back door to get Daddy some icecream from the freezer.

I have no idea what I hit, but I knew it was broken immediately.  I have multiple fractures in the area shaded red in the diagram below:

 

hand bone structure.gif

So, my new year is beginning with a cast at the very least; surgery may be necessary because the break is unstable, but everything was in line as of last Wednesday, so as the swelling goes down, hopefully it will stay that way.  I will find out Wednesday.  There was LOTS of pain for the first few days, but now it is bearable as long as I don’t do something stupid!  Getting dressed is a trick, though!

I don’t know how I will be able to post – typing is very tedious!!!  But I will try to keep up with everyone, and keep you updated on my progress!

May our Lord give us much wisdom as we face this new year and all it will hold.

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy New Year!!

  1. maryhurlbut says:

    Oh dear, I’m so sorry. May the Lord help you rest in Him and rely on Him during this time of healing. HUGS

  2. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – Thank you so much, Mary!

  3. Gallagators says:

    poor thing! may your recovery go well.

  4. suezzzque says:

    Ouch! Do what you have to do to get well and we’ll keep you covered in prayer in the meantime.

  5. ALDOG1 says:

    You already know how sad I am about your hand.  We also agreed that falling is genetic with Allen girls.  You and I seem to have tried to turn it into an art form.  Maybe we can make a resolution that we will both try very hard to look before we step this year.  Since both our most recent falls were doggie related, I suppose we better keep better watch on where our pets are, too. ha  I love you, Sis, and pray for your speedy healing and for lots of help from others in the meantime.  I love you, B

  6. It’s still awful to me that your hand is broken. šŸ˜¦

  7. ALDOG1 says:

    How is the hand?  What were the doctor’s findings today?  Surgery?  I hope not!  But if so, I’m sure it will just be outpatient.  Let me know what’s up.  Did Ruly like her bag o’books?  ha  I hope so.  My grandkids loved them so much.  Its sad that they have outgrown them.  But their bookshelves are still full so that’s a good thing.  I love you.

  8. maryhurlbut says:

    After reading your last few posts I think you would love getting to know my sister Jenny ABAHMShe too is caring for her elderly inlaws, homeschooled her two married boys and is still teaching the youngest in highschool and is going through a difficult season, yet her post are full of blessings and hope

  9. ABAHM says:

    Just reading this page I can see the similarites!  Loved seeing the lovely pic of your husband and yourself below.  I can also see how we can encourage one another.  How is your hand doing.  I pray it heals well.  My husband broke a bone in his hand last winter…just playing in the snow.  Just a few weeks though and it was fine.  Thankful that the Lord made our bodies able to heal.  Blessings, Jenny

  10. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – Thanks, Jenny.  My hand goes through good & bad times – but getting much better daily.  God is indeed to be praised!

  11. ALDOG1 says:

    I know how restricted you feel.  There is no way anyone can truly encourage someone about the time spent wearing a cast.  You know how you feel and it stinks.  But you are such a super positive person I know you will make the best of it.  The trick is for those around you to understand that even though you are a terribly brave soldier, you really need a lot of loving and petting right now.  And most of all, a lot of help.  Please don’t be reluctant to ask for help.  Kindness is always repaid so you are doing them a favor by helping them stack up acts of kindness.  And now is the time for you to reap the rewards from the very tall stack of good deeds you have gathered in the past.  Loving you and praying for you to heal quickly.

  12. KatieWatt says:

    Love you Mrs. Nina! Feel better! šŸ™‚

  13. I’m so glad to hear that surgery will not be required! And may the rest of you recovery go smoothly.

  14. maryhurlbut says:

    Oh my, I’. glad to hear your hand is on the road to recovery and I pray for healing and peace of mind

Leave a Reply

