Wedding Plans…

Most folks that read my blog know that my baby girl, Pamela,  is getting married this May.  We are in the midst of planning a “…cheap, but expensive” wedding (quote from the movie “Sabrina”).  It is one of the bright spots of my very busy life right now, this search for beautiful, yet affordable appointments to make my baby girl’s wedding what she’s always dreamed of.  And I’ll admit to wanting some of the things I’ve dreamed for my daughters weddings, too!  I’m being careful to let it be Pamela’s wedding, not mine – Emily lets me know if I get too pushy; I told her to!!  But I am having so much fun doing all this GIRLY stuff! 

We go to David’s Bridal often.  We’ve all tried on what seems like hundreds of dresses.  Pam made her choices last summer while she was home, so bridesmaids are to order by the end of this month.  Dannye, Melody, and Kakie have ordered theirs.  We aren’t sure if the others have yet, but hopefully it will be done in a timely manner.

I, on the other hand, have not found my dress.  I know the color I want, but not sure of the style.  I also want to wait until I lose more weight before I purchase a dress, which is chancy if I end up needing to order one.  So the search goes on.

We had a meeting yesterday with the caterer.  She is one of my dear friends at church, and she has done MANY events, so I’m excited she offered to do ours.  She wants to do it as a wedding gift to Pamela & Will – what an unbelievable blessing!

The meeting went so well, and she let us express our ideas, gave us some pointers & alternative suggestions, but let us make up our own minds.  Some of her suggestions were great money-saving tips, which Pamela & I were delighted to embrace.  Then my friend told me she did not want to see me in the kitchen at all until after the wedding – she would take care of helpers, shopping & purchasing, designating a clean-up crew, just everything dealing with the food!!!  I was so elated – I felt as though the weight of the world had been lifted from my shoulders!  There is so much more I have to do, but having that done is HUGE!!

Today I am searching for good prices on table cloth rentals.  I will purchase them if I find a good price, but so far renting is about half what purchase price is.  I’m discovering that some websites are just NOT user-friendly!!  Some don’t have prices listed, either.  Don’t tell me to contact you for prices…why do you have a website if you aren’t publishing prices??  If prices in the Linens world fluctuate that much, we’re in trouble!!

Well, I’ve typed more than usual since I got this confounded cast, and I’m tired!  If you haven’t seen my grandbaby’s photos on Dannye’s site, you need to see them!  She is just too cute, and the photography is BEAUTIFUL!!

God bless your day!!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wedding Plans…

  1. ABAHM says:

    It is wonderful when you can enjoy the planning the way that you are!  I was very involved with my boy’s weddings, since they married locally, and the girls were from other towns.  The catering is a huge blessing!  So glad for you.  

  2. ALDOG1 says:

    I am so looking forward to Pam’s wedding.  Not looking forward to the four hour drive each way but it will be worth it.  So happy about the catering.  That is a dear friend!  I decorated and catered Rob and Angie’s rehearsal dinner and their reception but they still paid for the price of the ingredients.  No way I could have afforded it.  But I still saved her over $500 just on the reception on the best catering estimate she had received.  Plus Angie’s mom and aunts got together the day before the wedding and made all the meatballs and delivered them to the reception place.  I was going to get the frozen ones (probably would have ended up cheaper) but they were determined!  You are truly blessed to have such good freinds.  Remember Mikey and Lisa’s small wedding?  I did it all, baby!  And was verging on a total breakdown by wedding time.  ha  I even made the two bridesmaids’ dresses and altered the wedding dress.  Oh, the bride’s mother did pay for the wedding dress.  I’m feeling more bitter as I write. ha  And they are not even married any more. ha  Think of the time and money I could have saved, not to mention the extreme wear on my nerves.  ha

  3. suezzzque says:

    What a wonderful blessing to have a good friend who caters to bless your daughter like that. She’s right. The kitchen is no place for the mother of the bride on her daughter’s wedding day. Good for her! Enjoy all the girlie fun and keep us posted.

