A busy weekend!


This was one of what I’m sure will by many busy weekends between now and Pamela’s and Will’s wedding.  When I look at the calendar from now to May, I can scarcely breathe!!  I will be busy, but what fun each event will be!

Friday after work, I went to my house (for clarity sake we usually call it Dannye’s house since she’s the only permanent resident there right now!) and visited with my girls while waiting for Arulai to wake up from her nap.  Pamela had to go to work, and Dan was ready for a quiet evening by herself after a pretty hectic week, so as soon as I could get everything together, Arulai and I went to Dad and Mom’s.  She enjoys my parents, and they enjoy her, so it’s always a special treat when she comes over.  Emily was out of town for the weekend, and Nathanael had to work late Friday night, so I got A.J.  She had a pretty nasty cough over the weekend, but never ran fever with it, and is much better now. 

Saturday, Nathanael, Pamela, and my brother Dave joined Bill, Dad, Mom, and I for breakfast.  It was a big production, but so much fun!  My biscuits were terrible (I’ve never had much success at making biscuits,) but Dave made me feel better by telling me that the Bisquick was old, which I didn’t know until after I’d made them.  But the bacon, eggs, and gravy were delicious!  After we were finished cleaning up, Pamela and I picked Dannye up for an afternoon out.  Dan spent part of the day doing some “shooting” with her photographer friend, Sara, while Pamela and I did wedding errands.  We wanted to check out some rental places – she wants a chocolate fountain  – and we need tablecloths, etc.  But we didn’t come prepared with locations of these places, so we headed off to David’s Bridal to pick up her veil.  We are so excited to have her veil so we can get started with her Bridal portraits.  She will probably have more Bridal portraits than anyone in this world can ever look at, but that’s okay – we’ll have fun doing it, and she will get to wear her dress more than once!

Dannye by Sara.jpg
This is a photo of Dan I stole from Sara that she took during their afternoon out.  Isn’t she just beautiful?

Sara.jpg
This is a photo of Sara Dan took at a recent party at Sara’s house.

Pamela.jpg   
And this is my Tater, whose smile increases the closer we get to Wedding D
ay!

While at David’s Bridal, she asked me if I wanted to try on MOB dresses again.  I had tried many at other times, and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to see my fat self in the mirror that day, but we looked around while we were waiting to be helped.  I found a couple I wanted to try, and one of them was on special that week.  Pamela and I both loved it!  I tried a couple of others, but we just loved the special one most of any I’ve tried so far.  And it was really long, too, which is amazing on my nearly 6 foot frame!  I didn’t get to have the color I had really wanted – the sizes I could deal with were out in silver, my color of choice – so I was able to take home the store model I tried on.  I’m not going to tell the color yet – I probably will before the wedding because I get so excited I can’t stand it, but I’m going to try to let it be a surprise.  We were also able to pick up Missy’s dress, which had come in that day.  We felt like we had really been productive!!

After David’s Bridal, we went to JoAnn’s Fabrics to get fabric to make a jacket for my dress, and check prices for other fabric needs we will have for decorations and the Bridesmaids jackets.  Well, of course, we found a sale on Special Occasion Fabrics, and began to peruse and plan what we might need.  Pam said, “I need my sister!”  So I called Dan to see if they were ready to quit shooting, and went to pick her up while Pamela talked to Will on the phone and guarded the fabrics we’d already picked out!  Dan then helped Pamela plan and pick; I had  a teleconference with my hubby about the budget.   After receiving Bill’s blessing, we purchased all the fabric for the jackets, and ordered the fabric we will need for decorating the sanctuary and reception area.  Everything we got was on sale, so we felt very virtuous as we left the store!  We decided we wanted to celebrate our day, so we called Bill back and asked if he wanted to go to dinner with us.  He met us at the Scrapbook store (Dan needed supplies for the Lingerie Shower and Bachelorette Party she is planning for Pamela), and we went to Chili’s.  Bill’s love for his children is never more apparent than when he agrees to go to Chili’s with them!  He tells them Chili’s is just a “Joint”, and he really doesn’t like going there at all; but all three of his kids love that place, so he puts up with it – on occasion!

