Danny Ray Allen

 

Today is a special day from my past.  Today is my older brother’s birthday.  Danny Ray Allen was born February 24, 1958.  Danny went to be with Jesus a little over 35 years ago, June 19, 1973.  He was 15.  It was a terrible tragedy, but that’s not what I wanted to write about.  I just want to give my “Happy Birthday” to my brother who is now so completely enthralled with his Saviour that he doesn’t care about birthdays any more.  But I love remembering him, I love telling him Happy Birthday just for my own benefit!

Danny was an amazing person.  He was beautiful – at 15 he was already nearly 6 feet tall, broad of shoulder, lean of hip.  Extremely atheletic!  He played baseball, and was great at it.  He wasn’t very fast, so he said he hit homeruns so he wouldn’t have to beat out his hits!! 

When Danny was in elementary school – 5th grade, I think – he broke one of his front teeth and had to have a silver cap put on it.  He was so looking forward to having it replaced with a white one, but everyone knew & loved his smile.  Danny was known and loved by most everyone.  He was very popular at school, always had girls surrounding him, and guys just wanted to hang out with him. 

As a big brother, I’m sure Danny was very typical.  He was THE BOSS!  What he said was what we did, unless we wanted to pay the consequences.  Jeanne was his favorite, and she would have served him forever without question.  I, on the other hand, was stubborn and didn’t want to always do what Danny said!  Oh, we fought like cats and dogs sometimes, but we had great fun together, too. 

Danny had faults like we all do, but I admired him greatly for the good things in his life.  Danny became a follower of Christ at a young age, and that influenced my own decision to follow Christ.  Danny was also very involved in church youth activities, which was amazing to me since I was so shy I couldn’t imagine being that comfortable with all those people!  Danny had a beautiful voice, and sang in church and school choirs.  He also participated in drama, Vocational Agriculture, and as I said before, sports. 

In many ways, Nathanael reminds me of Danny – the popularity, the athleticism, the love of people-oriented activities.  In my mind, Michael actually looks more like Danny would have as an adult, Nathanael being much taller and lankier.  Michael is also more the Command Man like Danny was.

My Dannye Reigh is named after my big brother; not really because I wanted to pattern her after him or his ways, but because I wanted him to have a namesake.  In personality, she is very different from Danny – she is shy, not really a people oriented person, but a task oriented person.  But she is like him in that she knows what she wants done, and how to make it happen!

I’ll not go on any more.  I just wanted to say “Happy Birthday, Danny Ray Allen!”  I wish there had been more of them, but I just bet you’re happy right where you are!

 

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Danny Ray Allen

  1. Abbiegirl says:

              Mrs. Petty,                 That was such a very sweet note, I never knew you had an older brother who died, im so sorry, i could never emagine what that is like, nor do i want too… I’m so glad you have children whom you see a little of him in, to pass on his memory…                                Praying for you Today.                    Love you!                     Abigail

  2. ABAHM says:

    A lovely way to remember your brother.  blessings!

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    Thank you, dear sister, for sharing our beloved Danny with others.  He was my BABY BROTHER and the total light of our lives when he was born.  I was seventeen years old when he was born and Martha, 14.  It was as though we had been given a present, our own personal baby doll.  He was surrounded by adults from birth so grew so quickly in mind and personality.  We truly believed at the time that he was the smartest baby ever born!  He was always beautiful and such a clown, even as a toddler, with his little ball cap worn sideways on his head.  He was way before his time fashion-wise. ha ha  When I had my sons, they had Uncle Dan, only 2 years older than Mark, to lead them into fun and trouble. ha  I miss him so today.  His big smile, his bigger heart.  Happy Birthday, Dan!

  4. That is such a precious tribute! I am sorry that you lost your brother at such a young age. I’m sure that’s going to be a wonderful reunion one of these days!

  5. That was a lovely tribute to your brother who is celebrating his birthday with his Lord and Savior!

  6. suezzzque says:

    Reading your tribute to your brother gives me great hope that one day soon I’ll be able to think about Moma and Daddy with joy instead of sadness. I know it is just selfishness on my part, but I do still miss them so!

  7. maryhurlbut says:

    Sounds like a wonderful brother…I’m so glad you will see him again someday

Leave a Reply