  4. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – We are paying for the ingredients, she’s doing all the WORK!!!  As you said, that will save LOTS just for her services.  We had not even priced it yet because she offered the day we announced Pam & Will’s engagement @ church.  The neat thing is, I’ve seen her work, and know how good she is.  I truly don’t have to worry!!B, is this set up of my site hard for you to read?  Let me know!

  5. ALDOG1 says:

    This set up is very easy for me to read.  The white font on black background is great and the font is a good size.  Yes, she is still saving you a ton.  Remember, I did Rob and Angie’s about 20 years ago!!!  Can you believe that?  Incredible.  You will be so happy you have people to clean up after the reception.  You will be so tired!  Enjoy all this.  It will be very special because of all the love that is going into it! 

  6. I like the new labout! Quite nice.I’m glad you are enjoying this process. I hope the fun part of it makes the stressful aspects much more bearable. I did a very small wedding because I just didn’t think I could handle the hassle. However, Jesse and I (even though we’ve only been married a little over 2 years) are planning a 10 year renewal ceremony, at which time we plan to spend more money and invite more people! LOL. And hopefully both be skinnified by then. We can hope. :)Have a nice day!

  7. i am ALL about weddings. pam’s is going to be so lovely, and i think with all of us with experience working on it, and all of the help that’s been offered, it’s going to be a reasonable breeze. :)(and yes, rest assured that i will point out any mom-zillaness. you’re doing good though.) 🙂

  8. maryhurlbut says:

    As the mom of a daughter I just love reading all about your daughter’s wedding plans!My sister has helped her two daughter in laws pull off “cheap but expensive weddings” so I know it can be donewith the help of friends and the grace of God. At least you don’t have to worry about a hiring a photographer As for your dress if you find one you love buy it now…you can always have a tailor take it in.HUGS

  9. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I’m so thankful for the organization you give us as our Wedding Planner!  And I’m glad you feel free to be honest with me!!

  10. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – We’ve forbidden camera activity from Bill & Dannye Reigh – they are to ENJOY the wedding, not work it!  BUT, we do have another friend who is a photographer that is giving us an amazing deal!  God has/will supply all our needs!

  11. ALDOG1 says:

    Personally, I can not imagine Bill and Dannye without their cameras.  I thought that WAS how they enjoyed things.  ha  I know I am going to be snapping away.  Not during the service, in case anyone is concerned. ha  I’m not a fan of that at all.  Recreations are so much better. 

  12. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – We are not fans of recreations at all, although we’ve done that in some of our weddings.  We just don’t want to be distracting,so we stay back, try to get shots without flash (that is often the rule of some churches), and only have do-overs if necessary.  In one of our weddings, the old priest forgot “you may now kiss the bride”, so no kiss during the wedding!!  We definitely did that later!!!

  13. ALDOG1 says:

    Most photographers are unobtrusive but there are some who are not and they are terrible.  I agree it is nice when you can catch the true expressions on the faces and I don’t mind shots of the wedding party coming down the aisle and leaving after the ceremony.  I loved the shots of Phillip as he watched Jenn coming down the aisle.  I just greatly dislike those photographers who forget they are not the people we are there to watch. The Camera Hitlers. ha   I even got aggrivated at that woman at Jenn’s reception who ran around all night with that pole.  It seemed everywhere I turned, I had to work around her to get anywhere.  And maybe it was just me, but don’t you think she could have worn something besides old jeans while helping photograph a beautiful elegant wedding and reception?  That really surprised me.  By the way, the photographers with Petty Family Photography conduct themselves in a very professional manner!  ha  Love you.

  14. pettybunch says:

    I do get aggravated with photographers who don’t dress for the occasion, and who are extremely distracting.  Bill & I had to laugh when we read your comment, because Bill is the one running around with the light pole at our last couple of weddings!

  15. ALDOG1 says:

    I’m willing to bet Bill was not in the least obtrusive.  He is too thoughtful and polite!  He had a pole at Jenn’s reception also and he was very polite and never was in my way once.  However that  woman was a hazard.  Maybe I partfy felt that way because I was so very upset with the way she was dressed. ha

  16. Anonymous says:

    Yes, he does have a slight red hair. It all depends on the lighting. Some days it looks brown, others blond then some days it looks very red. 

Leave a Reply

