Sunday with Arie-Jean


Since my very romantic son took his lovely wife off for Valentine’s Day, Bill and I got to keep Arulai over night Saturday.  First, we went to the Herzogs’ for a little while, then on to Mom and Dad’s.  After she said “Hi!” to both of them, we went off to bed, since we had to be up early for Sunday School in the morning.  I also had to finish the hand work on the dress I had made for her to wear on Valentine Sunday!

I finished the dress at around midnight, which is unbelievable for me, since I am stuck with the reputation of finishing clothing in the wee hours of the morning for an event the next day!  I was pretty excited about getting to sleep that early on a Saturday night – but my joy was short-lived.  A.J. woke up at around 3 a.m. saying, “Book!  Papa, book!”  We tried to ignore her, but she insisted upon being read to.  So her Papa, who is the BEST Papa in the world, got up and read her a book, told her to go Night, Night, and came back to bed.  I’m not sure she slept at all the rest of the night – I know we didn’t!!  She just chatted, called, cried a little, and chatted some more for the rest of the morning!

Well, we got up to get ready for church around 6:30, had to go by our house (half of Bill’s clothing is at our home, the other half at my folks’ home) then drove our hour to church.  Bill slept most of the way – it’s a shame he had to drive, or he’d have gotten a better nap!

I took Arulai into Sunday School with me, since she seemed pretty clingy.  Pamela had to take her out because she wasn’t ready to stop singing when the teacher was.  Pam took her to the nursery for Sunday School, but ended up staying with her because there were 22 babies 3 years old and under in there!!  Some of these children left the nursery after Sunday School, so Pamela thought it was okay to leave Arulai while we went to church.  She loves the nursery, and doesn’t yet know how to stay quiet the entire church time in the sanctuary.  I felt kinda bad, though, when we picked her up from nursery and she had a couple of mild scratches on her face.  The Nursery Director didn’t even know it happen since she never cried out, and it’s not a deep scratch at all.  If she hadn’t just had her nails clipped, I might have thought she did it herself.  Anyway, she’s fine, and she looked adorable.  I just wish I was good enough on the computer to fix these photos before you see them!  Dannye Reigh does all our post processing, and she was not home when I transferred them from Bill’s camera to our computer.

Anyway, if Arulai looks a little solemn in these photos, it is because she was SOOOO tired.  We couldn’t even get her to pose like she usually does – she wanted to stay right by the van!  She was really good, especially considering her lack of sleep, and we had a wonderful day with her.  I thank God for putting that baby in my life – she is a blessing in every way!

Petty Camera 041c.jpg
My little Valentine!

Petty Camera 046a.jpg
My Mama would say she looks like Solomon Grundy, which seems to mean she’s rather solemn!

Petty Camera 052c.jpg
We’re all trying to get her to show off her pretty dress, but she was in a daze.

Valentine Arulai
But isn’t she too cute?!

Petty Camera 060c.jpg
Now we’re telling her to show Mama her pretty dress (Mama being in the camera, I guess…)

Petty Camera 059c.jpg  
So she picks it up to show her!

I had the greatest time sewing this little dress for her.  I used to sew for my own girls all the time.  I occasionally still do, but until I moved over to Mama’s I had to keep my sewing machine picked up because Dannye keeps babies in our home.  At Mama’s, I can leave it out to come back to a project later, which I have to do much more often now than when the kids were small.  People used to ask me how I got so much sewing done with three kids around.  But my kids were really not high maintenance at all.  They love to play together, took really good naps, and were pretty doggone obedient!  I also sewed alot at night, since I was such a night owl.

Well, I have therapy today, which I kinda dread.  I forgot my splint this morning, and while I don’t think they will fuss, I’m not looking forward to finding out!  My hand is still fairly swollen, but I am getting more range of motion all the time.  If the weather improves, I think I’ll be able to work on my patio one day this week!

Have a blessed day, y’all!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday with Arie-Jean

  1. She is so adorable!! I’m sorry she was such a grumpy-pants. Thanks again for keeping her—we really needed that day away, especially with this week we’re having! (I saw Nate Monday morning, briefly on my way to bed Monday night, and then twice in the barely-awake five-a.m. hours. He left this morning and is staying at a hotel tonight, so I’ll see him around midnight tomorrow, and then he’ll get up for work on Friday morning and I’ll leave for Dallas before he gets home—so we won’t actually have a face-to-face conversation again until Sunday night!!!! THIS IS NOT MY FAVORITE!!)Anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for keeping Ruly!

  2. Oh want a CUTE dress! I wish I could sew!And as always, her curls are completely priceless. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. suezzzque says:

    Such a cute little Valentine… even if she was feelinng solemn.

  4. ligsar says:

    Love the dress- nice work!I miss that little girl.  You are so blessed to have her near you!

  5. Precious! Completely precious! : )

  6. ABAHM says:

    She looks absolutely adorable, even though sleepy.  The dress is so cute!  Great job…it is wonderful to have such a little person to wear your work.

  7. ALDOG1 says:

    Beautiful little dress.  My favorite style.  You are such a talented seamstress.  You and Motts got it going on.  Roo’s curls are so precious with the red in that dress.  How I love her hair.  And you’re right, the BEST Papa in the world  There is no way on God’s green earth that Scooter would have ever read a book to anyone at 3 a.m.  ha  Of course, my kids all say that if any of the girls ask him anything he will do it so maybe they never made the right request.  ha

  8. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – This was my first real sewing project in such a long time, and I was very pleased with the way it turned out!  And I don’t think I should even be in the same sentence with Motts concerning sewing talents!  She is amazing!!@sunshinejoy717 – She wasn’t too grumpy – just pretty quiet.  And you know what a joy she is to us!!@PrincessOfSeptember – I learned to sew from my best friend.  I would bring my sewing machine to her house, we’d let our kids play – 6 between us – and she and I would sew to our hearts content.  For a long time, she spent more time answering my questions than sewing herself, but we got many projects completed that way!  She was a perfectionist, which was so good for me!

  9. momstranz says:

    Awwweee.  How beautiful is THAT???  She looks absolutely precious!  Thank you, Nina.  What a precious labor of love!  Thanks for posting the pictures.  I love the part in the story where bill could have gotten a better nap if he weren’t driving.     Hee hee.  It was so good to see you a few weeks ago.  Blessings on your day to day and on your graduation/wedding preparations.  Much love from here….we still have snow. 

  10. pettybunch says:

    @momstranz – It was so good to have you here – I kept wishing for a longer time to talk, but reminding myself that Emily and family were the focus of your visit, she had such a blessed time with y’all!!!  God was good to let me have the day with you on Saturday.I think her new dress calls for some new red/white beaded socks!

Leave a Reply