I guess I kept my girls out too late Saturday night, because neither of them could get it together for church Sunday morning.  I ended up going by myself, as Bill had to work on several things at home that had to be done before he left for work Monday morning.  The girls met me at our dear friend’s baby shower after church, then Pamela went to work and Dan and I went to another friend’s birthday party.  I finally ran out of gas, left Dannye there, and started home, only to realize I had to stop at Walmart for some things Dad and Mom needed.  I was in a tired fog, so Walmart took longer than necessary, but I finally made it home around 8:30.  After putting away the groceries, fixing a light supper for Dad and Mom, and getting ready for the new week, I finally made it to bed around 10, which is also when Bill made it home, which is always nice!  Like Bill often says, I needed to go back to work to rest!

This is probably way too long for some of my readers to enjoy, but at least my big Sister can get a bit of an update!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A busy weekend!

  1. I *love* the picture of Dannye by Sara. It’s so pretty and classy!And it sounds like you had a good (busy!) weekend! I hope it was fun for you!

  2. ABAHM says:

    Very busy weekend…but full of good things!  Love the pictures of the girls…esp. of Dannye…so beautiful!  I can relate to the old mixes.  We are running into a bit of that when up at my inlaws house.  My husband found worms in one box and it had to go! Some of the crackers and things are stale too.  We never have that problem, cuz my guys eat everything up!

  3. suezzzque says:

    Never apologize for a long newsy post. I loved reading every word of it! Sounds like you made some good progress on wedding prep. I can only imagine how exciting that must be as my only daughter is not engaged (yet!). Gotta love how daddies will do things they’d rather not for their kids. Hugs, Susan

  4. ALDOG1 says:

    I have weitten and lost this comment twice!  You know your big sister well.  I loved every minute and would have loved more.  I even read most of it to Marty.  When I read the part about “my big sister”, he said, “Hey, she gave you a shout out!”  ha  I can not believe you do that much every day.  I was never able to just keep going like that!  I remember some unending Little League weeks, but I was so much younger then!  You need to slow down, girl!  Just a little bit!  You are going to implode one of these days!  I finally got home from LA about 8p.m tonight and when I dropped Diana off at her house a few minutes prior to then I told Diana I felt like an old mare;  I could smell the barn!  If I would have been able, I would have loped from there. ha haOh, and tell Bill he’s wrong.  TGIFridays is a joint. ha  Oh, also, I did not win any money at LauBerge but feel like I ate $300 worth of food and drink. ha  At least I tried.  Seriously, great fun spending two days and night in beautiful hotel with two of my long time best friends.  Much laughing went on.Love you, Sweetie Pie

  5. Gallagators says:

    I enjoyed reading your update! Thanks for posting it šŸ™‚ Wedding planning is such fun! I almost wish I could do mine again (marrying the same guy of course!)

  6. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – Definitely a fun weekend!@ABAHM – I have had that problem even at my house because I always plan big, but the execution is what I have a hard time with!  So if I buy for a big baking project, sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn’t!!@suezzzque – Thank you for your encouragement!  And when she does get engaged, you will have sooo much fun!  Just save your airline miles/points if she continues to live away!@ALDOG1 – Bill thinks the same about TGIFridays (and Bennigans, when it was still around!). I’m glad you had a good time.  I forgot you were gone, and wondered why there was not much activity from you!@Gallagators – I have to work really hard at not making this my “do-over”.  Pamela is very understanding, but bold in her opinions, so we’ve done pretty good keeping it her wedding!

  7. THAT PICTURE OF DANNYE IS GORGEOUS!!!

  8. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Isn’t it, though!!!  I’ve already asked Sara how to get a print!

  9. maryhurlbut says:

    What a GREAT time, and don’t worry about length, these are your memories you are saving

Leave a Reply

